We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Island Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surf City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Island Inn for a few days. The hotel is located on one of the nicest beaches in North Carolina. It is a privately owned, very well maintained, and one of the cleanest places I have stayed at. For those that like the ocean, you will find yourself only a block away. And for those that are looking for a pool will find one on the property. They allow for small dogs so that is a big plus for those that do not want to kennel their pet.

If you plan on staying anywhere near this part of the coast should check here first for reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerDan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We love that our guests appreciate our efforts!! We could not make rooms bigger, so we added the big decks and porches with picnic tables to extend the room outside. We are always looking for ways to make our guests experience better!!
Next season we will add DVD players and more shelving! Our focus is our customers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me, my sister, her 13 year old son and my 10 year old son stayed here 5 days & 4 nights July 18th through the 22nd. We had a blast! So quaint! Everyone was really nice & helpful. The boys could walk to shops, food, ice cream places. It's close to everything! Beds were so comfortable! Clean! Loved meeting everyone staying there and having drinks with them outside the rooms on picnic tables! Great way to meet people and have fun. Beach is so close! Nice to have WiFi, table to eat on, fridge, storage. Really great place and nice price! We will definately be back!!!

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool, nice to be right there. Room was quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kady W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay!! We are a small older motel and did the best we could with what we had to work with. Love to hear when our guests appreciate our efforts! Plus we get really great guests and lifelong friendships have been forged :)
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Will definitely go back and stay with them. I loved the location and the rooms were clean. They had trouble with the free WiFi going out when it rained but they were always nice when I told them about it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you so much!! Yes, above ground utilities, salt air and rain just don't mix. Charter came out and replaced some corroded fittings at the pole and changed some in the motel too. Working better now!!!

Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here in June, 2013 after reading positive reviews. We rented 2 rooms - one, for myself and my husband to share and another for my daughter. We were aware that the rooms would not be next to each other, but didn't realize the way things were set up. Our room was tucked around the corner from the office, so though my daughter's room was only 2 away from ours, we could not see her room from ours. My daughter stayed with a friend in her room the first night, but felt extremely uncomfortable being in her room by herself, as there are picnic tables with ash trays right outside each door. Note...these ashtrays are literally inches outside of each door and they seem to attract a lot of smokers. In fact, there were very few times that we went to my teenage daughter's room, that she did not have to walk through smoke to get into the door. In addition, all of the smokers that gravitated outside of her room, were men. While possibly well meaning, they would try to strike up a conversation with her - which was extremely uncomfortable. The result was that she ended up staying at her friend's house on the sofa and barely used the room we paid for.

If the set up isn't a problem for you, the rooms were decent in size and clean. The beds were small and uncomfortable. The air conditioners in the windows were very loud and had trouble cooling the room.

The location was great but we will not be staying at the Island Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

I am sorry about your experience. If the men tried to talk to her it is because we get a lot of friendly people, not because we are an unsafe place to stay. There has never been any incident here to make anyone fearful and am sorry your daughter was concerned.

There are butt receptacles at every picnic table for every room so the smokers we do get have a place outside their room to smoke. They are not concentrated in one area and one area is not where all the smokers go.

If an air conditioner is not cooling well, we have to be told about it and will change it out. One can be operating fine for last guests and stop working so well come the next. We don't know if we aren't told.

Thank you for staying with us and perhaps rooms by the pool would suit you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Super cute inn. Room was very clean as was the bathroom. Perfect location for beach access and the pool was awesome for the little ones. Decor was cute and beachy. I will say that the rooms are a lot smaller in person than they appear to be on the website. The window ac unit is inadequate to cool the room down on a 90+ degree day. Other than that, I'd stay here again. But next time I'll bring a fan to help with air circulation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tianawana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

When it is 90 degrees and high humidity, about 72-72 degrees is the coldest the room will cool down. Also depends on how much the door is open. We have the same window units in our house, set to 72 and the thermometer reads 74. Can't cool down to the 60's, sorry.
When we redid this motel, we could not make the rooms bigger, which is why we put on the wide porch with picnic tables outside each room. This way the room was extended to the outdoors.
Thank you for staying and hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Have stayed at the Island Inn several times over the last few years and always had a very pleasant experience.

They provide basic, no-frills accommodations which, at the beach, is all I really need. Location is great. Right across the street from beach access and walking distance to restaurants and shops.

The rooms are very small and with the wood paneling quite dark. Could use a floor lamp or other lighting on the far side of the room. Bathrooms are tiny, but serve their purpose. The bathroom windows are glass block which is nice for privacy, but a curtain would be a nice addition. The morning sun can be blinding. Fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room are very helpful. Wifi is nice service, but was down during most of my stay - not a big deal really, just an observation.

The picnic table and chair in front of every room are a nice addition, but if you have smokers for neighbors, all that smoke will be hang in the air and drift your way. Not much you can do about that – has only been an issue this most recent visit.

You usually have to rent an entire house to get this kind of close beach access on Topsail, the Island Inn a rare find. It fits my needs perfectly for long weekends when a full house rental isn’t needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTravels919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Sorry about the lighting. Usually between the ceiling light and lights on headboard are enough. However, I know that some people do need more light. We are going to remove the paneling from back wall in the winter and have the top half of wall lighter color then. Same color as wall window and door are on.That is why there is wood on only 1 wall.
I do hope you come back to see us. We are making improvements every year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our family has stayed at the Island Inn two summers in a row. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is delightful and it's right across from the beach at Topsail. There are really good restaurants within a short walk from the Inn. We highly recommend The New York Corner Deli and Daddy Macs. If you don't need a lot of fancy extra's, this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famseatrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topsailislandinn, Owner at Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

I apologize for not responding sooner! I thank you for posting a review and tickled pink that you were happy with staying here! All of us here try our best to make guests comfortable, relaxed and welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surf City
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
137 reviews
20.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
21.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Jacksonville, NC
9.1 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
404 reviews
18.8 mi away
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
#3 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Address: 202 Goldsboro Ave, Topsail Island, Surf City, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Surf City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Surf City
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn is located in the heart of Surf City on beautiful Topsail Island. All rooms have microwaves, refrigerators, in-room coffee, hair dryers, and flat screen TVs. We have a pool and are located directly across from the beach. Walk to pier, marina, shops and restaurants. Come stay with the best! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Surf City
Island Motel Surf City
Island Inn Surf City, NC - Topsail Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing