We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Stay”
Review of Pine Valley Motel

Pine Valley Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spruce Pine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Valley Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spruce Pine
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is not a fancy, upscale motel, nor does it need to be. It's a nice, clean motel. The rooms are very quaint and quiet. We also found the staff to be very pleasant and accommodating. We had a very enjoyable stay and will defiantly make arrangements to stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

This was the second time I have stayed here. And both times had a very good experience. The rooms are very plain. My only complaints would be Hottubs and small bed. But other than that it is a very comfortable and clean room. Also had a very good price. the front desk staff at times can be a little different. But overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunnerWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I was a little leery of the Pine Valley Motel after reading the mixed reviews, but it was the only place available for the night we needed. We were pleasantly surprised to find a clean and relatively modern room, albeit simple. All the beds are double beds. There was no hair dryer or alarm clock. However, the beds were comfortable, and the cable and internet worked like a charm. We arrived late at night, and the key was to our room was right where they promised in the drop box. There is only a stand-up shower, which was fine for us, but good to know if you like a bathtub. Great water pressure.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank thkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

There are not alot of places to choose from when wanting to stay in the Spruce Pine area. I picked this location based on previous reviews. The motel is in a good location just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway and is adequate though nothing fancy.

The room was clean. There were 2 beds; one was okay, the other had the springs poking through and thus uncomfortable and the pillows were very flat. The television was a small, tube tv but did have lots of channels. The water heater in our room continually made a weird noise and the heater was very loud. There was a microwave and a good size refrigerator in the room. Good lighting and the shower flow was okay. Plus 2 garbage cans per room were convenient. The wireless internet worked fine.
There are NO amenities: no shampoo, pad, pen, not even a clock! No table in the room for eating or working on. No breakfast. You can only call locally or 800 numbers from the phone.

So that all being said I feel that the room is overpriced and they offer no discounts at all. But if in the area we would stay here again since there is access to places we could launch to from here easily and it is very quiet at night. People who live in this town and area are very friendly to tourists and welcome them warmly.

Tip: For a reasonably priced good meal head 2 doors down to the Western Sizzlin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here while riding the Blue Ridge Parkway.The motel is right off the Parkway.The rooms were clean & spacious.The beds were very comfortable.We parked the bikes right outside the door.They even offered rags for wiping down the bikes.It was convenient to restaurants,gas stations & for getting back on the Parkway.We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leadman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here on a motorcycle trip without reservations and needing four rooms. The lady at the desk was very nice and let us look at the rooms before we took them. The rooms were clean and in good repair with large nice showers with good water flow. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well. We parked in large spaces right in front of our rooms and sat outside and visited in the chairs in front of our rooms. We ordered a pizza from the Pizza Hut next door and walked over to get it. The young ladies working there were some of the nicest folks we encountered on our trip and the pizza was excellent. The price of the room seemed a little high at $65-70 since it did not include any breakfast food but we found a great place for breakfast further into Spruce Pine called DT's Blue Ridge Java Coffee Shop and Cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ozarkianamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed two nights here while hiking Roan Mountain and the Appalachian Trail as well as visiting this lovely area north of the Blue Ridge Parkway (milepost 331 Minerals Museum). It's located beside the commercial strip leading north into Spruce Pine and has numerous rooms.

As a walk in, I paid about $71 per night for a corner room away from road, advisable since the interior walls are not very soundproof. Room was large enough and clean with phone, TV, coffeemaker, microwave, fridge and full bath. Stores nearby for supplies and cheerful buffet food plus steak, good ribs etc at Western Sizzlin 100 yards away. Spruce Pines itself has a good wine bar and several eateries on Oak and Locust Streets. Shops close on the dot at 5 pm.

Options are another hotel in Spruce Pines and B & Bs which tend to be more expensive

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buenvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Pine
13.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
138 reviews
3.1 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
212 reviews
13.6 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
49 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bear Den Family Campground & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Valley Motel

Address: 11827 Hwy. 226 South, Spruce Pine, NC 28777
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Spruce Pine
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spruce Pine
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing