We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting ”

Silver Coast Winery Tasting Room
Ranked #9 of 43 things to do in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of downtown Southport, NC come taste international award-winning wines made by Silver Coast Winery. In addition to our wines, we feature 6 craft beers on tap. The taps change frequently, so come often. After a day of antiquing come enjoy a wine or beer tasting or a glass of wine or pint while you browse our gift shop. The wine labels and art gallery feature works by local artists. Special events include wine and chocolate and wine and cheese pairings. The art gallery is a great setting for a bridal shower, private wine tasting and other events. Hours are Monday through Saturday from 11am to 8pm and Sunday from noon to 5pm. Wine tastings daily. Host a birthday party, bridal shower, anniversary party or other private event in our art gallery and tasting room.
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Been to a lot of wine tastings but these folks are very customer service oriented. They listed. To customer likes and try to taylor tasting to customer taste. No pressure to buy bottles of wine. Very customer service oriented. Will definitely go back!

1  Thank anghedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"local wine"
in 5 reviews
"wine club"
in 3 reviews
"excellent wine"
in 3 reviews
"shaped bar"
in 2 reviews
"wine store"
in 2 reviews
"ocean isle beach"
in 4 reviews
"for sale"
in 4 reviews
"on tap"
in 2 reviews
"enjoy the experience"
in 2 reviews
"visiting southport"
in 5 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"can't wait to go back"
in 3 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"local art"
in 2 reviews
in 11 reviews
in 5 reviews
in 2 reviews

63 - 67 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a great time at the New Years Day wine and food pairing. Great food, great wine, great friends.

1  Thank sv6444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler0418, Director of Sales at Silver Coast Winery Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Hi Sv6444,

I am so glad you had a good time at our New Years Day pairing! We had a great time too! We are doing a Wine and Chocolate Pairing in February - we would love to see you there!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I've visited Silver Coast Winery twice now, late March 2013 and early November 2013. Both times I did the wine tasting and both times it was an enjoyable experience. They make it not only fun, but educational. Walked away with a case of wine both times. They also have beer tasting with a long list of beers from many craft brewers. Plan on spending some time here and enjoy the experience along with the art. During the wine tasting you'll quickly become friends with others enjoying the experience. Picked up a great beach scene painting on my first visit. Maybe on my next visit I'll go to the winery on Ocean Isle Beach. Take some time and stroll through downtown Southport as there are many unique shops worth visiting.

Thank pipingchauffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stopped at the Silver Coast Winery in Southport to buy a cork screw. They sell the best cork screws and I have bought them as gifts for friends in the past as well as having one on by boat, in my Long Island Home and now I wanted one for my Oak Island Home.

My uncle and I were invited for a tasting. The bar appeared to be full but we were ushered to the other side where we found 3 additional seats waiting. I inquired as to how their tastings work. $10 per person and you get to sample every wine they make as well as take your wine glass home. That seemed like quite the bargain as well as a fun way to spend a part of my day. Beau was our Sommelier and teacher for the afternoon. I always considered myself a bit of a wine expert but it turns out I am not. Beau taught us to look at the wine, smell the wine, taste the wine and thoroughly enjoy the wine. We spent a couple of hours and were offered a lovely cheese plate to compliment our wine tasting. I believe that we tasted a total of 9 wines that afternoon. I look forward to returning with friends for another tasting. Next time I will spend $15 per person and take part in the pairing of the wines with various foods. A most enjoyable afternoon. Don't forget to pick up one of their signature cork screws while you are there!

Thank Sandrawon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had a wonderful time with friends at the Octoberfest celebration this past Saturday. David and his knowledgeable team were great hosts for the event. SCW has a great selection of wines and unique beers...will be back the next time we travel to Southport, NC.

Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Coast Winery Tasting Room also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast

Been to Silver Coast Winery Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing