We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Springmaid Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've been taking our family on vacations here for years and it's a favorite vacation spot. The cabins are not luxurious, but they have everything you need and are clean. The grounds are generally quite and peaceful. There is a nice hiking path you can walk on, several fishing ponds and a river on the grounds. A Walmart is located approximately 10 minutes away if you need to pick up anything. A nice plus is that it is not far of the Blue Ridge parkway, so you can take a scenic drive and visit some of the beautiful attractions nearby. Definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the cabins as we traversed the Blue Ridge parkway with my father, husband and son. The cabins were well equipped but tranquil and a great spot to unwind after a long day on the road. They would be just as great for a longer stay ( and we were very tempted to extend our stay).

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ksmum125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I rented one of the Whispering Pines cabins to stay and cook in while attending 3 separate family reunions over the weekend August 8-12, 2013. My husband and I shared the 2 bedroom + loft cabin with another 3 other couples. The privacy of the two bedrooms was great. The couples who slept in the loft as well as in the living room did not have great privacy, but they didn't chip in for the cost so who cares.

I called ahead on the day of check in to see if we could check in any earlier than the allotted 4 pm check in time, because we had been driving in from FL and on the road all night. They did let us check in early and were able to get into our cabin before noon.

The cabin itself had a musty smell. We attributed it to it's rustic location as well as the massive amounts of rain the area had recently received. A few candles from the grocery store helped.

The kitchen was spacious compared to a lot of other cabin rentals. I was able to cook for the 10+ people we had constantly in and out, plus room for my 2 large crock pots I used to cook for our reunions. The kitchen was decently equipped, but I was glad that I brought plastic utensils. The cabin and amenities were definitely on the "rustic" side, but they suited our needs just fine.

The beds were adequate. Not insanely comfortable, but not uncomfortable either. The vanities in the two bedrooms also helped a great deal with keeping the traffic in the only bathroom bearable when it came to the 4 ladies in the cabin getting ready each morning.

The couches in the living room were pretty dingy, though. When we booked the cabin I specifically asked an employee over the phone if the cabin would have AC, knowing I would be doing so much cooking I knew it would get hot even if the weather outside was cool. I was told yes, they have both central AC and heat. Turns out it didn't. Only heat. Luckily it was cool enough at night to open the windows, but cooking during the day with no AC was not fun.

Maintenance collected our trash on a daily basis. They also brought additional towels half way through our 4 night stay.

We decided to go tubing, they advertised $6 for a tube rental for the entire day. The other outfitters in town charge upwards of $20 for 1 run so this seemed like a great deal.The tubes they provided were, let's just say, lacking. As an experienced tuber, these tubes were about 1/3 the size of a normal tube. The five adults that were tubing ranged in weight from 140 - 260 pounds, and the tubes they gave us were appropriate for someone no larger than 90 pounds. We had to take them back to the office to have them blown up some more, and even then they were less than adequate.
The trail hike to the river drop off was a little challenging as well. There are not any signs indicating distance or how far to the drop. The paths were shaded in the woods and very pretty, especially the two waterfalls along the way.

Needless to say, because of the inadequate tubes it was a rough ride. We all got out of the river with various bruises, scrapes and bumps. The water levels were very high due to recent rain, but the stretch of river was so rocky and the tubes being too small was a bad combo on the rocks. I couldn't imagine tubing when the waters were low. Those tubes were completely unsafe, and I feel the staff should not have allowed anyone to rent them. We were worried for the group of smaller kids who had the same size tubes behind us. When I complained to the front desk I was told the larger tubes went missing, and they guess they should get some more larger tubes. You think?

All in all the grounds are very beautiful. They have a lot of amenities to keep you busy and help you relax. The staff is overall very friendly and eager to help you have a great stay. For the area you do get a good value for what you pay. We will most likely rent here again next summer for our family reunions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The cabins were wonderful. Everything was equipped and the wood stove was a plus. Too bad they didn't have a supply of fire wood but we got some in town. Walmart is only about 10 minutes away if anything is needed.

Room Tip: There is a charge for the trail rides, not too much though. All the cabins are roomy and not too clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Springmaid Mountain is a beautiful place to stay if you're looking to be in the midst of nature. My parents, my son and I stayed here last week for a few days. The 2-BR cabin was the perfect size for us, and we loved the rocking chair porch that overlooked a pond. My son had a ball playing in the creek and then fishing with his granddad. We hope to come back for another visit next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chili_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I just had the most amazing wedding weekend at Springmaid Mountain. The location (while difficult to get to for some of our guests - make sure NOT to use GPS - use website directions or call to get detailed directions from Springmaid staff) was absolutely beautiful and met all of our needs and more. Angie and Joe were awesome to work with and were unbelievable accommodating to all of our requests and needs. The pavilion was perfect for our reception and the cabins are clean and very nice. We wanted a place that could accommodate a large number of our family members and with 15 or so cabins, this was just what we were looking for! We were told all weekend long what a wonderful location we had picked and we just could not be happier with how things turned out. Thank you Springmaid Mountain!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_and_J97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is our second visit to Springmaid Mountain Cabins and we had a great weekend. The rooms in our cabin were clean and the bedding was freshly laundered. We shared our cabin with another family and had ample room to cook and relax. We were a big group and we rented several cabins. The hiking and natural areas were well kept and we didn't see any staff member around. It was as if everything was taken care of magically. We had cookouts, a bonfire, dinner meeting at the big cabin and had a fantastic time. There is also horseback riding and grassy area for a short soccer game.

Room Tip: Every cabin has log exterior and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 4historyandculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Pine
4.8 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
201 reviews
14.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
128 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
24.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
444 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springmaid Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Mountain

Property: Springmaid Mountain
Address: 2171 Henredon Plant Rd, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-5706
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Spruce Pine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Spruce Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Springmaid Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 acre retreat just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. 16 secluded cabins ranging from 1 bedroom to 16 bedroom cabins plus 22 site campground. We have 6 ponds for fishing, hiking trails, horseback riding, hayrides, and other nearby activities and attractions. Cabins open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Springmaid Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing