We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stromboli and cannoli”

Mama's Pizza Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Tarboro
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Stromboli and cannoli”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Mama's has thrived in Tarboro since the early 1980s, and with good reason: the food is excellent and reasonably priced. The menu is extensive, but I rarely get past the listing for stromboli, which is my favorite dish here and has been for years. Whenever I return to town I order it. There's just something about the delicious cheese in combination with the pepperoni and ham and marinara sauce that makes it special. It still tastes as good as I remember from years ago. We indulged in dessert afterward: cannoli drizzled with a chocolate sauce. That, too, was delicious. Beer is European-restaurant cheap ($2 for a draft mug and $7 for a pitcher -- yes, please!). The total bill for two -- meal, drinks, and dessert -- was less than $30. Every visit to Tarboro includes a stop at Mama's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcInSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheesesteak!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The pizzaria is a great hangout for family and friends and they have a bar with TV for the game watchers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Q G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Freezer Burned Frozen Seafood in a great Marinara Sauce”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Had dinner on New Year's Eve at Mama's of Tarboro (the restaurant is located in Rocky Mount, NC). The salad was good and very fresh. The calamari was frozen and tough but the marinara sauce was great. The Shrimp Marinara consisted of freezer burned frozen shrimp in a delicious marinara sauce. We have been going to this restaurant since the time it was only located in Tarboro. Shrimp Marinara used to be my favorite menu item but no more. If you avoid any seafood dish, you will probably be pleased with this restaurant. When I told the waitress about the shrimp, she did offer to bring another dish. When I told the cashier about the freezer burned shrimp, she just sang out "Sorry". For a safe bet at this restaurant, order a sub or pizza.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCCUfootballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of our staples”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Try the Penne Alla Norma. Excellent! Some of their dishes are just average, but many of the pasta specialties are to die for!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank strngelitlgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Not just a pizza place”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Best Italian food in the area. Not far from the Holiday Inn Express Williamston where I stay.

Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama's Pizza Italian Restaurant also viewed

Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
 
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
Tarboro, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Mama's Pizza Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing