We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, inviting Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, inviting Inn”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

While travelling alone as a female, I was looking for a safe, inviting environment. I got so much more. The inn is beautifully decorated and well-kept, the staff was very helpful and friendly, Miss Mary's room was exquisite and the full breakfast was well prepared. I look forward to spending more time here!

Room Tip: Miss Mary's Room was spacious and has access to an upstairs balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AESS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    31
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
109
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mills river nc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Needed a place to stay before taking the ferry to Bald Head Island. But next time, I think I will stay in Southport at the Riverview and skip Bald Head!
Needed much more time to visit in Southport...and the Riverview is right on the river and within walking distance of lots of things. Park right next door...several great seafood restaurants just down the street within walking distance. Great clean room with coffee pot, fridge...park right in front. Easy check in. Reminds me of travels of my childhood and the motor inns we stayed in. We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merrilljMillsRiverNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I needed some time to myself and decided to go back to the Riverside Motel. I had been here in May with my Mom and had to leave early because she wasn't feeling well. I fell in love with Room 3. Right on the water and you can watch the boats go by, I have a shot of a sail boat as my computer screen now. One night my battery was dead in my car and Erin and her hubby helped me right out. I really loved the lazy time reading and watching the water and also the many things to do right there at the motel. I went for long walks through those gorgeous streets, went for a ghost walk, spent the morning on Bald Head walking and hitching rides with generous people driving golf carts, and walking along Oak Island Beach nearby. Plenty of great places to eat too, the resturant right next to the motel is always good with comfort seafood. I came home much happier and relaxed. Thanks guys, I'll be back! =:o]

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A second time staying at the Riverside Motel (across the street from the Inn). For a vintage motel, it is kept nicely; very clean and spacious. Bathrooms are on the small side and I had to ask for a hairdryer, but all in all, can't complain. The one thing that would have made the night a bit better would be a quieter AC, but no hotel/motel have quiet AC's! The Hospitality is just what you would expect in the South; friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb1776VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I had never stayed in the town of Southport before and found Lois Jane's by information on the internet. I booked a room at the motel on APRIL 3 for a date in Aug. My daughter and I were planning on attending a wedding at the Community Center and everything would be in walking distance from the motel. Arrived on 8/24 after driving 5 hrs and was told we could not stay there..problem with a broken pipe in our room. All of my contact #'s were available and NO ONE tried to call me to tell me this. We were NEVER apologized to, but were offered a room at the inn for a $40 additional charge Explained to the lady that I had not planned on that additional amount of money per night, so she offered to lower the price a bit but stated , "you can't have the breakfast though". I feel that she should have at least tried to help us out being that we were NOT contacted before time. Again, we had driven 5 hours just to get there. We were referred to a motel about a mile away. She never mentioned another family owned motel only 5 blocks away which we found by accident, and which turned out to be quite a blessing to stay there. I must stress again how much an apology can mean to someone when faced with a situation such as this. I would never again attempt to try to stay at Lois Jane's, nor would I refer this location to any of my friends or family. I believe in "Southern Hospitality" and failed to find it here.

Room Tip: Check on reservations at The Inn at River Oaks. Located at 512 N Howe St in Southport. The rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Faithlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was a family vacation, and one of our favorites! The Riverview is so roomy, and clean. We enjoyed the room, but the back yard was breathtaking! There is a swing & chairs on your oun deck, plus the view is spectacular! The Oak Island Lighthouse is visable across the sound, and there are boats of all discriptions sailing across for your viewing pleasure! The staff were very polite, and most helpful. Nice folk! Stay here, you'll love it!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, water front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamMatRiverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at the Riverside motel, across the street from the B&B. The rooms are clean & a good size... directly on the water with front porch swings and awesome views! It was so relaxing to just sit on the swing and watch the boats. Is also within walking distance to many shops & restaurants. I highly recommend the Silver Coast winery store, Provisions restaurant & Fishy Fishy restaurant. Great people! Easy 10 minute drive to beaches on Oak Island.

Room Tip: We had a corner room - 2 beds - it's roomier than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie27870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
525 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lois Jane's Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lois Jane's Riverview Inn

Property: Lois Jane's Riverview Inn
Address: 106 W Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lois Jane's Riverview Inn, in the heart of Southport, NC, has the comfort, convenience and historic charm of a beautifully restored 19th century home. With views of the Cape Fear River, cozy rooms filled with period furniture and the wafting scents of a hearty, full southern breakfast, guests will feel as if they have come home. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing