We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Greens coming back, but not there yet!

This is a fun layout—nice combination of holes. The course lost its greens after a terrible winter... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
161DavidM161
,
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
via mobile
Nice Course But,

Facility and staff were top notch and we were warned beforehand that the greens were not up to... read more

Reviewed 2 May 2018
Ernie S
,
Lebanon, Pa
Read all 41 reviews
  
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
8
16
10
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
16
10
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Not worth the full fare - prob $35 at best with very poor conditions from tee to green, bad customer service and slow play.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank rbestercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

We are very sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience at Panther's Run. If you would, could you give me more information on your critique, including specifics on the customer service issues and pace of play?
Please send your reply to blong@oceanridge.com
Once again we apologize that Panther's Run did not meet your expectations, but we will take whatever steps necessary to address the specific issues you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Been several years since we have played at this facility. We have noticed a trend in the area of declining conditions of the courses in the myrtle beach area. The concern seems to get as many people out on the course as possible. Our round was just over 5 hrs. Too long. Conditions were fair at best. Greens are challenging and ran pretty fast and true. Not much rough to deal with but lots of trouble off the fairway. Thicker rough would save some wayward shots and at least keep you out of the houses or woods. The driving range could definitely use some work. The last time we were here you could drive over on your way to the tee box and met the starter there. Now it is a long walk over with the ball machine on the far side of the range. The range looked like hitting out to a field with some stakes for targets. Overall a good track, fun to play, conditions need attention.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We will definitely do our best to address your areas of concern. We have several renovation projects on the schedule and expect most of the issues you mentioned to be addressed and improved. You can keep track of our progress on our Facebook and twitter pages. Thank you again and we hope you will give us another opportunity to show our best side on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hard to express how disappointed we were at the course conditions and the low level of customer service. We played Lion's Paw and Tiger's Eye many years ago and they were then top level courses. Panther's Run is simply run-down. None of the Par 3 tees had been mown in the past several days. Some other tees were simply not taken care of. Fairways were at best OK. Greens are a mess - with invading grasses mixed with the MiniVerde, they were bumpy enough to knock a decent speed putt off line. The club loading was borderline insulting; you would have never known we were customers. We were treated as obstacles to the guys getting the carts loaded. The driving range is also in shabby condition - fully 1/2 the balls were completely worn out and discolored. Poorly kept target areas - really had an uncared-for appearance. On the positive side, the lady keeping bar was delightful as was the refreshment cart lady. I won't be back and I will caution anyone interested to save their $82 and play elsewhere.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank sgbb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill L, Manager at Panther's Run Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

We certainly appreciate your feedback and we definitely take your concerns seriously. We do have several renovations projects in the works and many of the issues you mentioned here will be addressed. We are aggressively treating the Poa Annua outbreak right now. As you may have noticed while watching the Masters this year, there is an epidemic of Poa in this region. We fully expect to be able to get this under control and offer the smooth, fast putting surfaces golfers at Panther's Run have come to expect and appreciate. We sincerely apologize that we did not live up to your expectations on this visit. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to not only meet, but to exceed those expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Friendly, helpful staff. Relatively fast greens compared to other courses this week. It's clear they are used to moving a lot of people through this course.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank docrock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

I found Panthers Run to be one of the more enjoyable courses I played in the area. The course condition was very good. For my game, the landing areas were generous but also well protected by the placement of bunkers. The greens were in good shape and rolled true. I found the staff to be very friendly. The only thing preventing 5 stars was the location of the practice area which is a bit of a walk. It's not horrible but allow some extra time if you want to hit a few before you play.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank BigDaddy713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews