We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maropeng Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Upon arrival at Maropeng Hotel- we got just what we expected. Good service and a beautiful room overlooking the the most gorgeous savanna.

The dinners where nothing to brag about, however the breakfasts where good.(Cant go wrong with breakfast I suppose).

Very tranquil place- surrounded by nothing!Perfect for a short romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Hi Virginia

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are appreciated. If you would like to contact me personally to discuss the food, I would appreciate this feedback - tonyr@maropeng.co.za

We look forward to welcoming you back to Maropeng again, in the near future

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

Great service (unintrusive and affable), great food (different menu on each night), wonderfully comfortable (both bed and bathroom). All rooms come with semi-private view out onto Magaliesberg Mountains.

No criticisms about this place.

We took advantage of the package deal which included half board and a combined ticket to the Maropeng Centre and Sterkfontein Caves.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments, they are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Tony Rubin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Last Year myself and partner stayed at the Maropeng Hotel for 1 night. This was a very nice stay and we would definitely go back. The service was fantastic.

The rooms are beautiful and specious, very clean and well decorated.
We had dinner and breakfast in the Restaurant and it was simply delicious.

The views from the rooms are stunning and the atmosphere is so peaceful.

Overall a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Thanks very much for your positive review of our Hotel.

Your comments assist us in supporting our Staff, to ensure Guest satisfaction.

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Rooms are spacious & well maintained. Staff very friendly. Great views of the Magaliesberg mountains Surrounding the hotel. Very serene you can hear the birds singing in the morning. Breakfast was good but can be improved. Bed seemed to be old as it was creaking. Overall had an awesome girls weekend away with my sister, surrounded by simplicity of nature

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SA_Niki_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Many thanks for your response to Trip Advisor, your comments are taken very seriously. Would you please let me know what room number you occupied, so that the necessary action can be taken regarding the creaking bed. Please revert to me on tonyr@maropeng.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend at the hotel and found it to be a nice little place just outside of Johannesburg. It is definitely worth checking if you are looking for a peaceful place to recharge your batteries. The location is great with stunning views of the Magalies mountain range from the room. Chech in earlier so as to enjoy the sunset, it is absolutely breathtaking!
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful which made the stay there that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vido934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed 1 night, got there for sundowners, amazing views. We didn't like the location of the room and without hesitation we where moved to a room we preferred. Enjoyed some wine on our private patio with a view and took in the silence.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My fiancé and I spent a lovely evening at Maropeng last weekend – the view from the bedroom really is fantastic! The setting and style of the hotel are superb – modern but still with an African flavour. The staff were super friendly and attentive, and helped us set up the Wi-Fi in our room (which is free).

We only have two points of concern:
1. There really aren’t any ‘pop in’ restaurants in the area, or even shops for that matter, so dining has to be done in the hotel restaurant. The food is good but not fantastic and you have to order the set menu that is a full 3 courses. We really would have liked an option to just order one light meal.
2. All the rooms are built on the edge of a hill for the view, but there is an unofficial pedestrian path that passes right in front of the rooms. We would suggest closing it off to maintain the privacy of the suites.

We had done the evolution tour at the Visitor Center before and really enjoyed it (but wouldn’t necessarily do it twice).

The fact that the hotel is less than an hour from Johannesburg and part of the Magalies Meander makes it the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiehahnAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
7.6 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
7.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
7.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
345 reviews
7.8 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
530 reviews
7.2 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maropeng Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maropeng Boutique Hotel

Address: R400 Just off the R563, Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Price Range: £80 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maropeng Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Maropeng', is a Setswana word meaning 'returning to the place of origin' and this was kept in mind when the interiors of the hotel were designed.The four elemental forces of nature, earth, fire, water and ice that kick-started our planet some 3-billion years ago feature prominently in the overall look. The 24-bed boutique hotel is a five minute walk from South Africa's premier tourist attraction and 10 km (6 mi)from the Sterkfontein Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maropeng Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing