We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, will go back!”
Review of Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We decided to take a trip to Topsail for our anniversary and stay at the Island Inn. When we originally called there was only a room with two queen beds available. The owners told us they would contact us if a one bed became available. When we arrived, we had a one bed room, much to our surprise! We were excited about it because we received a lower rate. The room was really clean and the Island Inn was really cute and charming. I loved that they provided a notebook of all the restaurants in the area with their opinions on the places and the days/times they were open. This was so helpful to us because we were only in the area for a short period of time and wanted to eat at only the good places! We will definitely go back! It was right across the street from the beach and we walked everywhere the whole weekend! Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Island Inn and we were so surprise of how clean and quiet the hotel is. A couple of week prior to going to the Island Inn, we were in a 4 stars resort in the Caribbean and let me tell you, the Island Inn was more clean, the towels were more spring smelling fresh, if you know what I meant. Onother thing is that the hotel is taken care by no other than the owner, so you really get first class treatment. We recommend this hotel, is really for couple or for the entire family. Suoer clean swimming pool and the beach is across the street. When you check in you will also find in your room 2 bottlesof water and a bag of popcorn. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN.

Room Tip: I think there is a military and veterans discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LevisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

For a spur of the moment trip to Topsail we were able to book a room at the Island Inn and were very satisfied with our stay. The room was very clean, no sandy floors or gritty showers, and we were pleased with the firm mattress and the quality of the appliances (TV, microwave, and refridgerator). The staff was pleasant and accommodating of our special needs. However, the best part of the Island Inn is the beach access right across the street making it easy to get on the beach and run back to your room if need be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wgk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed here recently for an overnight at the beach. The room was small but clean and the staff was nice. The pool was full of children, not a problem for me I raised 3, but the cigarette smoke was a bit overwhelming.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frank_27609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My friend and I jusr recently stayed at the Island Inn and had a wonderful experiance!
It was SOOO cute and had a large deck area and a picnic table for every room.
It almost felt as though you were staying in a nice rental house insted of an hotel.
The room was spotless, (nice up to date remodling!) air conditioning worked great, and the office staff were very friendly and cute to boot! :)
Great prices and location! Very easy to find... pool was small but very clean and we mostly had it all to ourselves! In JUNE!
Ocean was right across a very private street and very easily accesiable!!
Many, many places to eat etc, within walking distance. We highly reccomend "The Daily Grind". The lady there was so nice and our coffee was out of this world good!
We had a wonderful, wonderful trip and I for one, plan to go back in Septemeber! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Addsygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed several nights in a small, dark but very clean room with a picnic table outside our door that came in very handy for sorting shells and drying beach towels, etc. This is certainly not a luxurious place but does offer a sparkling clean pool in case you're not interested in walking across the street to access the beach and the beautiful ocean. The chairs on the community patio make a nice peaceful spot for sitting and reading outside too. Although there is no restaurant on the premises, there are several within walking distance and many more accessible with a short car ride. Internet access is free although it's speed and availability is 'spotty'.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We fell in love with Island Inn the first time we saw it. It depends on what your needs are for the beach, but for us this is Just Perfect. We are close to the ocean. They take Great Care of us. We love the fact it is simple and restful and clean. We have a place to wash the sand off our feet after a long walk. We have a picnic table to sort our shells. The owners are warm and friendly. Afternoon naptime or reading a book from Quarter Moon is quiet. I think they do a great job with upkeep. We love Island Inn. From there we can walk to the New York Deli for a great cup of coffee. We are so pleased to have
found Island Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Lovethesea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surf City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
138 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
149 reviews
21.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
9.1 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
408 reviews
20 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Wrightsville ...
#2 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 202 Goldsboro Ave, Topsail Island, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Price Range: £47 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn is located in the heart of Surf City on beautiful Topsail Island. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee, hair dryers, and flat screen TVs. We have a pool and are located directly across from the beach. Walk to pier, marina, shops and restaurants. Come stay with the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Surf City
Island Motel Surf City
Island Inn Surf City, NC - Topsail Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing