We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and affordable”
Review of Gravy

Gravy
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Sunset Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone - 910-579-4733
Restaurant details
Description: Phone - 910-579-4733
Sugar Grove, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and affordable”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved the shrimp, fish sandwiches, meat loaf, sweet tea, etc. The mashed potatoes were a disappointment but we were pleased with the seafood, the large portions and the prices!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hideawayhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    71
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just got a meatloaf carryout dinner. Just not what I'm use to I guess. Seemed kind of mushy & INSTANT mashed potatoes…I would pay more for real ones. I must say they had the best iced tea though. The service I would also say was awesome! I'll give it another try eventually because I could walk there...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A MUST GO TO RESTAURANT!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you are in this area-you must go there for a meal. They are open for lunch and dinner(closes at 8:p.m). The restaurant is owned /operated by a brother and sister(Steve and Stephanie). It is a local landmark in this area. Everything is good-all the time.Don't miss it!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSunset181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The food and service are both excellent. The seafood is the best around. I would recommend this place to anyone, it is wonderful. Love this place!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Niners42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“it's not all seafood!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Calabash is famed, and rightly so, for delicious and lightly fried seafood. But it's not all seafood.

On a visit with vacationing family, our hosts bypassed the waterfront seafood restaurants, and took us to instead to this small but busy place in between Calabash and Sunset Beach. At 1:00 pm the parking lot was nearly full, and we discovered that they were (mostly) the cars of locals. I was somewhat relieved when they immediately seated the teenagers and the adults in adjoining tables; we had different agendas! It's bright and clean, and the service was friendly and fast.

Gravy styles itself as a "Southern Eatery", and the menu demonstrated that. Ann had fried chicken over white rice with chicken gravy, while I enjoyed fried scallops (the Calabash touch, I suppose), and we ordered both of the entrees came with turnip greens and hush puppies. It was all prepared to perfection, and if I were going to quibble I'd have to add that the portions were more than I could handle. Some problem.

Gravy has the traditional daily specials (meatloaf, chicken fried steaks, turkey and dressing, etc.), a vegetable menu of about 30 items, a varied salad menu, and a desert list for those whose appetite hasn't been sated. And a bill that was covered by 20 bucks. What's not to like about all that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gravy also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Gravy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing