We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must try experience”

Southport Smokehouse
Ranked #6 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hickory-smoked pork, beef, ribs, sausage and chicken in a family-friendly atmosphere.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must try experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A great dine in or take out barbeque place. Walk up ordering with no frills, but fast friendly service. Simple but plentiful menu. Wife had the pulled pork sandwich with red slaw and potato salad, which she enjoyed very much. I had a pound of pulled pork with red slaw and mac & chesse. Meat had great flavor and was moist. Probably the best mac & cheese I have ever eaten. Got banana pudding to go and am looking forward to eating it a little later tonight. Highly recommend this place as a must try when in the Southport area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishingFool62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    52
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ben Franklin, Texas
1 review
“The best brisket & banana pudding ever!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

50+ years young, huge bbq fan and this is the best brisket ever. So moist and tasty. Everything perfect and the friendliest folks running it. You MUST go here when in Southport.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcjxjdjewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great BBQ! Great price!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My family stopped here while visiting Southport. We loved it!!! You just line up and order. Sandwiches were cheap and yummy! Pulled pork $4, brisket $5, sides $2! Great if you are in a rush. We sat on the nice screened in patio and admired the beautiful shops behind us. They had 3 different kinds of BBQ sauces, which is awesome because I like spicy and that's harder to find. We will be back on our next visit to Southport!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodiemason22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pulled port”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

They had great pulled pork. When we went, the ribs were a little dry and that was disappointing. I might order them again it could have been a bad night because we heard on Trip Advisor that they were good. I love that they have such a great variety of sauces. Will definitely be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Awesome bbq”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

No frills just great southern BBQ .great value.Brisket the best I've ever had.banana pudding the perfect way to end the meal.

Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southport Smokehouse also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Southport Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing