We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great camping trip at Moonshine Creek”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sylva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moonshine Creek Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Trail, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Another great camping trip at Moonshine Creek”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I have camped at Moonshine Creek several times in the last few years and we have never had a bad time. On this visit we where with our camping club Tearjerkers which is a teardrop camper enthusiast club. Our visit was in May 2013 we had roughly 15 teardrops and with a large group like this it can sometimes be difficult dealing with campgrounds but the owners and staff were so accommodating. They gave us use of their meeting place/pavilion for holding our meals and other activities we had planned for the weekend. They had cleaned it up very nice for us also there our tables and chairs a kitchen couple of refrigerators a sink and two gas grills that had propane in them for cooking. As on our other visits the bath house is always clean and has plenty of hot water. This campground is situated in a great location you're very close to the town of Silva, Waynesville and not too far from Bryson city or Asheville. There are some seasonal campsites with I'm assuming retirees but they were very friendly to us as always. The majority of the campsites are somewhat close together but most of our teardrops are rather small so we had plenty of room in our sites plus we are a club and enjoy being together. In some of the other reviews about moonshine Creek it was mentioned that the electricity would go out from time to time, that has never happened to us when we have been there. It was also mentioned in a few reviews about a train nearby yes there is a train it does come by, from what I recall it was only one or two times it's a rather small train with just a couple of cars and is traveling very slowly, it was kind a need to see it but it is up on the hill side and does not run through the campground it is on the perimeter of the campground. Our group enjoyed the trip so much last year that we will once again be holding our Spring fling in May 2014 at Moonshine Creek Campground!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    26
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
67
56
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed during mid October in the cabins. We were completely satisfied. The cabins come with fans and heaters. The large ones include a table and chairs inside. The employees are extremely friendly with helpful fishing spot advice and always willing to chat or help. The wifi doesn't reach far from the office/store but there are plenty of rocking chairs and outlet on the porch. I read the reviews before making the reservation and was nervous on the way, but once we settled in I felt so comfortable. Although it is mostly retired rv travelers staying, they walk their dogs in the mornings and are humble, waving and saying "good morning." I loved this campground, it was my first one to visit and I will gladly return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlmillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is getting to be an annual trip for us to Moonshine Creek. We had another great trip! The Campground is so peaceful and quiet (except for the sound of the creek) and is located in the mountains surrounded by trees. We brought our camper and we also came with friends that were tent camping. Both sites were great and the grounds were as beautiful and clean as we remember. The tenters bathrooms have been updated, right behind the office they were brand new and the bathhouse was also nice and clean and heated with hot showers. Our friends were in what the owners call the Chapel Tent Site it was huge and overlooked the pond and the creek we really enjoyed sitting by the campfire. You are also close to an entrance to the Parkway and the staff knows the area really well. We were given maps, and directions to some nice waterfalls and hikes. Everyone here is really friendly, we were next to a couple that had problems with their truck and the owner lent them his truck to go into town to get the part! Once again we had a great time and so did our friends, can't wait till next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent0154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We live in E TN and camp all over the Smokys. We were really disappointed in this campground. It was very crowded and junky. There is no privacy in the RV sites and the tent sites are small compared to most campgrounds. And most of the tent campsites you have to park in a parking lot and carry all of your gear to the site. There is also an active train track running through the campground and while children might find it neat it is not conducive to a relaxing camping trip. Most of the laundry was out of order but their facilities were clean. Both the hook ups and the owners are not reliable. There are too many other better choices in the area to settle for this campground.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CampGalJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Owner at Moonshine Creek Campground, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is very important to us that all of our campers needs and concerns are addressed. After several conversations with this couple it was clear they were not going to be happy so I will address each item mentioned separately. The campground is busy in October it is our peak season but it is very peaceful and beautiful all of the time. Moonshine Creek is not junky at all it is quite the opposite extremely clean and well kept. We have tent sites that are walk in sites and we have tent sites that you can park you car at the site. Many are very private and this couple was on a private site that they could park their car at. The Train does not run through the campground it is located above and is charming and not a distraction at all, it did not run once while this couple was visiting. A rushing creek runs through the campground. We have 4 dryers and 4 washing machines in the laundry. One dryer was waiting for a new timer at the time of their visit, all other machines were in working order. Jim and I are very attentive to all of our campers just read what other campers have to say!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

While this was our 1st time here, it won't be the last....it was pretty close to a perfect week! From check-in until the day we pulled out (in spite of some rain) nearly all the campers were very friendly, including the owners who were also accommodating & available. I was surprised by how beautiful the wooded surroundings were, and found the sound of the water washing over & around the stones in the stream as it flowed through the lower camping area soothing in the evening. I enjoyed numerous relaxing, lovely walks with our dog - remember your camera! You are surrounded by quaint interesting small towns, are near the Smokies, and even a Casino...you have no excuse for boredom nor do you need an excuse for simply relaxing and doing absolutely nothing at all! Moonshine's location offers the best of both worlds -- Beauty , peace, social interaction and plenty to do!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtraveler1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for 4 years now and I dont want to stay at any other campground. We stay right on the creek and we love being nestled in the mountains away from the sounds of traffic. The staff is always so helpful and will go out of there way to help you. If you want a beautiful pieceful place to camp this is the place. We will be back next year. Thanks again Dana & Jim.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranquin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great Campground with a very nice creek that runs down the center of the campground is absolutely gorgeous and makes the most beautiful sound as it flows over the rocks The staff was very friendly, The campground quiet.
We recently enjoyed a week in one of Moonshine Creek's 'camping cabins'. These cabins, which greatly resemble your typical backyard shed, they have no bathrooms or kitchen in them but are a nice option to tent camping. Though small in perimeter size they have plenty of height as I am 6’5 which was a plus, also three windows for ventilation and for hearing stream at night. The cabin was comfy and included a double-bed and two twin mattresses in a loft area. All mattresses were covered in plastic, so be sure to bring sheets and blankets with you. Cabins also had a small portable electric heater, one outlet so a small outlet strip is good to bring for phone, camera, etc charging. Outlet capacity is limited so no heavy power usage can be done as it will trip circuit breaker, one ceiling light, a table, 2 folding chairs, a rod for hanging clothes/small open closet. On the outside is a picnic table to cook on and eat (we brought a two burner propane stove with us), a small porch and porch light, water faucet, and a fire ring.
The camp area was well maintained and everyone we met during our stay was pleasant. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. This was our second visit. If you're expecting a five star hotel like experience, it is far from it, if you are used to backcountry camping you will enjoy it. Shower facilities are typical of what we have experienced in most state parks, dated but kept reasonably clean. Showers were always hot. There was also a laundry facility in the center.
Plenty to do in the area for everyone in the family. Close to the Great Smoky Mountains, Cherokee, and a mile from the entrance to the Blue Ridge Pkwy.. We'll be back.

Room Tip: I put sleep quality average because bed was small for me as I am 6'5 and was sharing it with my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Destry-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sylva
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
266 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
9.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
584 reviews
7.7 mi away
Blue Ridge Inn
Blue Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Sylva
62 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelowes Motel
Travelowes Motel
#20 of 25 in Maggie Valley
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonshine Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonshine Creek Campground

Property: Moonshine Creek Campground
Address: 2486 Dark Ridge Road, Sylva, NC 28779
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Sylva
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Sylva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cool, Quiet, Secluded Back To Nature Camping with Rushing Stream and Trout Fishing. Beautiful setting just off the Blue Ridge Parkway in the Great Smoky Mountains. FHU RV sites, Tent sites and Cabins. Camp Store, Heated Bathhouse, Fire Rings, Cable TV, and WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing