We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do Not Take Your Motorhome Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Springmaid Mountain
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do Not Take Your Motorhome Here”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have a 30 foot Class-C Motorhome and there is no way I would take it into the campground area. There are low overhanging trees over the road and the road is narrow with tree limbs sticking out from the sides. The camp sites are hardly marked, not level, washed out, odd sizes and way to small. The road was in dire need of grading and poorly done. It’s a shame because the grounds are very beautiful and have a lot of river frontage but none of the sites were on the river. This campground is not setup for motorhomes. Before you try this campground take a tour in your car first…

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMBowers, Public Relations Manager at Springmaid Mountain, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that not all amenities at Springmaid Mountain were to your satisfaction. We do strive to accommodate each guest but acknowledge that we have limitations in our campground areas. A 30 foot Motorhome like yours is on the maximum end for what our property can best accommodate. We do have larger camper sites and when guests call we try to ask them how big the camper is and assign a spot accordingly. Unfortunately with online reservations we don’t always know that information and on holidays when we tend to fill up, not everyone is happy. We do hope you'll consider coming back in the future and giving our property another try. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Let me begin by saying that the only experience I have had with this venue was taking my 2 little grand daughters riding there. It is not easy to find but boy, what a spot. I can still see the smile on the two little girls' faces. There are no ponys, but the full growen horses are calm enough that the girls rode with no problems and for $5 each they were able to ride as long as they wanted. The only caviot is that grand dad had to lead the horses but boy, what a deal!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelxallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMBowers, Public Relations Manager at Springmaid Mountain, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for bringing your granddaughters out to ride at Springmaid Mountain. Our horses are gentle enough for even young riders like your girls and we are glad they enjoyed themselves. Please come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall Branch, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I booked an RV site at their campground because our fist pick was full. Booking was easy with a very friendly staff and also very affordable compared to other campgrounds in the area. Heres the down sides,

Bad points:
1. This place is VERY difficult to find if you have never been there! My gps did not even recognize the road it is on and if you miss the signs, your lost.

2. Once we gog there, right at dark, there was a map provided for us of the grounds. When we finally found the road to the campground, WOAH! It was a narrow gravel/pavment road that looked like it led to nowhere a camper should be towed.

3. When we got to the sites, they were not clearly marked, and we had to circle back around the again, narrow, road to find a suitable site. The site was not level at all and it was a huge pain to set the camper up on the gravel site.

4. The bath house was in need of a very big facelift. Looked very dirty and the showers, well, they needed some MAJOR tlc!! Not a shower that I looked foward to using, but it did the job.

5. Ponds to fish were not "stocked" and goose poop was everywhere at the "swimming" area, which I WOULD NOT advise to swim in!!
6. The dump station was not easy to use and very unlevel.

Good points:
1. Very friendly staff and easy to deal with.
2. Peaceful campground.
3. Nice cabins to rent as an alternative.

Over all, I would like to come back to Springmaid Mountain IF, they updated the grounds and fixed the roads so you dont feel like you are going the wrong way into nowhere (paved and widened the acess road and campground road) and leveled the sites. Until then I will camp elsewhere.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMBowers, Public Relations Manager at Springmaid Mountain, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
After reading your review, we apologize that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your satisfaction. We strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability and appreciate your valuable feedback. We want to ensure Springmaid Mountain is an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and will utilize your comments to improve our visitor experience. Thank you again for your comments and your business. Please be in touch with us directly if we may assist further. We hope you’ll consider returning to Springmaid Mountain again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've been taking our family on vacations here for years and it's a favorite vacation spot. The cabins are not luxurious, but they have everything you need and are clean. The grounds are generally quite and peaceful. There is a nice hiking path you can walk on, several fishing ponds and a river on the grounds. A Walmart is located approximately 10 minutes away if you need to pick up anything. A nice plus is that it is not far of the Blue Ridge parkway, so you can take a scenic drive and visit some of the beautiful attractions nearby. Definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the cabins as we traversed the Blue Ridge parkway with my father, husband and son. The cabins were well equipped but tranquil and a great spot to unwind after a long day on the road. They would be just as great for a longer stay ( and we were very tempted to extend our stay).

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ksmum125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I rented one of the Whispering Pines cabins to stay and cook in while attending 3 separate family reunions over the weekend August 8-12, 2013. My husband and I shared the 2 bedroom + loft cabin with another 3 other couples. The privacy of the two bedrooms was great. The couples who slept in the loft as well as in the living room did not have great privacy, but they didn't chip in for the cost so who cares.

I called ahead on the day of check in to see if we could check in any earlier than the allotted 4 pm check in time, because we had been driving in from FL and on the road all night. They did let us check in early and were able to get into our cabin before noon.

The cabin itself had a musty smell. We attributed it to it's rustic location as well as the massive amounts of rain the area had recently received. A few candles from the grocery store helped.

The kitchen was spacious compared to a lot of other cabin rentals. I was able to cook for the 10+ people we had constantly in and out, plus room for my 2 large crock pots I used to cook for our reunions. The kitchen was decently equipped, but I was glad that I brought plastic utensils. The cabin and amenities were definitely on the "rustic" side, but they suited our needs just fine.

The beds were adequate. Not insanely comfortable, but not uncomfortable either. The vanities in the two bedrooms also helped a great deal with keeping the traffic in the only bathroom bearable when it came to the 4 ladies in the cabin getting ready each morning.

The couches in the living room were pretty dingy, though. When we booked the cabin I specifically asked an employee over the phone if the cabin would have AC, knowing I would be doing so much cooking I knew it would get hot even if the weather outside was cool. I was told yes, they have both central AC and heat. Turns out it didn't. Only heat. Luckily it was cool enough at night to open the windows, but cooking during the day with no AC was not fun.

Maintenance collected our trash on a daily basis. They also brought additional towels half way through our 4 night stay.

We decided to go tubing, they advertised $6 for a tube rental for the entire day. The other outfitters in town charge upwards of $20 for 1 run so this seemed like a great deal.The tubes they provided were, let's just say, lacking. As an experienced tuber, these tubes were about 1/3 the size of a normal tube. The five adults that were tubing ranged in weight from 140 - 260 pounds, and the tubes they gave us were appropriate for someone no larger than 90 pounds. We had to take them back to the office to have them blown up some more, and even then they were less than adequate.
The trail hike to the river drop off was a little challenging as well. There are not any signs indicating distance or how far to the drop. The paths were shaded in the woods and very pretty, especially the two waterfalls along the way.

Needless to say, because of the inadequate tubes it was a rough ride. We all got out of the river with various bruises, scrapes and bumps. The water levels were very high due to recent rain, but the stretch of river was so rocky and the tubes being too small was a bad combo on the rocks. I couldn't imagine tubing when the waters were low. Those tubes were completely unsafe, and I feel the staff should not have allowed anyone to rent them. We were worried for the group of smaller kids who had the same size tubes behind us. When I complained to the front desk I was told the larger tubes went missing, and they guess they should get some more larger tubes. You think?

All in all the grounds are very beautiful. They have a lot of amenities to keep you busy and help you relax. The staff is overall very friendly and eager to help you have a great stay. For the area you do get a good value for what you pay. We will most likely rent here again next summer for our family reunions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The cabins were wonderful. Everything was equipped and the wood stove was a plus. Too bad they didn't have a supply of fire wood but we got some in town. Walmart is only about 10 minutes away if anything is needed.

Room Tip: There is a charge for the trail rides, not too much though. All the cabins are roomy and not too clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Pine
5.0 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
192 reviews
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
120 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
88 reviews
4.3 mi away
Linville Falls Campground RV Park & Cabins
16.8 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springmaid Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springmaid Mountain

Property: Springmaid Mountain
Address: 2171 Henredon Road, Spruce Pine, NC 28777
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Spruce Pine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Spruce Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Springmaid Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 acre retreat just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. 16 secluded cabins ranging from 1 bedroom to 16 bedroom cabins plus 22 site campground. We have 6 ponds for fishing, hiking trails, horseback riding, hayrides, and other nearby activities and attractions. Cabins open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springmaid Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing