We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week-end stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A wonderful week-end stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful week-end at this beautifully situated boutique hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with their own private patios overlooking an unspoilt view. There are no family rooms so a seperate room had to be booked for our two young children - but rooms were connected with interleading doors. Resturant food was excellant with a three course meal beautifully presented and good service. A wonderful place to escape from it all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Nicola S

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Maropeng Boutique Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    60
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
33
117
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Spent the last long weekend here with my husband for our 7th anniversary. Its an hours drive from Johannesburg so very convenient. The check in process was efficient and we were shown our room. The room (no. 119) is spacious with all necessary amenities (bar fridge with complimentary bottled water, tea and coffee, air-conditioning, shampoo, electronic safe, hairdryer etc.). The room has a beautiful view from the patio. There is however lack of attention to detail. The soap dish at the bath tub was cracked and broken, there was a spider's web at the door to the bathroom, the tub was quite dusty (I don't know if it had not been used in a while), and the linen and towels in our room looked old and worn (they should be replaced), the bath towels are tiny, they should have bath sheets instead. Another dampener was the fact that the water stood in our shower so it was obviously blocked. We reported it on Friday evening (the day we checked in) however they could not get their maintenance team at that time. They said they would send someone from maintenance the next day but it looked like only the cleaning staff came and once again when we showered that evening...it was still blocked (so basically the whole time we were there). So once again I reported it at checkout (the lady at the desk said to me "Yes, the drain must be blocked or something"...I thought we had established that already?!! I had previously arranged a turn down service (at a steep cost) for the evening of the Friday and confirmed it on that day. The person at the desk said it would be done while we were at dinner. When we arrived at the room, it was done but there was no champagne as promised and paid for?! I had to ask for it at reception the next day which was a bit of an anticlimax. Just to mention that all other 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed at, do a complimentary turn down service free of charge if it is a special occasion. I had mentioned online on the booking form that it was our anniversary but apart from the mishap of the turn down service it was not mentioned at all during our stay...once again...attention to detail. In terms of the food, breakfast is good but you can see that they serve canned fruit (mangoes etc.) but I suppose it is because they are far out and cannot get fresh fruit easily. They also won't ask you what bread you want for your toast, they just bring 2 brown and 2 white! They fry your eggs how you would like them but they were brought to the table before we were finished with our fruit so it was cold by the time we we were ready to eat them, There are croissants, coldmeats, cheese, fruit, juice, cereals and a hot breakfast. Supper consists of a 3 course menu with 2 options each for starters, mains and desserts. Some were obviously better than others eg. the lamb, duck and ostrich were better than the chicken but good overall. On the first night their blender was apparently broken so they could not make cocktails but not all the cocktails on the menu needed a blender...just a shaker..strange. And the cappucino at supper was really bad and bitter! Just to note that alcohol is expensive here...a double Jack Daniels ONLY cost R44!!!! A nice touch was that the chef comes to each table at the end of the meal to chat. Overall the hotel is good value for money but can be much much better with a few tweaks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineshree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Vineshree M

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay at our Hotel.

It concerns me to note the various lapses you experienced in our service delivery.

I have taken your comments up with my Hotel Manager, who will contact you, once he has completed his investigation.

Once again, many thanks for your review, it is feedback like yours that enables us to ensure excellence

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We spent the weekend at the hotel for our anniversary. The staff were so friendly, helpful and very professional. The food was absolutely delicious with the most spectacular views. The rooms were so comfortable, clean and spacious. The hotel had such a tranquil atmosphere. I will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Belinda B

Firstly congratulations on your anniversary.

I am so pleased that you chose our Hotel, at which to spend your celebration.

Your comments are truly appreciated and I will certainly pass them on to the Hotel Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back 'home' soon

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I decided on a last minute getaway to celebrate our anniversary. We dropped the kids off with granny and grandpa and set off for some much needed and well deserved "alone time". We were looking for somewhere within easy driving distance and the Cradle of Humankind fitted the bill perfectly. We weren't too sure what to expect and were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Actually, that's an understatement - we were blown away. Maropeng Boutique Hotel is small and intimate, with top class finishes and attention to detail in all the décor. The reception and dining areas are really beautiful and the rooms are absolutely stunning. Big, super clean, beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could possibly need, a gorgeous bathroom with separate bath and shower and a private little patio with the most breath taking view. We had sun-downers on the deck and watched a magnificent sunset before embarking on a lavish dinner. The dining experience alone was worth the trip. The staff were accommodating to our every request and attentive at all times. Each and every hotel employee that we had the pleasure of interacting with was friendly and professional. Being in the travel and hospitality industry myself, I can certainly appreciate this. Kudos to the management team on a beautiful establishment and truly hospitable staff. Thank you for a wonderful stay - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyrJohannesburg, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Fiona V

Firstly - happy anniversary!!!

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review the Maropeng Boutique Hotel.

I am pleased that you found the Hotel and Staff to be everything you wish for and I assure you that your comments will be passed on to the Staff.

We hope to welcome you back home in the future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I were looking for a quiet weekend away and this hotel was perfect. Unspoilt views, beautiful 2km walking trail and dark evenings. While we love the Drakensburg walking trails, we found the 2km walking trail here enjoyable and very educational too. This hotel is very private - while the other rooms were also occupied, it felt like we were the only people booked at the hotel. Each room has its own patio with a beautiful view. We only saw the other people when we went for meals, which was nice. The staff is very kind. While the service at the restaurant was not at five star level all the time, the staff were always ready to accept and correct their mistakes. The meals are superb, however, by the third day of staying here we found the set dinner menus predictable and thus a little boring. We wishes there was a different restaurant to go to. But of course this is a small hotel with only one restaurant. That notwithstanding, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The corner room - room 124 is the best if you want ultimate privacy - neighbours on only one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Kgethi

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review our Hotel.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would suggest that you request a meeting with the Chef, who will prepare meals for you according to your preference, when spending extended periods at the property

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed at The Maropeng Hotel a number of times now. It never disappoints. Set in a tranquil area, surrounded by the Magaliesberg mountains, this gorgeous place is the perfect getaway for those looking to pop out of Joburg for one night. It's a quick easy drive to get there, and you feel like you have popped up in the middle of nowhere when you arrive. It is the perfect spot to relax.

The set menus (you can choose from two options for starter, main and dessert) are excellent. The food is beautifully presented, and tastes as good as it looks.

The rooms are nicely decorated, with a modern, romantic feel about them.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms furthest away from the main reception area, but all rooms have an excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear MonsterBabes

Your review of the Maropeng Boutique Hotel is greatly appreciated.

We are truly pleased that you continue to enjoy the peace and tranquility our Hotel offers and look forward to welcoming you back 'home' in the near future

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I always love returning to the Maropeng Hotel. It feels as though I am returning to my roots. The peacefulness, the view across the Magaliesburg is spectacular. The best is sipping something cool on the deck and watching the sun go down. If you are lucky you might hear the jackal early evening or early morning. I always have a good night sleep in the large comfy bed. If you are lucky you may get to meet some of the people that work their, they are friendly and helpful. True South African hospitality. I can't wait for my next visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Maropeng Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Erica J

Your review of the Maropeng is truly appreciated.

You have captured the tranquility of the Hotel in your description, as well as the special atmosphere, provided by Peter Mhanaza and his Team, very well.

We hope to welcome you home, again, soon

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
7.0 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
7.6 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
54 reviews
7.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
479 reviews
8.3 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
330 reviews
7.2 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maropeng Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maropeng Boutique Hotel

Property: Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Address: R400 (just off the R563 Hekpoort), Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site 1751, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maropeng Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Maropeng', is a Setswana word meaning 'returning to the place of origin' and this was kept in mind when the interiors of the hotel were designed.The four elemental forces of nature, earth, fire, water and ice that kick-started our planet some 3-billion years ago feature prominently in the overall look. The 24-bed boutique hotel is a five minute walk from South Africa's premier tourist attraction and 10 km (6 mi)from the Sterkfontein Caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maropeng Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing