We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sylva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moonshine Creek Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Neat campground”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is a neat little campground tucked away in the North Carolina hills near the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Yes, the only internet connection is on the porch of the office but considering the location it is surprising they have any internet available! We stayed there 2 nights so we could visit the national park. The office provided us with directions for their favorite hike to a waterfall inside the national park. It was an easy & beautiful autumn hike. Even though the park was packed for fall color sightseeing, this hike had very few people on the trail. We have a 40 ft 5th wheel pulled by a full-bed crew cab pickup. Big rigs do fit into this cozy campground. There is a nice little mountain stream that meanders through the campground.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2togoNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    26
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
75
57
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I found this campground through the Cherokee website and it sounded perfect. My best friend and I were planning a last minute mini vacation just for the weekend and I wasn't sure about the place just because we had never been there. The lady that I spoke with when making the reservations was very friendly and encouraging about the property and she was correct. The place is beautiful!! It seems so secluded but you're only about 10 minutes from Waynesville and 15 minutes from Sylva. We took a trip into Cherokee one afternoon and it was not very far at all! We stayed in one of the Camping Cabins and it was perfect! Just like tent camping except we didn't have to fight with the tent! We did all our cooking outside and enjoyed the mountains from our swing on the front porch! We had a wonderful stay and plan on returning in a few weeks!!

Room Tip: Camping Cabins are great - all the fun of tent camping, without the tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nana1
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

A comment about Steve's review. All campgrounds have quiet time. Moonshine's is at 10:00 pm as most campgrounds. As far as going shirtless there is a reason for this. I don't know you body type but some people have bodies which want to make you yell to PLEASE PUT ON A SHIRT YOUR SCARING MY KIDS. Just joking on the yell. Seriously we camped accross from nice folks but believe me they should have put on a shirt. The trout pound is a work in progress give them time it will be great. If you want a wild place with a bar, no shirts and bad singing please stay at Sugar Mill Creek in GA. They have a bar which is right on the property. NO DUIs.

Room Tip: No pool, nor fitness center, cabins are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayden06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This campground was recommeded by a co-worker. We are tent campers; Me, my wife, and two boys (5 and 6). We rented one of the large camping cabins; #7. This campground is amazing. Quiet, clean, and close to just about everything. The camping cabins are essentially a dryer version of tent camping; very clean with one outlet for power. The kids loved the bunk loft. There was plenty room for two medium size dog crates too. The campground is pet friendly; I think everyone has one or two dogs. Oh, and most of the towns around Moonshine Creek are very dog friendly; especially Waynesville. The bathrooms are very clean. There is plenty of hot water in the shower house. The train comes through about twice a week; not early though so you can still sleep in. The kids LOVED that. the creek is perfect for the kids to splash around; chasing salamnders and crawfish. The owners are really freindly; as is everyone working there. The fishing pond was just completed as we were leaving. I look forward to coming back again. This was one of the best camgrounds I have ever been to. There are some really great tent spots that overlook the creek. The RV sites look great too. Once we make the move to a travel trailer Moonshine will be one of out first stops. Best vacation in years!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We came here under the idea that there was trout fishing on site or nearby, which there was a pond that wasn't even filled before we left on the 4th of July, when they planned to stock it who knows. They claim to be able to fish in the stream, the stream is only 4"-6" deep and would be lucky to find fish in it larger enough to take a hook much less eat for dinner.
The so called WIFI hotspot is at the office so if you want to pack up your PC and walk or drive to the office and surf the web have at it but, don't even entertain the idea of using your PC at your site.
The next thing is the "Close to many attractions" yeah, if after you drove a few hundred miles to get here your idea of vacation was drive all over town to look for something to do then again this is your place because nothing we inquired about was less than a 15 minute drive so if you’re in a motor home or don't have secondary transportation NOTHING is walking distance.
Next...hey guys, if you enjoy the outdoors in the summer and enjoy catching a tan as I do going shirtless off your site is against the dress code(Which is nowhere on the website) also for those who like to play music, understand you are in a retirement home/trailer park so apparently quiet hour is all day.
And 1 last thing, if you have a 50 amp system, no problem they will be free to tell you after you are set up in a 30 amp site you don't need your 2nd A/C system but, even on a 30 amp site whatever you do don't use a surge protector because they don't have consistent power due to an outdated power grid so your unit will cut power to save your rigs electrical.
All in all, this was a huge waste of our money as far as we are concerned and all but ruined our vacation by coming here and we are leaving 4 days earlier than planned to try and salvage what we can of it.
Oh and I almost forgot, no refunds if you leave early so do pay for more than you are willing to lose if you take the chance on staying here.

To make it simple go to this part of their site "http://www.moonshinecreek.com/tour/" if you and your party are in the same company as the couple in the 2 row far right picture you'll be happy here. If not look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Moonshine Creek Campground, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Moonshine Creek is a special type of Campground. Our campers come to listen to the creek, enjoy nature and the relaxed atmosphere. We understand that it is not for everyone and we do not advertise ourselves as a resort style campground. Our location is great for people and families that enjoy outside activites, the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, fishing, river rafting, etc. and the fish in the creek are small native trout with the pond now full of water we will be stocking it in the near future. We don't allow loud music at any time of the day it is just not the type of campground that we want to be and we feel it is important to respond to our campers complaints. We hope you find a place in the mountains and come back and enjoy this beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had two campsites in this beautiful campground. The owners were very helpful in getting us a good side by side location for two tent sites. The location of tent sites is great as it is just next to downstream creek. So a nice sleep in the night is for sure. The washrooms were kept clean and are with hot showers.

Only reason for not giving 5-stars is few things, which dont matter a lot but still can be good suggestion, The showers and washroom area for tent sites is a bit away from them. They have one single toilet though near tent site, but if tent sites are full, then you have go a bit away to the main showers area. And to some extent the camp sites are very close to each other.

The wifi is limited to the registration lobby area and can be used even in few nearing tent sites.

Overall, it has very good amenities as listed, friendly staff and a very family friendly surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhishek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This campground is beautiful. Very very clean restrooms. Had a site right along the creek, it was gorgeous. The owners will do anything for you, they are so friendly and helpful. I was treated like a family member while I was at Moonshine Creek. Thank you to Jim, Jim B, and Dana!! This is a one of a kind campground - nicest I've ever been to!

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank stephbigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sylva
10.8 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
141 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn Sylva
Quality Inn Sylva
#4 of 6 in Sylva
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
273 reviews
19.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
7.3 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonshine Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonshine Creek Campground

Property: Moonshine Creek Campground
Address: 2486 Dark Ridge Road, Sylva, NC 28779
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Sylva
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Sylva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool, Quiet, Secluded Back To Nature Camping with Rushing Stream and Trout Fishing. Beautiful setting just off the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Great Smoky Mountains. FHU RV sites, Tent sites and Cabins. Camp Store, Heated Bathhouse, Fire Rings, Cable TV, and WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing