We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite spot that's less than an hour from Joburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed at The Maropeng Hotel a number of times now. It never disappoints. Set in a tranquil area, surrounded by the Magaliesberg mountains, this gorgeous place is the perfect getaway for those looking to pop out of Joburg for one night. It's a quick easy drive to get there, and you feel like you have popped up in the middle of nowhere when you arrive. It is the perfect spot to relax.

The set menus (you can choose from two options for starter, main and dessert) are excellent. The food is beautifully presented, and tastes as good as it looks.

The rooms are nicely decorated, with a modern, romantic feel about them.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms furthest away from the main reception area, but all rooms have an excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear MonsterBabes

Your review of the Maropeng Boutique Hotel is greatly appreciated.

We are truly pleased that you continue to enjoy the peace and tranquility our Hotel offers and look forward to welcoming you back 'home' in the near future

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

I always love returning to the Maropeng Hotel. It feels as though I am returning to my roots. The peacefulness, the view across the Magaliesburg is spectacular. The best is sipping something cool on the deck and watching the sun go down. If you are lucky you might hear the jackal early evening or early morning. I always have a good night sleep in the large comfy bed. If you are lucky you may get to meet some of the people that work their, they are friendly and helpful. True South African hospitality. I can't wait for my next visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Erica J

Your review of the Maropeng is truly appreciated.

You have captured the tranquility of the Hotel in your description, as well as the special atmosphere, provided by Peter Mhanaza and his Team, very well.

We hope to welcome you home, again, soon

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Over the weekend we enjoyed a one night stay at the Maropeng boutique hotel including dinner and breakfast. Both meals were superb, all the staff were extremely helpful at all times. Brenda helped us check in quickly and looked after us at dinner. The rooms were stunning with everything we needed. We enjoyed many glasses of wine on the patio looking over the veld area before dinner and made use of the stunning pool too. The maropeng visitors center just 600m from the hotel was such a great experience too. Thanks for everything!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CaelynJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear CaelynJoy

Many thanks for the kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor.

I will let Brenda know that her efforts were appreciated, as well as the Housekeeping Staff.

Once again, your comments are appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back to Maropeng again in the near future

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Where to start......This hotel is simply magnificent. Beautifully situated with never ending unspoilt views, exceptional food and the best service I have experienced in a long time.Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who went out of their way to assist me in organising a "surprise" visit, placing gifts and notes on the bed and whisking bags from the car to the room without my partners knowledge!. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and great attention has been given to the design of the entire hotel to reflect the natural surroundings in which it is situated. Each room has its own patio, a great place to watch the sunset, breathe and let the hustle and bustle of everyday life melt into the Hills - We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Jacquiec6

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your review of the Maropeng Boutique Hotel.

Your comments are truly appreciated, and will be passed on to the Hotel Personnel.

I hope to 'welcome you home' again, in the near future

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful surprise. Having visited Maropeng visitor centre earlier this year, the hotel immediately came to mind when I wanted to plan a date night with my wonderful wife. The online booking system was swiftm easy and extremely user friendly with confirmation text message and e-send within seconds after having paid the low deposit of just R95. (+-$10) .
With the special discount applicable to bookings within 24 hours before check in, I paid a littke more than R1000 (+-$100).The price included dinnerm bed and breakfast.
The staff were ever friendly and the room clean with everything in good working order. Decor matched well with the Maropeng feel and theme.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Coenraad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Coenraad B

Many thanks for letting us know of your experience reserving accommodation at the Maropeng Hotel.

I am pleased that you found the process easy to follow and that my Staff were prompt and attentive in their interactions with you.

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Well priced: an hour from Johannesburg and you're in beautiful completely unspoiled countryside. Convenient to the Sterkfontein Caves and the museum at the Cradle. Good food, extremely comfortable rooms and excellent service.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Kenleigh

Your comments on Trip Advisor were truly appreciated.

I have shared them with the Hotel Staff, who really appreciated the feedback

We look forward to 'welcoming you back home' in the future

Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We attended a very interesting and informative evening at the Maropeng Hotel on Saturday the 16 November. What a fascinating young man Brendon Billings is extremely knowledgeable. Although it was a long evening Brendon kept us all involved and made it very interesting. We started with a great meal compliments to the chef, not only was the food well presented it was also very tasty. I had the carpaccio for starters, lamb for mains and then the chocolate dessert. We will definitely be visiting again, cant wait for the next event.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Graca

I am truly pleased that you enjoyed your "bone detectives" event at Maropeng, as well as the Hotel.

I have passed your comments on to the Staff, who were quite excited to read of your experience

Kind regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
7.6 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
7.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
7.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
345 reviews
7.8 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
530 reviews
7.2 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maropeng Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maropeng Boutique Hotel

Address: R400 Just off the R563, Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Price Range: £80 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maropeng Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Maropeng', is a Setswana word meaning 'returning to the place of origin' and this was kept in mind when the interiors of the hotel were designed.The four elemental forces of nature, earth, fire, water and ice that kick-started our planet some 3-billion years ago feature prominently in the overall look. The 24-bed boutique hotel is a five minute walk from South Africa's premier tourist attraction and 10 km (6 mi)from the Sterkfontein Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maropeng Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing