We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sterkfontein Caves” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sterkfontein Cave

Sterkfontein Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
US$173.94*
and up
Cradle of Humankind Tour from Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jhb
1 review
“Sterkfontein Caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a fantastic day at Sterkfontein caves & Maropeng with the family, went with my kids ages 4 & 7 and they loved it. Would highly recommend as a day out

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear G M

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Your comments are appreciated and we are really pleased that your Family had an enjoyable day out

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    156
    47
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun & educational day out. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I have been here a few times and it is always cool to go under ground into the caves and get a history lesson into the origins of man.

If you are claustrophobic, perhaps not the best idea, otherwise it's fun. You go hundred of steps down into under ground caves & explore under ground lakes, archaeological sites as well as various geological formations.

What was cool this time is that because of the heavy rains in March, the underground lake had risen significantly.

A cool day out. And while you are here, check out the other sites that make up the Cradle Of Human Kind.

Helpful?
1 Thank NyakoMaBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear NyakoMaBer

Many thanks for your review on trip Advisor

Your repeated visits are truly appreciated.

Yes, the rains early in the year have had a significant impact on the water level in the underground lake

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent day trip from Joburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Sterkfontein caves and the linked exhibition and facilities at nearby Maropeng are excellent - great for adults and children (~6 years+) alike. Staff were welcoming and very patient with our endless questions.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear L K

We really appreciate the review that you posted on TripAdvisor, regarding your experience at Sterkfontein Cave and Maropeng.

I hope you had an enjoyable trip to South Africa and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again in the future

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“An excellent attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

An excellent attraction and well worth the trip. Our guide, Danny, was amazing - enthusiastic and knowledgeable. A great day out when done with Marapeng. Both are world class attractions with friendly staff and very good amenities.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sonja L

Many thanks for reviewing the Sterkfontein Caves

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience. Your comments about Danny will be passed on to Danny.

Thanks and regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellant exhibit & Coopers Cave walking tour a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Unfortunately the caves were closed due to the heavy rain that the area has recently experienced. But fortunately we had booked ahead for the Cooper Cave walking tour and picnic which left from Sterkfontein Caves and this proved to be a really special and wonderful experience. I would highly recommend booking this for anyone visiting the area (advertised on the Maropeng website and needs to be booked in advance as only available once a month?)). We learnt so much and Christine Steininger's passion and knowledge was amazing. After an informative discussion on the mountain under a wild Olive Tree, we explored Cooper's cave looking for fossils ...and were blown away by the quantity of fossils to be found, this was followed by a beautifully presented and tasty "picnic" lunch. We had an unexpectedly fantastic morning. After this we visited the exhibition at the caves, which was really informative and very well presented.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Nicola S

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your review of the Sterkfontein Caves and Coopers Cave Tour and Picnic

I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable time with Christine - her passion really does come through.

My apologies for the Caves being closed when you were there.

Yes, we only have Coopers Cave Tours once a month - these caves can very easily become damaged, and we need to preserve the World Heritage Site

We hope to welcome you back "home" in the future

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sterkfontein Cave also viewed

Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
Greater Johannesburg, Gauteng
 
Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sterkfontein Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing