We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As a hotel TripAdvisor and a veteran since 2004”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Alleghany Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alleghany Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
“As a hotel TripAdvisor and a veteran since 2004”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Very disappointing. As a hotel that claims to be military veteran friendly. I was offered a very small discount. To get a bed to sleep on would have cost 2 days of active duty hazard pay. Another disappointing hotel that claims to help out veterans but won't take even $70.00 for a bed. Once again how people would use the yellow ribbons to hide their greed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank db9guard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlleghanyInn, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
First of all thank you for your service! My son is currently deployed somewhere in the Middle East with the USMC, we appreciate all of our Service Men and Women.

The Alleghany Inn offers a 20% discount to all active duty and retired military with no blackout dates. If you did not receive this amount I apologize, please contact me immediately and I will refund the difference and take an additional 20% off for your inconvenience.

Thank You,
John K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
30
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chipley, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway and needed a good place to stay for one night. Read the reviews on this place, and gave it a try. Reviews are accurate. It is an older (1950's?) two story motel in the center of town. The staff is over the top friendly and accommodating, very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We stayed in one of the rooms in their "Conference Center". I would have preferred one of the "Motel" rooms, as ours did not have a balcony. However, it was a large room, spotless, comfortable and did have a coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24-7 in the lobby. However, ladies, bring your hairdryers, as they don't have them in the rooms. Great place to stay, don't hesitate to make a reservation. And eat breakfast at the pizza joint next door, great food for cheap prices. Also try the River Rock Grille for dinner.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony or outdoor patio, ask for the motel rooms, not the conference center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle56Chipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlleghanyInn, General Manager at Alleghany Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review! In early June we completed the installation of hair dryers in every room so no need to bring one along anymore.

John K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were visiting family who had recently purchased land in the Sparta area and were camping on their land. As we are not campers we looked for something close by. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel in the future. There is also a nice little restaurant next door which served very good breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mje711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I stay here frequently with family nearby. The hotel is always clean and very affordable. The accommodations are somewhat behind, but all working and comfortable. If you are looking for a place to sleep, I recommend this establishment.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were traveling on the Blue Ridge parkway and stayed here one night. It was very clean for being an older place. The staff were friendly. The room was cozy. The only complaint I have is the pillows were kinda flat. My husband didn't like that the room didn't have a coffee maker. But there was coffee, tea, etc in the office. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here on our 2nd night of a 9 day/9 state road trip, because it was right at the foot of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Very convenient for us after traveling all day. Reading reviews on here, and knowing there were no elevators, we asked for, and got, a bottom floor room. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Front desk staff was great. The little restaurant on property is convenient, too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

As there are not very many places to stay in Sparta we stayed at the Alleghany Inn. The room was spacious; king bed, love seat. The bathroom, however, was tiny. We did appreciate the free wi-fi and coffee in the lobby. The cable TV could have used an upgrade. The bed was firm and it let us sleep well. All in all, suffice to say, it was a clean spacious room and the innkeeper was cordial and gracious. Not a Hilton or Doubletree but I would stay there again if I were visiting Sparta again.

Room Tip: Ask for the AARP discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamestownRGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
19.3 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson
Days Inn Jefferson
#1 of 2 in Jefferson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
15.3 mi away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
23.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleghany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleghany Inn

Property: Alleghany Inn
Address: 341 N Main St, Sparta, NC 28675-8896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Sparta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alleghany Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hair Dryers, Microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms. Free use of the Alleghany Wellness Center indoor swimming pool and work out facility. Multiple restaurants located within a mile. Guest laundry. High speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alleghany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alleghany Hotel Sparta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing