We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldn't recommend it for lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Delights

Island Delights
Ranked #4 of 62 Restaurants in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hand Pattied Burgers, Subs, Pitas, Salads, BBQ and all the fixins..Full HARD DIP ICE CREAM BAR and SOFT SERVE. 50s Style Dining, 2 antique Jukeboxes, kiddie rides and walls of Nostalgia..FUN...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wouldn't recommend it for lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

i found the place to be a bit disorganized and not very clean. i didn't eat but my husband got a burger and fries, which took 30 minutes and he said was horrible (but he did like the fries!) i happened to be in a shop next door when i got a FourSquare alert saying giving me a tip on dining at island delights: "horrible place don't eat there. food took 30 minutes!" LOL. got that about 15 minutes too late!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    96
    32
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Every time we travel to Topsail I am required to go to Island Delights. The ice cream is good but the part that I love are the old games and quarter machines. If you grew up in the late 70's early 80's and love those types of things this is the place to visit. There aren't many but they are fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank blb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

While shopping recently, we decided to grab a quick sandwich at the Island Delight. This is a unique sandwich shop and I have always found the food to be very good. However, it was very crowded this day and after the waitress took our order, we had to wait almost an hour before getting our food. How long does it take to make a hotdog. This shop needs extra help in the summer. If you want a quick lunch, plan to wait in the summer months. The food was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing! One of my favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my family travel here every summer and i look forward to going to this place every time. I was recently there and it was amazing as always. The ice cream is good but the burgers and fries are to die for. In fact all of the food is good but if you want to keep it like the true 50's style, put 25 cents in the juke box play a good oldie and get a cheese burger with fries. The only problem is it is a little small so make sure you go when it isn't busy.

Helpful?
1 Thank DrOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Great food - Outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I arrived at 2:30pm on Thursday, July 10th. The restaurant was very crowded and we managed to find the last available table. Montana was our waitress and was fantastic. Service was prompt and everything was correct. She smartly brought out the kids food first. The food was excellent and the milkshakes were amazing (as always). My best experience at Island Delights. Have been many times but Montana put it over the top.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Delights also viewed

Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
Surf City, Topsail Island
 
Surf City, Topsail Island
 

Been to Island Delights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing