We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset Inn for a Beautiful Sunset!”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sunset Inn for a Beautiful Sunset!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently spent five nights at the Sunset Inn, in the Bird Island Room, complete with a mailbox! As you travel around the beach you will learn the significance of the mailbox, and the "Kindred Spirit." The room had a screened porch overlooking the salt water marsh. We were able to see all kinds of wildlife, while enjoying our evening wine. The swing was a wonderful place to sit and read. They have a very good selection of books to choose from. The sunsets were gorgeous!!! The staff was very helpful in meeting our needs. Parking spaces were no problem, and the room was exceptionally clean. We had an excellent vacation at he Sunset Inn. It is close enough to Myrtle Beach, Calabash, and Wilmington, that you can travel to these places very quickly. " Fibber Mc Gees Pub" was an excellent place to eat, while on the Island. Breakfast at the Inn was varied and very good. You had the choice of a wonderful homemade bread, cereal, and a hot dish. We will definitely stay at Sunset Inn on our next trip to beautiful Sunset Beach.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Grand Rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anncolemandvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We love our sunsets here, and are so glad that you do too!! We thank you for the sweet comments you left, its wonderful to know how much our guest enjoy their visits. Our housekeeper, Yesenia is amazing, and we are very lucky to have her. We are also thrilled to hear that the books and food kept you satisfied ;). We hope you visit again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    49
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
340
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We went down for a girls weekend over Labor Day and were not disappointed.
Upon arrival they showed us to our room and gave a brief overview of how all of the electronics (a/c, humidifier, and TV) work.
The staff accommodated my dietary restrictions without any difficulty. The staff also arranged for the pick-up of the bikes we rented for the weekend. I called a few weeks in advance of our stay to ask a question about the reservation. Besides answering my question, the individual on the phone also have me suggestions of things to do on the island.

The room was intended for disabled patrons (larger bathroom, ramp at door, etc). The Inn gave a discount on our room because the bathroom tiles were loose. We did not ask for a discount, nor did we ever notice any tiles that were loose. Again, just another example of their commitment to excellent service.
This is one of the best experiences I have had recently while staying at a B&B.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Sunset Inn to anyone who wants nice accommodations and friendly staff in this coastal community.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanDalton0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Wow, thank you for such nice remarks about our Inn. We strive for excellence, and will always be happy to accommodate dietary restrictions when we are aware of them :). We certainly appreciate your willingness to recommend us, and love having people visit us because someone has done so!! It makes us feel like we are accomplishing our goals of service and hospitality. Please come and visit again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We celebrated my birthday weekend with a two-night stay in the Vesta Room, a corner room. The room had all of the amenities I wanted: a nice screened porch overlooking the marsh, a decent sized bathroom with a shower and jetted tub, and a small refrigerator to hold our bottled beverages and ice packs. Cynthia was the hostess who warmly greeted us and showed us all the room amenities, including how to work the TV. The breakfast was satisfying with enough variety in hot and cold items to meet our needs. The place has a feel of gracious and welcoming Southern hospitality that even this born and bred North Carolinian recognizes as special.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cho33283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are so glad you had a great birthday!! Thank you for speaking so highly of our dear Cynthia, she is a gem, and we are very lucky to have her. We try very hard to continually show courtesy and hospitality and it is nice to know that it is recognized. Please come and see us again, Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We chose Sunset Beach on the basis of other TripAdvisor reviews, and it was a great choice. This was for a 5th anniversary trip. We were warmly greeted by Courtney, who showed us our room and pointed out all the features. (Great techy control of the room temperatures!). Stocked with a small fridge, nice TV with many channels, lots of towels (thank you!). But you won't be watching TV as the individual patio views are stunning to wake up to, overlooking the marshes. Andrea, the manager, served up tasty breakfasts with lots of variety, and warmth and charm. The biggest sell to me was the binder of information they have assembled for each guest room. Visitors will not be at a loss for any needed information. Restaurants, attractions, even what to do on rainy days (which are probably seldom). She also helped arrange a sunset kayak trip we took which was breathtaking. Our next-to-last day there, plans fell through for a dolphin excursion, but Andrea was at the ready with a great brief road trip suggestion to a nearby quaint town. I can't say enough about our visit there, only that we will most definitely be back. Thank you again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have excellent views. We stayed in the Scotch Bonnet room on the third floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments about the Inn and our staff., as always we truly appreciate it :).
It sounds like you had a wonderful anniversary and we hope you choose to spend many more here at The Sunset Inn with us. We try hard to make sure you have the information you need to have the best trip possible and we are always ready to help with scheduling of activities, hopefully next time your dolphin excursion will go off without a hitch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband, best friends and I were there the first weekend of august to celebrate my birthday and I cannot think of one thing to make it better! Everyone was friendly and knowledgeable. We rented bikes, they arranged it, they booked a twilight kayak tour for us (highly recommend). The breakfast was great. The view of the marshes was beautiful watching the tide go in and out. Saw turtle nests, awesome birthday! We will definately be returning!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyCS444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Sounds like you had the perfect birthday with family and friends. Thank you so much for choosing to spend it here at the Inn and in beautiful Sunset Beach. Glad you got to take advantage of all there is to see and do on the island. Next time I hope you can see the sea turtles hatching. It is a sight to see from anywhere from the end of July through October. We would love to see you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in the Hatteras Room. The room was a nice size. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also a nice size. It has a jacuzzi and and a shower with a sink and vanity in the bathroom. The room was well maintained. The management goes above and beyond to maintain the rooms. I loved the porch with a swing and two rocking chairs. Whenever I was not on the beach I was on the porch, swinging and reading. I saw a picture on the inn on line. I did notice the marsh. I came prepared with OFF and OFF clip on insect repellent, I didn't need any of it. As mentioned in other reivews the staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a little problem with the lock to the room. Even though it did work my husband was concerned it was on the verge of not working. They replaced the lock immediately. My daughter in law wanted to send us a gift to the room. When she called the Inn they were very, very helpful in making suggestions. I will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We appreciate your comments about the Inn and the staff. The Hatteras Grand Room is one of our most popular rooms and as you mentioned you can't beat that porch and view. It is a great place to sit and watch the sunsets every evening. We would love to have you visit us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Sunset Inn to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. We were looking for a place at the beach but didn't want to shell out the big bucks for a condo during season. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in the Old Baldy room which had a great view of the marsh. The continental breakfast was served buffet style which was nice as we chose to sleep in. The inn was just about 1/4 mile from the beach which was not very crowded considering it was prime vacation season. Overall it was a very nice place and I look forward to visiting The Sunset Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, General Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for such a special occasion as well. Old Baldy is a great room especially when you are celebrating an Anniversary. We are happy you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing