We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This might be a good place to tent camp, but it's an terrible place for RV camping.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This might be a good place to tent camp, but it's an terrible place for RV camping.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We came with a 32 foot toyhauler. Spots are short and unlevel. Roads in are gravel, curvey and very hilly. We brought a toyhauler with motorcycles. This is the worst campground that we have ever been to in over 10 years. This includes horse and atv campgrounds. We paid for 5 nights, we are only staying 2...no refunds...no refunds with less than 30 days notice for any reason...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 69Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is my second visit to this campground - the first was a father/son camping trip about 10 years ago. This trip was with my son and wife and nothing has changed - and that's a good thing!

Right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, the campground is about a half mile in. 144 campsites along with cabins and private sites, the place is beautiful and beautifully kept. We stayed in loop B this time around, site 28 just down from the bathhouse but with neighbors only on one side. Site is large, clear and a sandy/gravel base with water and electric. Fire ring, picnic table and plenty of mature trees all around. While the trees don't offer much privacy, there is a little bit of distance from site to site. We were able to set up our 9x16 family tent, an 8x11 canopy and still had plenty of room for chairs around the fire and a grill.

The staff were very friendly, making regular patrols to check on everyone and kept the grounds and especially the bathhouse clean (several times a day!). While the bathhouse was a bit dated, it was clean, stocked and in good working order. The camp store has all the essentials and some extras - T-shirts, hats, candy, etc. The rec center has ping pong tables and doubles as a meeting area for bands and Sunday Services. Decent game room. Mountain spring fed small lake/large pond that is stocked with fish (son caught five good sized catfish!), has canoe rentals and swimming area with sandy beach.

We stayed for the long Labor Day weekend plus an extra day - every site was filled but come 9:30 it became quiet. Come Monday morning, everyone packed up and left and for most of the day, we were one of maybe a dozen campers in the enter campsite - the only ones in Loop B. But the camphosts/staff still made their rounds and even though we were the only ones using the bathhouse, they still came by and cleaned it.

Plenty of things to do in the area - Linville Caverns, Linville Falls, Grandfather Mountain, gem mining, Alta Pass Orchards, etc. A 24-hour Wal Mart in nearby Spruce Pine.

While we did visit nearby attractions, it was a very relaxing camping vacation and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herfnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in their Mountain View Cabin over a weekend with another family. The cabin was fantastic, rustic feel. Views were very good in the mountains. Secluded in culdesac. Far from the other campers/tent sites. Very clean. We loved the hot tub and used it daily. Nice way to relax after hiking all day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I've camped here several times. It's quiet and secluded. Nice sized sites, all wooded. Bath houses need updating. Entrance is long with tortuous curves. I wouldn't want to drive a big rig in, but it is directly off the Blue Ridge Parkway. A perfect place to relax and tour the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a very disappointing, shortened stay at Bear Den. There are several great things about the campground including the well-stocked camp store, good firewood for sale, clean bath house, quiet campground and nice wooded setting right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. But there were fundamental problems with our stay that made us leave after one night. We had rented a Campin' Cabin largely due to the regular rain we've been having and wanted an option to be indoors as needed (normally we tent camp...). The cabin however was almost uninhabitable due to the overwhelming musty, moldy smell. A special trip to buy a fan to pull in outside air helped but one of us was forced to sleep in the car as the air in the cabin made her feel sick.

We tried to make the best of it and spent time on the cabin porch and by the campfire. There was a disappointing lack of privacy at these cabins. I would expect more for $55/night. We made due by the picnic table by putting up a tarp and shower curtain and felt good for a short while. Then we realized the fire pit was useless. It was dug down into the ground about a foot and half and wet on the bottom. We spent 2 hours trying to keep a fire going (with good wood purchased at the camp store) and couldn't due to lack of air floor in the sunken pit.

After putting the fire out with water we brought we filled up our jug from the campsite spigot and got a horrible greeting of the distinct smell and taste of bleach (some folks mistakenly think that adding bleach to well water makes it safer to drink...). So here we were with no usable fire pit, no drinkable water and a moldy cabin! Then it starts raining! We retreated to the covered porch for dinner and appreciated that for a moment but after making it through the night we left.

We might come back to tent camp but we've got to have a couple of basics, a usable fire pit and drinkable water...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First, a couple observations regarding the campground as a whole - the lake is VERY small, though it does have lots of dock area around it for sitting and relaxing or fishing. You can fish there without a license, which is a plus. Seems to be plenty of activities to keep kids busy - game rooms and whatnot. Staff were VERY friendly and accommodating. We were assigned a tent site very close to the entrance and wanted to be a little closer to the bath house and they were very good to move us.

The campground is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway and is surrounded by beautiful scenery. Lots of tree cover for shade from the sun abounds at pretty much every tent/pop up site. Every site also has two outlets for electricity and also a spigot for water. Some of them are in pretty bizarre locations so make sure you take a long extension cord if you plan on utilizing that. Plenty of trees around for hanging a hammock or putting up a tarp to help shield the tent from rain.

They have a pretty stocked store there in the office and also offer services to fill propane, sell ice and firewood. You can pretty much get everything you need right there at the campground, rather than having to travel into Spruce Pine.

My ONLY complaint is that one of the golf carts that the staff roll around on sounds like it belongs on a Nascar track and for some odd reason that particular cart was doing all sorts of business around our tent around 11:00 at night. Other than that, it was a great stay. We'd certainly go again.

Room Tip: Go into Spruce Pine and eat at the Dry County Brewing Co.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Bear Den is a nice campground, very wooded and private. They have a game room, activities for the kids, and a small lake for fishing/swimming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Sites are reasonably private, although the location of the water & electricity was sometimes in odd places. The bath houses were pretty clean but very hot. Not very good ventilation. The only other drawbacks were the roads coming into the campground were very rough & the sites are not very level. We had a "level" site but still had to bring the passenger side of the motorhome up quite a bit. Other than those two issues, we had a great time just relaxing and wandering around. Tent sites & RV sites available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitchenmagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Pine
5.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
207 reviews
18.9 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
23.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Linville Falls Campground RV Park & Cabins
2.4 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
45 reviews
18.7 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins

Property: Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins
Address: 600 Bear Den Mountain Rd, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-8365
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Spruce Pine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Spruce Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Den Family Campground, Campin' Cabins and Rental Villas Open for the Season in Early March. 144 campsites for tents, pop-ups and other types of recreational vehicles adjoining the Blue Ridge Parkway. Water, electricity, fire-rings and picnic tables at each campsite. RV sites with full hook-ups - pull thrus. Bear Den Campin’ Cabins offer basic shelter and electricity for 4 to 6 campers. Modern bath houses; each with hot showers and coin-operated washers and dryers. Sanitary disposal stations. Bear Den Family Campground’s Trading Post has ice, drinks, firewood, souvenirs and just about every camping supply you may need as well as some food items for your camping. Due to our location in the mountains we don't have cable, but we do provide free WiFi for your use. We also have two dump stations for your conveniences. Bear Den Family Campground and cabin guests love our lake for swimming, fishing and canoeing. We have a sandy beach and playground, so the whole family can have a fun get-away in the NC Mountains. Bring your fishing poles because North Carolina fishing license is not needed at our lake. And for the hikers, we have plenty of trails for you to explore so don't forget your hiking sticks. Let the kids bring their bicycles, canoes or paddle boards for your stay with us here at Bear Den...we also have basketball, badminton, volleyball, table tennis, shuffleboard and horse shoe courts, playground and a game room with pool tables, air hockey and arcade games. Never a dull day at Bear Den Campground and everything for your enjoyment right here. *Bear Den's campground and rental cabins are open from the first week in March through November 30 - weather permitting. Early spring and late fall in the NC high mountains are tricky to predict. Select Cabins are available for rental year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing