We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Melt in your mouth BBQ and Brisket!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southport Smokehouse

Southport Smokehouse
Ranked #5 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hickory-smoked pork, beef, ribs, sausage and chicken in a family-friendly atmosphere.
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth BBQ and Brisket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

As Andy Griffith would have said "Mmmm ummm mmmm good". We chose a smoked, pulled pork sandwich and a sliced brisket sandwich on buns. They were both melt in your mouth tender with a delicious flavor. Sides were baked beans and potato salad. I swear my momma might have made that potato salad, it was that good. We both used the Texas sweet sauce and it was just right, sweet with a little tang, but you have your choice of 5 different sauces. The buns aren't too bulky and the meat portions were generous. Even the iced tea good, home brewed. There are ribs and sausage on the menu so next week we will be back to try those and the banana pudding.

I added scenic view on the tabs because the whole town of Southport is so darned cute!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deelveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    46
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
256 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Little BBQ Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stopped in here for lunch on a trip back from the Bald Head Island Ferry. What a nice find!!! The menu is very simple and on the blackboard at the counter. We ordered Pulled Pork sandwiches with slaw on it for $4 each and a side of baked beans. The food was excellent. Don't worry about service - you order at the counter and take your food to a table. We chose to eat outdoors in the screened porch. The pork had the nice wood fired grill taste and we put a little of the Eastern Carolina vinegar based sauce on it. Perfect!!!! We enjoyed the meal so much we ended up getting a tub of the pulled pork to take home with us for dinner that evening. We'll be back - this is authentic Eastern NC BBQ and well worth a stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank qwerty103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hog Heaven Comes to Southport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Keeping up with the demand may be the biggest challenge that newly opened Southport Smokehouse will face as we enter the tourist season here in Southport, NC. Specializing in authentic barbecue prepared in special wood-burning ovens, Southport Smokehouse is filling an important niche in this coastal town well known for its many great eating places. The menu is simple; choose between pulled pork, beef brisket, sausage or ribs add a side or two and sit back and enjoy. We chose the pulled pork today. It was far and away the tastiest and most tender that we have had for quite a while. There is no enforced orthodoxy here. You are free to choose from four or five BBQ sauces according to your personal preference. I don't know about the others, but the Lexington had the piquant flavor that we like best.

All meat products are smoked on the premises and you might want to come in early in the lunch or dinner hour to be sure that they have not sold out. The are working hard to keep up with the opening week crowd. As the owner posted on Facebook at 3 this morning: "While you are sleeping, we are smoking."

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Real BBQ Back in Southport!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Went to the newly opened Southport Smokehouse on their fourth day. We haven't had a smokehouse here since the Village BBQ closed in the same location nearly 15 years ago. Those wonderful smokers have been sitting idle all that time while business after business has come and gone on this spot. So nice to have a dedicated BBQ restaurant again! The service was excellent. Great system : people behind the counter to take your order, assemble it and check you out - all within just a couple of minutes. I had the
chopped beef brisket on a bun,baked beans, red slaw (vinegar-no mayo) and banana pudding for dessert. Everything is site prepared and just delicious. I would have liked a bit more brisket on the bun, but the flavor and sauce were very good. As these folks get comfortable, a few additions to the very limited menu such as corn on the cob, collard greens and corn bread would make this place perfect. Not inexpensive (I paid $13.00 plus tax for lunch) but the quality of the food was superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CatalanYankeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southport Smokehouse also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Southport Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing