We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Where to start......This hotel is simply magnificent. Beautifully situated with never ending unspoilt views, exceptional food and the best service I have experienced in a long time.Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who went out of their way to assist me in organising a "surprise" visit, placing gifts and notes on the bed and whisking bags from the car to the room without my partners knowledge!. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and great attention has been given to the design of the entire hotel to reflect the natural surroundings in which it is situated. Each room has its own patio, a great place to watch the sunset, breathe and let the hustle and bustle of everyday life melt into the Hills - We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Jacquiec6

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review of the Maropeng Boutique Hotel.

Your comments are truly appreciated, and will be passed on to the Hotel Personnel.

I hope to 'welcome you home' again, in the near future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    62
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
33
119
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful surprise. Having visited Maropeng visitor centre earlier this year, the hotel immediately came to mind when I wanted to plan a date night with my wonderful wife. The online booking system was swiftm easy and extremely user friendly with confirmation text message and e-send within seconds after having paid the low deposit of just R95. (+-$10) .
With the special discount applicable to bookings within 24 hours before check in, I paid a littke more than R1000 (+-$100).The price included dinnerm bed and breakfast.
The staff were ever friendly and the room clean with everything in good working order. Decor matched well with the Maropeng feel and theme.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coenraad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Coenraad B

Many thanks for letting us know of your experience reserving accommodation at the Maropeng Hotel.

I am pleased that you found the process easy to follow and that my Staff were prompt and attentive in their interactions with you.

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Well priced: an hour from Johannesburg and you're in beautiful completely unspoiled countryside. Convenient to the Sterkfontein Caves and the museum at the Cradle. Good food, extremely comfortable rooms and excellent service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Kenleigh

Your comments on Trip Advisor were truly appreciated.

I have shared them with the Hotel Staff, who really appreciated the feedback

We look forward to 'welcoming you back home' in the future

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We attended a very interesting and informative evening at the Maropeng Hotel on Saturday the 16 November. What a fascinating young man Brendon Billings is extremely knowledgeable. Although it was a long evening Brendon kept us all involved and made it very interesting. We started with a great meal compliments to the chef, not only was the food well presented it was also very tasty. I had the carpaccio for starters, lamb for mains and then the chocolate dessert. We will definitely be visiting again, cant wait for the next event.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Graca

I am truly pleased that you enjoyed your "bone detectives" event at Maropeng, as well as the Hotel.

I have passed your comments on to the Staff, who were quite excited to read of your experience

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary by dining at the Maropeng Boutique Hotel and staying the night. We included a tour of Sterkfontein Caves and the Maropeng Centre.

Not only are these tourist attractions in the heart of the Cradle of Mankind extremely interesting and impressive, but our adventure was elevated to unexpected heights due to the personal care and exceptional service we received everywhere we went.

The actual booking process was a breeze and we were informed that there was a major event planned on the day of our arrival in celebration of South Africa’s Heritage Day. The staff therefore advised us to plan our tour of Sterkfontein Caves late in the afternoon so that we would check in at the Maropeng Hotel after 5pm to avoid the inconvenience of 4000 visitors crowding the venue. We appreciated this excellent advice, as the marquees and stages around Maropeng when we arrived suggested that the centre had indeed been packed to capacity during the day.

At reception we were greeted by Kefilwe who had tried to contact us several times during the afternoon to make sure that we were on our way and that all was in order. Shortly thereafter we received a phone call from Magel, the marketing manager, to make sure that all was in order and wishing us a good stay. Ali escorted us to our beautiful room and made sure that we were comfortable and aware of all the amenities. Later, as we enjoyed a delicious meal at the restaurant we meet Peter, the hotel manager, who went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable and looked after. Tumi, at the bar had made sure that our wine had been pre-opened and was ready to accompany the very exciting menu prepared by Chef Marcus. We enjoyed our meal and were impressed when the Chef came to our table after dinner asking for constructive feedback on the meal.

Sitting later on our veranda overlooking the valley, the silhouettes of the hills, taking in the splendour of the stars and the noises of nearby wildlife we reflected on the perfect experience we had had.

The next day was just as good, from breakfast to checkout and the tour at Maropeng Centre.

Thank you Magel and team for your world-class service and care, and for ensuring that we enjoyed such a wonderful anniversary experience! Maropeng Centre and Sterkfontein Caves deliver an amazing experience but the Hotel and staff are what makes this gem stand out. We can wholeheartedly recommend this venue to anyone looking for a customer service experience way above the norm!

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Peter B

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your experience at The Maropeng Hotel, on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are truly appreciated, and have been passed on to the Staff.

We hope to welcome you back home again, in the near future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We just came back from our holidays in south Africa. Maropeng Hotel is Great Hotel with Exceptional Staff that make sure that we were well taken care of and comfortable, Good Food and Drink, bountiful and convenient room,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Monica

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your experience at the Maropeng Hotel, on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to SA and our hotel in the future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Over the Valentines day weekend this year, I surprised my boyfriend with a weekend away to the Maropeng Boutique Hotel. We had such an amazing time. The food was great, the view spectacular and the staff did such an amazing job at making sure that we were well taken care of and comfortable. We have decided to go back again for our 4th year anniversary, its just too good to resist. The tours were a bonus too! Have definitely recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Kirsten

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post a review of the Maropeng Hotel.

I am pleased you had a good experience over the Valentine's weekend and hope that you will return to our Hotel soon

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
7.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
7.6 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
59 reviews
7.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
337 reviews
7.8 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
502 reviews
7.2 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maropeng Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maropeng Boutique Hotel

Property: Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Address: R400 (just off the R563 Hekpoort), Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maropeng Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Maropeng', is a Setswana word meaning 'returning to the place of origin' and this was kept in mind when the interiors of the hotel were designed.The four elemental forces of nature, earth, fire, water and ice that kick-started our planet some 3-billion years ago feature prominently in the overall look. The 24-bed boutique hotel is a five minute walk from South Africa's premier tourist attraction and 10 km (6 mi)from the Sterkfontein Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maropeng Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing