We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spruce Pine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Spruce Pine B&B and Inns
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My Wife & I were on a motorcycle trip and found the Richmond Inn just as it was getting dark, at that point you take what you can get. What a pleasant surprise after a long day of riding. Our room was spacious & pristine. Maggie, her son Ben and the dogs & cats were all quite welcoming.
You know it's a great find when you are grateful and appreciative and you're the one paying them. It cuts both ways of course.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
33
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garner, NC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here this past weekend while in Spruce Pine for a wedding. It's a great, homey place to stay. Maggie is wonderfully accomodating. We especially enjoyed having our coffee and delicious breakfast each morning as we sat out on the front patio area. We stayed in the Mountain View room which had a queen bed and it's own bathroom. The bathroom was a little small (only a stall shower). They provide clean linens and towels each day - they really go out of their way to make sure you want for nothing. It's located close to the downtown area where there are lots of antique places, as well local shops. Be sure to visit the lower level street as well! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reddy2goGarner_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Love Maggie and her dogs! Our dog came and we had a great time. Homemade breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here one night while driving up the Blue Ridge Parkway. The owner Maggie was very nice and visited with us during breakfast. The room was large and we were very comfortable. The cat and dog were friendly. Breakfast was good. Overall an excellent stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our entire family stayed here over Easter and the place was wonderful. Great breakfast in the mornings, the hostess was extremely friendly and kind. I will recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suman_sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Richmond Inn was a very useful stop over on our trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. Spruce Pine isn't somewhere we would seek out again except for a stop over.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExtremeCoucherUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceyenne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

What a great old house! Our room was super clean, comfortable and huge. We came off the Blue Ridge Parkway and drove straight there, because Maggie emailed us great directions. We were missing our dogs so we kind of adopted hers, we felt right at home! Maggie made swedish pancakes and sausage for breakfast, very yummy. The best night's sleep of our 9 day trip!

Room Tip: The rooms are upstairs, we took what we needed out of our bags to avoid the heavy haul up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebberDoo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spruce Pine
4.7 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
201 reviews
14.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
128 reviews
19.8 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
43 reviews
13.4 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Richmond Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 51 Pine Ave, Spruce Pine, NC 28777-5302
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Spruce Pine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Spruce Pine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing