We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alleghany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alleghany Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were traveling on the Blue Ridge parkway and stayed here one night. It was very clean for being an older place. The staff were friendly. The room was cozy. The only complaint I have is the pillows were kinda flat. My husband didn't like that the room didn't have a coffee maker. But there was coffee, tea, etc in the office. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
30
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here on our 2nd night of a 9 day/9 state road trip, because it was right at the foot of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Very convenient for us after traveling all day. Reading reviews on here, and knowing there were no elevators, we asked for, and got, a bottom floor room. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Front desk staff was great. The little restaurant on property is convenient, too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

As there are not very many places to stay in Sparta we stayed at the Alleghany Inn. The room was spacious; king bed, love seat. The bathroom, however, was tiny. We did appreciate the free wi-fi and coffee in the lobby. The cable TV could have used an upgrade. The bed was firm and it let us sleep well. All in all, suffice to say, it was a clean spacious room and the innkeeper was cordial and gracious. Not a Hilton or Doubletree but I would stay there again if I were visiting Sparta again.

Room Tip: Ask for the AARP discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamestownRGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the second time while participating in the Blue Ridge Arts and Crafts Festival in July.
This place is clean, comfortable, and the staff is exceptionally helpful and pleasant. It is very convenient to several local restaurants. The rooms have micro waves and mini fridges, which is a great benefit when travelling.

I do not hesitate to recommend the Alleghany Inn! In many ways it is much better than a lot of the cookie cutter chain motel/hotels and fits right in with the downtown Sparta atmosphere.

Room Tip: The first floor is easier to get to, but since all rooms exit onto an exterior walkway, the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehorsetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stay here every year when we pick our kids up from Camp Cheerio. The rooms are clean and functional and the staff is wonderful. In the evenings guests sit out in front of their rooms enjoying the evening. Onetime someone was even strumming a guitar. Reminds me of the motels of my childhood in the early 70's. We usually take a walk up to the football field at the highschool and around the neighborhood behind the inn. Great dinner at the bowling alley down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nauticow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the Alleghany over the 4th of July weekend this year. It is an old school U shaped two story brick motel. The room was basic but clean, everything worked, there was a small, quiet refrigerator in the room and the bed was comfortable. The rate was decent. What more can you ask for?

There is no elevator so if you stay upstairs you have to carry your bags. Outside of every room are two white plastic bucket chairs, and we enjoyed sitting on the deck in the evening. We were there on the 5th of July and a couple of other guests told us the view of Sparta's fireworks from the deck was the best in town.

There is a small restaurant in front of the hotel. By advised they do not accept credit cards! Fortunately breakfast for the two of us came to a whopping <jest> $12 and we had enough cash to avoid washing dishes.

I didn't expect a lot from an older style motel, and my expectations were easily exceeded. We would easily stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPlanIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a very simple hotel in a tiny little adorable town. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, clean, affordable place to stay, you can't go wrong. The manager is on-site and all of the staff treats you like family. There are several really good restaurants nearby. We always stay here when we go to Sparta and we are never disappointed.

Room Tip: There is no pool but you get a pass to use the community pool. We have not used it. No fitness cente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
19.3 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
23.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express West Jefferson
15.3 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleghany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleghany Inn

Property: Alleghany Inn
Address: 341 N Main St, Sparta, NC 28675-8896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleghany Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hair Dryers, Microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Free use of the Alleghany Wellness Center indoor swimming pool and work out facility. Multiple restaurants located within a mile. Guest laundry. High speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Alleghany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alleghany Hotel Sparta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing