We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spruce Pine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Pine B&B and Inns
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We came to the Blue Ridge Parkway for a weekend to see the leaves change. The Inn was very nice and the host Maggie was very helpful. We were pleased to find a nice clean place that accepted pets. This was our first stay in a Bed & Breakfast and it was a very pleasant experience. When we arrived at our room, all the windows were open and the fresh, clean air was so nice. The large common room was a nice place to sit and read or watch TV.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Maggie even accommodated my husband's dietary needs. I would definitely come back! We couldn't ask for anything nicer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorbaityogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
32
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Richmond Inn is the place to be if you need a place on business or just a pure pleasure trip anywhere near the quaint mountain town of Spruce Pine, NC. Maggie is the best of the best as a hostess! Along with her son, she runs a most comfortable inn. Each time I have stayed at the Richlmond Inn, it seems that Maggie has guest who have returned to stay with her for many years so that in itself says a lot. It makes for great conversations while we are all eating the scrumptious breakfast. My husband and I, along with our dog (son!), Jake, were there this past weekend. After staying there numerous times on business, I had convinced my husband that he too could enjoy a B&B. He can be just a little hard to please some of the time, but he loved it! The rooms are very spacious with comfy linens and extremely neat and clean, but not too fancy for real comfort. Maggie does not spare a thing for her "doggy" rooms. You just have a little more hardwood and tile flooring rather than carpet. If you are crusing the Blue Ridge Parkway, this is a great place to stop for a peaceful nights sleep. If you are visiting the NC mountains and plan to visit several places, the Richmond Inn is a great spot to use for home base at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBQueenMooresville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapel hill
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The host Maggie makes everyone feel like family and does everything to accomodates all your wishes. Big plus for us is that you can take your dog too ! That is huge.
This B & B is close to everything. I recommend a summer trip, winters are cold up there !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Wonderful small inn. Experienced and friendly owners. This is a lovely and well-managed place. Great bedrooms. Spruce Pine is also a nice little mountain town. Love to eat at the Knife & Fork (lower street parallel to main street).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Not the easiest place to find particularly if you are using a GPS but well worth the effort. A beautiful old house in a quiet area with a wonderful, laid-back propieter. Maggie was a joy to sit and talk with and is wonderful. Our room was VERY nice (Derbeyshire).....one of the nicest I've been in at a B&B. Will definetly return if traveling that way. Thank you Maggie.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srk330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had 3 nights at the Richmond Inn. The town itself doesn't have much charm but this B& B does. From Spruce Pine we visited the Blue Ridge Parkway north and south. Went to Blowing Rock and Linville Falls. Very comfortable accomodations. Very clean. Well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

The house was in a lovely setting and was very comfortable. The owner, whose name is Maggie, was easy to talk to and we felt right at home. She was very helpful with information about local attractions and went out of her way to see we had everything we needed. The bathrooms were large, as were the rooms. Beds were comfy too. Will stay here again when we come back to the North Carolina mountains

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Pine
4.7 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Inn At Glen Alpine
The Inn At Glen Alpine
#1 of 1 in Glen Alpine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#1 of 5 in Spruce Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Shady Lawn Lodge
The Shady Lawn Lodge
#1 of 3 in Newland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 51 Pine Ave, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-5302
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Spruce Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing