We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Inn knows how to make you feel special”
Review of The Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Browns Summit, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sunset Inn knows how to make you feel special”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I have been visiting Sunset Beach for 20 years now....just a down home simple and laid back atmosphere that is safe and inviting. We always book a home for a week thru a local company. However we needed a quick weekend to get away from some clouds that we're hanging over us. Sunset Inn surely helped us accomplish this. We were fortunate to find the Magnolia room available for one night at a very reasonable rate. The staff met us at the door with open arms and welcomed us in as though we were long time friends. The room was superb...well appointed and super clean. Beautiful sound side view with a screened porch. Breakfast was served B&B style in the main foyer...very tasty! Though we were disappointed that we could not stay another two nights due to no vacancies, we were surprised that the staff went out of their way to help us find a room at another local hotel...Who does that?! Sunset Inn because they are classy and professional! If you have reason to be in the area, don't overlook this gem. We'll be back, I promise!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review!! We are so glad that we were able to accommodate y'all. Our Magnolia room is quite lovely and has a great view of the marsh (as all our rooms do)! We try hard to ensure that each of our guests have a great stay, clean rooms and wonderful breakfasts. Next time we hope that you will be able to stay for a longer visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    50
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
350
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, MD
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just returned from our first stay at the Sunset Inn and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet getaway in a beautiful setting. The Bird Island Suite is beautifully decorated with whimsical birdhouses, and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have found anywhere. Cynthia was welcoming and gracious, eager to please, and even made special preparations for our dairy free diet. We will look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs, you might not want the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pats4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We are sure glad you choose to come stay here with us and do hope that you will come back soon!! Our Bird Island Grand Room is a very beautiful room and many guests love how cheery it is! I'm so happy that the bed was comfortable, and that you got some good sleep! Cynthia is such a great person to have here and we are lucky to have her!! We are always happy to accommodate dietary restrictions, just let us know! We hope to have you back for another visit soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Sunset Inn and we had the most wonderful, relaxing stay there. This is our 2nd year in a row staying there and we couldn't be happier with our choice. Cynthia, one of the managers, was very welcoming and was very helpful and knowledgeable with answering our questions about places to eat and things to do.

We stayed in the Orleander room and it was perfect. The rooms are clean and spacious and the view looking out to the marsh is gorgeous. The evening sunlight that shines into the room mixed with the soft ocean breeze makes is very relaxing and quaint. In the morning, the inn provides its quests with a generous breakfast and they also have a large assortment of books and DVDs to enjoy in case you are in the mood.

I recommend the Sunset Inn to anyone who is interested in visiting Sunset Beach. It is very romantic for any couple of any age and you will not want to leave once you're there.

ENJOY!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review, its super. We are glad to hear that your trip was nice and relaxing!! Our Cynthia is certainly a gem, as is the rest of our staff, we are lucky to have them :). A lot goes into making sure that our rooms are fresh, clean, and lovely; I'm glad you felt that. We love that our guests enjoy coming back year after year, and we hope that you will continue the tradition!! Hope to see you for another visit soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Small town beach inns are often disappointing, but not the Sunset Inn. Our arrival was handled quickly, and all amenities and services were thoroughly explained. Since the inn sits on the mainland side of the island, the quiet relaxation we were seeking was delivered in abundance. Its a short walk to the beach yet you suffer none of the traffic noise and crowds if you want to be away from them. Breakfast included hot and cold selections. We were especially fond of the muffins and breads baked daily. Staff is experienced and knowledgeable of the area, so you are never at a loss for information. No elevator, so consider the effort to haul luggage upstairs if you select the upper floor. The room was large, the bed comfortable. We liked the screened private balcony for reading and relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for such a great review, I'm so glad we didn't disappoint you!! It is nice to be such a serene place for people to stay, and have so many return guests because of the quiet here. The beach is a quick 5 minute walk, and is quite lovely once you get there. We are so glad that the breakfast was to your liking, and that our staff was knowledgeable and helpful. We do have a lift for our handicap guests that goes up to our lobby level, but no elevator. We do hope that you will come back for a visit soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Inn May 30, 31 for my nephew's wedding (also held here) and had a fantastic time. Premises were exceptionally clean, safe, attractive\well appointed, and the staff helpful. The rooms were very quiet - even have air purifiers for those of us that like\need white noise to help sleep. Breakfast is provided and includes a hot entree which is homemade (and tasty).

The walk to the beach is about 2 blocks - not terribly far, but could be a negative if you have any walking diffculties. The Inn sits on the marsh\intercoastal and your room has an excellent view.

The area itself is family oriented with mainly homes, a few shoppes, a very nice pier area with bathrooms. I did not see any restaurants\bars on the island which i would have liked (no DUIs please!).

Long story short: We will be back to Sunset Beach and will definitely stay at The Sunset Inn again.

Room Tip: The end rooms are slightly larger and have a swing on their porch - you pay extra, but it might be w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGMcferrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for a terrific review!! The wedding was lovely! We do try hard to make sure that this is an exceptional place to stay. We have a fantastic housekeeper who does an amazing job keeping our rooms spotless. The rest of our staff is pretty wonderful too! Sunset Beach is a great family beach, it is very quiet. You do have to leave the island for most food and drinks, but that helps keep the island a bit more peaceful ;). We hope to see y'all back for a visit soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice comfortable rooms. Well equipped, with fridge and small kitchen sink. Sitting area and wonderful porch. Friendly host and lots of assistance about local surroundings. Easy walk to the beach.
Breakfast was disappointing. Definitely not up to par with B&B's we've stayed at elsewhere. Not even in line with what is provided at the chains like Hampton Inn etc... That lost a star in our rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briannnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad that you found the room to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm sorry that the breakfast wasn't to your liking. We try to be very upfront about what we offer. Each day we have a hot dish and a fresh baked bread in addition to the other fare of cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, oatmeal, bagels, English muffins and fresh fruit. We do hope that you will come back again for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Sunset Inn is a really good choice if you are going to be in the area. The room was clean and looked just like the picture on their website. The staff was very helpful and freindly and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSunsetInn, Front Office Manager at The Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for a very nice review. We have tried hard to make sure we represent ourselves exactly as we are. We often get told that "it looks just like the pictures", and we take it as a compliment!! We do have a great staff that does a wonderful job with housekeeping, front desk aspects and making sure breakfast is wonderful!! We hope to have you come back for a visit soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Beach
4.0 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
723 reviews
3.9 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
514 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
10.1 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
436 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express N. Myrtle Beach-Little River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Inn

Property: The Sunset Inn
Address: 9 N Shore Dr, Sunset Beach, NC 28468-4145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sunset Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Inn opened its doors to the beauty of the saltwater marsh and island life in June 2000. The honey-colored wood floors in the entrance and living area shine softly in the light that filters through the large windows. The Inn is not your typical B&B; it is larger with 14 rooms but still has that cozy atmosphere that makes folks feel right at home. An expanded continental breakfast is served each morning buffet style. You may choose to have your morning meal in the breakfast room or in the privacy of your own room. Each room has a different theme and decor with a king-size bed, wet bar, refrigerator, love seat and private screened porch with rockers. The four grand rooms each have a jetted tub plus a larger corner porch with rockers & porch swings, robes and IPod docks. Come experience the quiet comfort for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Sunset Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing