We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice comfortable rooms. Well equipped, with fridge and small kitchen sink. Sitting area and wonderful porch. Friendly host and lots of assistance about local surroundings. Easy walk to the beach.
Breakfast was disappointing. Definitely not up to par with B&B's we've stayed at elsewhere. Not even in line with what is provided at the chains like Hampton Inn etc... That lost a star in our rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briannnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad that you found the room to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry that the breakfast wasn't to your liking. We try to be very upfront about what we offer. Each day we have a hot dish and a fresh baked bread in addition to the other fare of cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins and fresh fruit. We do hope that you will come back again for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    49
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
340
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
344 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Sunset Inn is a really good choice if you are going to be in the area. The room was clean and looked just like the picture on their website. The staff was very helpful and freindly and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for a very nice review. We have tried hard to make sure we represent ourselves exactly as we are. We often get told that "it looks just like the pictures", and we take it as a compliment!! We do have a great staff that does a wonderful job with housekeeping, front desk aspects and making sure breakfast is wonderful!! We hope to have you come back for a visit soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really, how often do you have your own screened in porch that feels like an extension of the room when you stay at a B&B or other accommodation? Add to that a large room with 10' ceilings, lovely breakfasts with some homemade goodies, quiet,quiet,quiet and you have a very unique beach accommodation experience. We stayed three nights and enjoyed the easy walk to the beach where we found a unique over the sand walkway that my lady with a cane was able to negotiate without any difficulties at all. We stayed in the Magnolia room and had fun finding all of the "Magnolia" decorations in the room. The staff went out of their way to be sure that we were ok and pleased with our room. Somebody had a lovely vision that became a reality and brings joy to those who stay at The Sunset Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David p P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for a great review!! We are so glad that you enjoyed the Magnolia room, it is so pretty with the magnolia décor. Our screened in porches are a favorite of many of our guest, it really adds something to our inn. Sunset Beach has recently added a new walk way near the pier that is much more accessible, its such a nice addition. We hope to see y'all back for a visit soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were attending a wedding Memorial Day weekend at Ocean Isle and could not find accommodations there. We started looking online and found the Sunset Inn on Sunset Beach, the next island over from O.I. We booked immediately and were fortunate enough to get the Vesta Room--a wonderful, large, light and airy room.

This is not a house converted to a bed and breakfast--it was built to be a B & B, and the planning of the rooms shows that. Each has a private screened porch facing the marsh and a shared piazza with rocking chairs on the beach side. The rooms also feature remote controlled AC.

Breakfasts were excellent. Each day, one hot dish was available, plus a choice of cereal, yogurt, and bread. The staff is helpful and friendly, providing recommendations of restaurants and even the recipe for one of the breakfast dishes.

Sunset Beach (a block and a half from the Inn) is so much more relaxed and quiet than most beach resorts--even on Memorial Day weekend. We really had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are so glad your Memorial Day weekend here with us was a good one!! You're correct, we certainly aren't a typical B & B, but we strive to have that homey feel and we are so glad our guests enjoy the larger rooms and private screened porches. Our breakfasts here are wonderfully made by our terrific staff. We appreciate all the lovely compliment and we hope to see you soon for another visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I think I'll sound pretty much like everyone else--this is a lovely property that is great fun to visit. We've been visiting Sunset Beach for 26 years, but this is the first occasion we'd had to stay in the Inn. I really can't think of anything that would have made the trip better. The only problem we had (and it was a teeny tiny one!) was that our Internet connectivity wasn't great. That might have been because we stayed in a center room. Oh well, it was a weekend to relax, not fiddle with technology! We had great food, great service, and even great weather!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are glad you got a chance to visit us. After 26 years you already know what a wonderful place Sunset Beach is, and now you've had an opportunity to see what we are like. I'm glad we lived up to Sunset Beach's standard. I'm sorry the internet connectivity wasn't great, I'll see what we can do about that; but I'm glad it didn't hinder your enjoyment. We hope you'll have the occasion to stay here for a visit again sometime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had to go to a memorial service in Little River, SC and decided to extend our stay and see the area. I found Sunset Inn on Trip Advisor and so glad we chose it. It is located on a lovely little island similar to one I spent my summers on in Rhode Island but that was in the 1950's and this place so reminded me of that era with it's lovely charm of a beach community and a terrific beach a few blocks away. Just like going back in time and the staff is so friendly and helpful.
Cynthia and Andrea were great without being obtrusive. There are also some lovely restaurants and shops nearby. Hope to revisit sometime.

Nancy Lavoie
Venice, FL

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely. We stayed in the Smithville room which was so nicely decorated like a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napa626Venice_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Nancy, we are so glad that the trip worked out for y'all. Sunset Beach is a great place to visit, it is so nice and quiet; we are glad you found us!! Andrea and Cynthia are great and rest of our staff is pretty good as well. We hope that you are able to come back for a visit soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It is rare you see the true ownership of a hotel and desire of the staff for guests enjoyment. This place takes the cake. Wonderful weekend and just time to relax. Views and porch rock! Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Wow, what a beautiful review!! Thank you. We certainly do try to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed, your enjoyment is a top priority for us!! Please do come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing