We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Writing Retreat to Remember”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Sunset Inn combined all I hold dear: the ocean for walks on the beach and wonderful photos of sunrise and sunsets, a lovely room overlooking the marsh with wading birds and deer, and breakfasts that kept me going after an early morning of writing, all the way through workshop sessions with my favorite writing guide, Maureen Ryan Griffin. I left refreshed and had revived my creative spirit. Could you move closer to Florida, PLEASE?? I drove for 11 hours to get there, resulting in sit-itis, and I'd do it again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the marsh. The web page has pictures of interiors of all the rooms. Some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We love our writing retreat guests and we are so happy that you have given this amazing review! Maureen is a wonderful retreat leader and we hope you will be able to come back for future retreats! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

A gift for our 30th Anniversary from our daughter and son-in-law. Wonderful surprise vacation trip to a new place. We had a wonderful time, the rooms were beautifully decorated. Warm and comfortable rooms, wonderful people. Walk to the beach and enjoy a looking for sand dollars, watch the seagulls. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for the kind words and thank you for spending your 30th anniversary with us!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your room and our breakfasts. We hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

To celebrate my husband's birthday, (and 10 years since our 1st date!!), we decided to take a little couple time for our vacation this year, instead of a family trip. Somehow, while looking for an accomodation for our stay, I stumbled upon The Sunset Inn. (Thank you, Google!!) What a delightful Inn! Our room was immaculate, the housekeeping staff picked up after us every morning, the rooms are very cozy and tastefully decorated, and as we booked a Grand Room, the Jacuzzi tub was always where we found ourselves with a glass of wine to end our day. The staff was excellent in helping us choose travel routes to best meet our plans, and they got our day started off right every morning with a well chosen, filling breakfast. And I cannot sayt enough good things about Sunset Beach - it's soft, white sand is not shell-y like some other beaches, and since we went in the off-season, we practically had the beach to ourselves! We had a wonderful, relaxing, restful, romantic 4 nights in idyllic Sunset Beach. Our only regret was that we had to leave!

Room Tip: While I doubt you could choose a bad room here, Grand Rooms (there are 4) have larger rooms, larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We really appreciate your review and we thank you for spending your husbands birthday with us! We have a wonderful housekeeper and she takes pride in the rooms so thank you for commenting on that. And yes, Sunset Beach is beautiful so come back soon to enjoy it again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We drove down from Raleigh and just stayed one night for a little child-free getaway. It was a very charming place and worth the drive. The room was very quaint and comfortable and the inn had a nice romantic feel. We went off-season and the island was very quiet. The staff was exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Old Baldy room which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you so much and we are pleased that it was worth the drive for you!! We hope you will make the trip to the Inn many more times in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Everything was GREAT about our stay until we opened the door to the porch. The smell during low tide was awful. Since the property is located on the inter coastal waterway, the mud was thick and rank. It was such a disappointment as they have rocking chairs within a screened-in porch, to sit and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we are directly on the salt marsh and I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy the screened porch. Generally speaking, we are fortunate to have a nice breeze and that usually always helps with any marsh smells at low tide. We hope you had a nice visit otherwise. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We go to the Outer Banks from Atlanta each fall, and always looking for a neat place to "stop over" on the way back, because of the long drive. We booked a night here, and after arriving, we have decided to come back again, but stay longer, maybe making this spot a destination! This appears to be a family-run property, and everyone we met was very nice. They only have about 10 rooms, and the one we stayed in was very nicely decorated..... Not your typical hotel furnishings. We really enjoyed the screened porch overlooking the marsh, and at night, turned off the air, turned on the ceiling fan, and left the door to the porch open so we could sleep with the marsh sounds at night. Loved it! The breakfast in the morning was quite tasty, and included a turkey sausage/potato/cheese casserole and homemade banana nut bread. How nice to have something homemade! These folks really take pride in their property, and it shows! Short distance to the beach! We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gocoastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

What an awesome review! We do take pride in our property and we thank you for taking your time to post this review. Please do come back and stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here two nights and were very satisfied with the inn. It is not ocean front but is within walking distance of the beach. Very quiet and relaxing. Very clean. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were limited but had two homemade items each morning which were very good plus cereal, fruit, etc. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bird Island grand room. It is on the second floor at the far end of the building. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drenuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again soon! Thank you so much for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
747 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
523 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
23.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range: £75 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing