We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterfront views !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at riverfront motel that is also owned by the Inn .It is across the street and
even though the B&B is nice you cannot beat the view from the waterfront rooms at the motel ! The rooms are nicely decorated ,clean and the porch swing out back with a front view of the water is wonderful! Once we parked our car we did not have to move it until time to leave.There is shopping ,restaurants and beautiful historic homes within walking distance.
We are planning our next visit soon and recommend this to anyone who likes vintage
mom and pop motels .

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront rooms
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtwnkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

My family took 2 rooms at Riverside Inn Motel and we stayed for 3 days. The rooms were very basic, but decorated very nicely. The hosts were very friendly and the cleaning help knew exactly what we needed every day. The motel is right on the water at Cape Fear just across from Oak Island and its lighthouse. We had a street-side room, so we didn’t have our own patio and swing, but there was a central patio and 2 swings for anyone who wanted to use them. To the left of the motel is the Cape Fear restaurant, a little park (no playground stuff), and a long pier for fishing. The restaurant is wonderfully rustic, but a bit pricey. To the right of the motel is a historic pilot tower and a little public beach. The beach has soft sand, but a few feet into the water there are millions of shells you'll be stepping on, mostly oyster. My 4 and 7 year-olds loved the little beach. They didn't seem to mind the shells much under their feet and loved collecting them. There was a walkway in front of the motel and all along the road there were historic plaques explaining the Civil War related history of the area, including a couple giant rusty anchors. Keep walking along the cape and you’ll come across fresh seafood places and another restaurant called Fishy Fishy, which I highly recommend. The town is lost in history as there are lots of little shops and no touristy places. Walmart and Kerr Drug is only a few miles away if you need stuff. My only grudge with the motel was no Wi-Fi. I couldn’t get any 3G network in the area either, so any internet was a snail’s pace.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauritzen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife & I thorougly enjoyed the port city of Southport, and staying on the Cape Fear riverfront, which is where Lois Jane's 'Riverview Motel' is located. This accomodation did not include breakfast like the main house across the street offers, so I cannot really evaluate the actual 'bed & breakfast'. I would rate the motel as average.....nothing bad, nothing really to jump up and down about. Upon check-in, there was no real warm & fuzzy greeting like you would initially expect, nor was there any orientation to room location, nearby points of interest or where the ice machine was. Southport is a wonderful port town, and highly recommend a visit to this charming, historic town. The ferry ride to nearby Ft. Fisher and other beaches is quite a value....in our case $10 round trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyTravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

There is so much history in the main house. I could have sat there all day reading the old books available in the main room! We met some really neat folks from different places (Alaska, of all things!). The staff is very accomodating, we were asked what we would like for breakfast & the entire morning feast was freshly cooked. It was so good & it was such a nice treat!

Room Tip: We stayed in Skip's Suite. The bed was very comfy! Nice balcony area.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkieLover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My husband and I had never stayed at a B & B before ... not my husband's "thing". We needed a place in town for business during the July 4th Festival and ended up staying a few extra days just for fun! The views, staff, food and hospitality were excellent and we felt like a part of the family. Even my husband can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try Skip's Suite behind the main house, very private but still a B & B experience.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abostian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I decided to visit Southport because we had heard it was a lovely historic town. We like small "mom and pop" motels and found the Riverview Motel on line. We liked the idea of swings on the porch outside the rooms looking out at the Cape Fear River. We found the motel rooms clean but rather small. We felt they were pricey for the motel it was. There was no continental breakfast. The loud air conditioner going off and on made sleeping difficult. It was convenient for walking the town and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank minicoopercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Lois Jane's B&B to celebrate our anniversary. It was the first B&B we have ever stayed at and we were very impressed. The breakfast is served family style - wonderful! They are able to accomodate food allergies. Very charming and peaceful. Thank you to everyone there for a great visit...we will be back!

Room Tip: Miss Mary's room is the largest.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
541 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lois Jane's Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lois Jane's Riverview Inn

Address: 106 W Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: £55 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn, in the heart of Southport, NC, has the comfort, convenience and historic charm of a beautifully restored 19th century home. With views of the Cape Fear River, cozy rooms filled with period furniture and the wafting scents of a hearty, full southern breakfast, guests will feel as if they have come home. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing