We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alleghany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alleghany Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Clean and functional”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Alleghany over the 4th of July weekend this year. It is an old school U shaped two story brick motel. The room was basic but clean, everything worked, there was a small, quiet refrigerator in the room and the bed was comfortable. The rate was decent. What more can you ask for?

There is no elevator so if you stay upstairs you have to carry your bags. Outside of every room are two white plastic bucket chairs, and we enjoyed sitting on the deck in the evening. We were there on the 5th of July and a couple of other guests told us the view of Sparta's fireworks from the deck was the best in town.

There is a small restaurant in front of the hotel. By advised they do not accept credit cards! Fortunately breakfast for the two of us came to a whopping <jest> $12 and we had enough cash to avoid washing dishes.

I didn't expect a lot from an older style motel, and my expectations were easily exceeded. We would easily stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPlanIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
30
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a very simple hotel in a tiny little adorable town. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, clean, affordable place to stay, you can't go wrong. The manager is on-site and all of the staff treats you like family. There are several really good restaurants nearby. We always stay here when we go to Sparta and we are never disappointed.

Room Tip: There is no pool but you get a pass to use the community pool. We have not used it. No fitness cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Blue Ridge Parkway. There was a very friendly greeting on our arrival and the outside of the motel looked well-maintained. Although the room was a little shabbier than the outside, it was clean and comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwindonMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We discussed our personal needs with the owner. He then showed us several floorplans so we could pick the best option for us. The room is clean, comfortable and we are parked right in front of the room door for easy access. The rate is very reasonable, and there is a restaurant on site for convenience. We would return next time we are in the area. Just minutes off the Blue Ridge Parkway!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevink5630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed one night at this conveniently located and very well maintained hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the guest laundry was excellent.

The room was very clean as were the linens and free WiFi connection worked perfectly. There are places to eat close by and Sparta is very handy for the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Room Tip: Rooms are arranged around a courtyard, none appeared better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palestine, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were traveling down the Blue Ridge Parkway in the summer of 2012 and needed a place to stay in the NC area of the parkway. The Alleghany Inn came up as a potential place to hang our hat based on some other TripAdvisor reviews and web searches. Overall, it fits our needs perfectly. It was clean, had two beds, and not far from the parkway at all. The little town had a couple of choices for dinner, too. We at breakfast at the place in the hotel's parking lot. This is not the most modern hotel, but it is quite comfortable. The bathroom in our room was tiny, but functional and clean. Value was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W5PFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain, NC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Just got back from a two day trip to the NC mountains to view the Fall foliage. Spent last night at the Alleghany Inn in Sparta, NC. This was our second visit to this motel. (I think they list it as a "hotel" but it is actually a "motel", doors open to the outside.) Only has 64 rooms, I think, and is just two floors, so no elevators. Very nice red brick building with plenty of parking that has plenty of lightning. Very nice staff at the desk.

The first time we stayed here was a couple of years ago when we had made a trip to see the NC foliage. I searched the internet to find a place to stay in the northern part of NC that had good reviews. We were well please the first time we stayed here, so quite naturally I booked them again. Let me say right off, this is a very clean motel! We have stayed in a lot of different hotels and motels and this is one of the cleanest. The room was very comfortable as far as temperature. It was in the upper 40s outside overnight. The room has to be well insulated because we did not have to use the heat at all. As a matter of fact, we removed the bed comforter and just slept with a sheet and blanket. We didn't hear any noise from either room beside of us, no TV noise, talking, toilet flushing, nothing. We had a room with a King bed, mini-fridge, microwave oven, large TV, recliner and still had plenty of space. The two rooms we have stayed in, this one and the one before, were both very spacious.

There was only one problem that we had this time. The sheets on the bed were extremely thin. My husband stated that it bothered him a little that the bed didn't have a top sheet. I told him it did, it was just so thin you could feel the woven blanket through the sheet. The bed was a little lumpy for my liking, didn't seem to bother him. I don't remember having any issues with the bed or linens during our first visit.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this motel to those traveling through the northern mountain area of NC.

Oh, one more thing, the price is right. Our room was only $71 including taxes for a Friday night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
19.3 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
202 reviews
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
521 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleghany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleghany Inn

Property: Alleghany Inn
Address: 341 N Main St, Sparta, NC 28675-8896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleghany Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hair Dryers, Microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Free use of the Alleghany Wellness Center indoor swimming pool and work out facility. Multiple restaurants located within a mile. Guest laundry. High speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alleghany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alleghany Hotel Sparta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing