We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpringly good vegetarian food”
Review of City Lights Cafe

City Lights Cafe
Ranked #11 of 69 Restaurants in Sylva
Price range: US$1 - US$13
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are a casual counter-service cafe with local and organic selections, as well as gluten-free and dairy-free options. We serve local draft beer, wine by the glass and bottle as well as locally roasted coffees and espresso drinks. We have a pet-friendly patio and free wifi.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surpringly good vegetarian food”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

In town for business, i wanted something different that the typical burger and beer joint. City Lights did not disappoint. I had a delicious vegetable curry soup and whole wheat penne pasta with oil and wilted fresh spinach. Perfectly done, it was tasty, filling and reasonably priced. The big plus was a great selection of local beers on tap and in bottles. Definitely will be back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobKarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Well Done Cafe Food”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This restaurant is on the bottom floor of the City Lights Bookstore a block off of Main Street. Parking is limited immediately around the Cafe. More parking can be found back on Main treet, but it is an uphill walk from there to the cafe. The lunch menu includes such items as crepes, panini sandwiches, wraps, salads, soup and a nice collection of desert bakery items. We had a well prepared and tasty ham and cheese panini with a mild spicy feta sauce that came with a side of tri-colored tortilla chips with very good homemade salsa. They also serve a good locally branded coffee and have a relatively small, selective wine list intended more (I think) for their dinner menu. Service was friendly - but, it does include some self-service. It has a neighborhood, regular customer feel to it. Restroom was clean and well appointed. This appears to be a nicely run independent small business and has the advantage of a bookstore right above it from which you can access the cafe. I recommend this to anyone interested in a reasonably priced, well prepared, somewhat creative casual lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Mountain, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crepes are the YUM!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband ordered strawberry cheesecake and I ordered banana/nutella. HOLY COW! These are the best crepes I have ever put in my mouth! The coffee was awesome too, and if I remember correctly, it comes locally from Asheville. (Coffee connoisseur here.)

The ladies that morning were friendly and the atmosphere is very laid back. A place to enjoy! FYI: Pet friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a quaint little restaurant that has excellent food that has a different flair. I've eaten there several times and each time the food has been tasteful and well presented. It is not a service restaurant, but you order at the counter and they bring you the food. They have a little area for wine and talking. They also have lattes, etc.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bailey1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor meal, over priced”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I had lunch today with my family at City Lights. I ordered quiche and tomato bisque soup and my grandaughter ordered a grill cheese with salad and a cup of soup. Everything is self service including getting your own drinks (you have to wait for the ice). They bought a bowl of soup for my grandaughter The soup was inedible as it was so salty. The dressing for the salad was lemon juice and vinegar, not very appetizing. The seating was crowded and tables were uneven. The place was so noisy we couldn't hold a coversation. Live music was pleasant and the book store upstairs is great. Overall, disappointing meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ndavis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Lights Cafe also viewed

Sylva, Jackson County
Dillsboro, Jackson County
 
Dillsboro, Jackson County
Sylva, Jackson County
 
Sylva, Jackson County
Sylva, Jackson County
 

Been to City Lights Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing