We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Hotel”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sylva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Found this gem of a hotel in the mountains, it's only been open 6 months. Great place! Rooms are a little small,but very clean. Comfortable beds, and a very friendly staff. It's in the middle of town and is across the street from a 24 hour Walmart and shares a parking lot with a Sonic. What more can you ask for. Several restaurants close by as is the downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Drannycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is less than a year old, so everything in the public areas, and the rooms, are in top shape. Nice breakfast in a cheery and spacious dining area. It is located on a hilltop overlooking an intersection, so if you are not familiar with the area, keep your head up to find it.

I think the employees make this property shine! The front desk folks always greet you when you enter the building, and seem to genuinely care about your comfort. One employee really went out of her way when we asked for directions to any scenic vista in the area. She gave thourough directions and then wrote them down carefully so that we would not get lost. She really made our day and our stay just that much better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimsydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a new Comfort Inn, and they did a nice job with it. Nice breakfast to start the day, and I would say their breakfast was much better than the average hotel. Excellent work out facility with nice equipment. A nice comfortable gathering space on the main floor too. A bit pricey for the area, but it is new and as we all know, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Really no issues with road noise because this hotel sits on top of a hill, and the street level is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent Saturday night at this new hotel, was VERY PLEASED with the staff from the moment we walked in the door. Very friendly, wanted to make sure if we needed anything, they were just a call away. Rooms all have great views of the surrounding mountains. Beds and linen most comfy. Breakfast in the morning was more than expected. Offered the usual waffles, in two flavors, danishes, bagels, biscuits, gravy, eggs, bacon, sausage, even chicken patties. We will be staying here instead of the Holiday Inn from now on!!! KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB!!!

Room Tip: All good not a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChrissysBluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed here for several days on an emergency basis. I was not hopeful of getting a room during the week leading to July 4th, but the hotel seemed to have many rooms available. This may have been because the pool for this new hotel is not yet open. I understand that the plans are for an indoor salt water pool. My quoted rate of $79 was much less than the $107 rate I was quoted several months earlier for another family member, presumably due to the delayed pool opening.

As with other travelers, the front desk and breakfast staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The hot breakfast items change daily and include such things as egg and cheese omelets, sausage gravy and biscuits, French toast, chicken patties, link sausage and the thinnest bacon I have ever seen. The construction workers who frequent the hotel were very appreciative of the breakfast. However, the housekeeping staff needs some training. One day my room was not cleaned at all, and every day I had to ask for sufficient towels for the room. Other days there was lack of attention to details, e.g., tissue, sheets and coffee were not replaced. Some of the housekeeping staff was new, that may account for the omissions.

I expected décor that would acknowledge the mountain setting, but it was quite modern with colors that included lime green. The dining area is spacious but nonetheless can get crowded at peak hours. There is a patio off the dining area but I noticed only one table for those who want to brave the morning chill. I wish that the fitness center were open 24/7 since the front desk is always manned; the center closes at 10 p.m. It is nice to have two fast computers available off the lobby, with a printer. Please note that there is no entry to the lobby from the stairwell.

Going upstairs, as someone else noted the one elevator is VERY slow. The rooms have microwaves and fridges, set in a cabinet with two small drawers. Other than the closet, that is the only storage. The fridge does not have a freezer, and the microwave is located so low that one has to squat to use it. I like that the beds hold both soft and firm pillows, for the traveler's choice.

The hotel is well located off the main highway to Western Carolina University. There is a Walmart across the street and several restaurants are convenient. Despite the noted deficiencies I will be staying here again if I have need of a hotel, because the hotel is a standout for the choices in the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank karofl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice now, and was very pleased both times. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. This area has been in desperate need of a great hotel, and finally it has one!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed your hotel. Not only was it new and clean, but your staff was also pleasant and friendly. The location is very convenient for anyone wanting to explore western North Carolina and needing a centrally located hotel. Keep doing what you're doing!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sylva
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Sylva
69 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
15 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1235 E Main St, Sylva, NC 28779-5857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Sylva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sylva
Price Range: £60 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Sylva, North Carolina's premiere hotel. We are nestled in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains and offer classic southern charm combined with modern feel. We are the closest hotel to Western Carolina University. And just walking distance from a plethora of dinning options. Our award winning staff are here to exceed your expectations with world class hospitality. We look forward to having you stay with us here at The Comfort Inn of Sylva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing