We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rival for the best courses in Suffolk”

Ufford Park Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Melton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ufford Park Golf Resort near Ipswich offers everything a golfer could need all under one roof!! Play the 18 holes,par 71, Top Winter Parkland Course set within 120acres;Practice in the unique 2 storey floodlit driving range (some with heated bays for those winter months); Learn/Improve your game at The Doctorgolf Academy; Shop in the American Golf Superstore. Eat&drink in the Park Restaurant & sports bar. Enjoy a 1 or 2 night golfing break from £89pp. Membership available. Societies & Corporate Days welcomed. Health Club & Spa also on site. Open all year!!
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have been a member at Ufford Park Golf Club for the last 10 years and although I have recently left Suffolk, I still travel back frequently to utilise their facilities. The two-tier driving range is arguably the best in the UK, with over 30 bays ensuring everyone is well catered for.

The course has improved significantly over the last few years and was recently ranked in the top 10 winter golf courses by Today's Golfer. The greenkeepers have done a great job over the summer by ensuring errant tee-shots are penalised by thick rough (similar to Links courses) and have also addressed some of the tee areas which previously sloped to one side.

The fairways do have a tendency to become quite dry during the summer, but this year they look in pristine condition. The greens are probably one area the club need to improve on, with the chances of finding a true roll on a putt becoming increasingly rare.

In regards to the holes, the opening stretch is very challenging with the second, fourth and sixth posing real challenges for all abilities. There is water on all but four holes so make sure you pack plenty of balls just in case! The back nine offers plenty of scoring opportunities, with both the 13th and 15th (par fours) reachable in one. The closing two holes are fairly devilish, with plenty of danger either side of the fairways.

The club as a whole is very friendly and has a relatively small membership which increases your chances of winning a competition. Due to the number of hotel guests, tee-times at the weekend are at a premium so it is essential that you book in advance.

Recent changes have meant the club only has one fully qualified PGA professional but the three trainees are certainly well equipped. Having had several lessons with Daniel Skriabin, I would certainly recommend his method of teaching...and the price is very reasonable as well. Unlike some senior professionals, he employs a very patient approach and has an arsenal of modern coaching techniques to harness the best possible result.

Michael Halliday, Golf Manager at Ufford Park, is also extremely approachable and genuinely makes an effort to ensure everyone is satisfied with their visit to the club. Sadly, the bar staff fail to provide a similar service and I have seen other members actually serve themselves after waiting for over 15 minutes!

Overall though, you would probably struggle to find better value-for-money and while a few minor flaws prevent the club from achieving a more revered status, it is certainly worth a visit (or two).

Thank 7Michael1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Manager at Ufford Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Michael
Thank you for your indepth review about our top winter golf course & facilities - I am sure other golfers will find it very helpful to read before they visit us, thank you.
As a past member for an amazing 10 years, you have seen first hand how the hotel and golf course have progressed and improved over the years. The Directors are always striving to improve both the product and experience for their customers and particularly with the golf course our head greenkeeper does also strongly advocate using an ''Environmentally Friendly'' approach to the golf course and in particular the Greens - this may take longer to show asthetically but once established offers not only fantastic quality but is sustainable too! However, we appreciate we do not get it right 100% of the time everywhere and will pass on your comments to the head of food & beverage re. Bar Service.

Despite having moved away from Suffolk we always look forward to you returning to see us all and thank you again for finding the time to put your review on Trip Advisor for everyone else to see how great our golf facilities are.

Best wishes
Michael Halliday
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"driving range"
in 4 reviews
"golf club"
in 3 reviews
"great facilities"
in 4 reviews
"evening meal"
in 2 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 2 reviews
"fairways"
in 3 reviews
"challenging"
in 4 reviews
"play"
in 3 reviews
"spa"
in 4 reviews
"treatment"
in 2 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

A great golf course, backed up with great facilities. I have played most of the Suffolk courses, for all round enjoyment, this has to be top for me.

The thing that hits you is the great vibe around the place, the staff our very friendly, most people who play Ufford Park Golf Course leave with a smile on their face, part of the reason I find it hard to stay away.

Thank leewilson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Manager at Ufford Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Lee
Thank you for your great review about our golf course - our head Green Keeper Adrian takes great pride in his work, so he will be very pleased that it shows. The fact that you are a regular visitor to our course all year round, is great testiment to all the team here at Ufford Park.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon - you may also like to know that we do have regular promotions throughout the hotel (not just the golf department) so follow us on facebook, twitter or get onto our mailing list on our website!!

Best wishes
Michael Halliday
Golf Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Play here often and for me it is unrivalled locally and probably county wise not only for it's great facilities (2 tiered driving range, academy, short game area & putting green plus an American Golf Store) and friendly & helpful staff but the course itself, playable all year because of it's free draining nature, no two holes are the same, with some open fairways where you can open the shoulders up and let loose but also some intricate holes where you need to plot your way to the hole, the par 4 8th & par 3 16th also very pleasing on the eye...a great venue for stay & play also...top notch!!!

Thank woodbridgemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director_Ufford_Park, Manager at Ufford Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your superb review of our golf course - it is even more special because of the number of times you have played it and still feel it is the best in the county - thank you!!! We do pride ourselves on having great onsite facilities, a good friendly team and green keepers who really know what they are doing. Of course it helps that the land is free draining during the winter months but nevertheless we feel the same as you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to play again very soon.

Best wishes
Michael Halliday
Golf Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My son got married here and we could not have been looked after better, great build up lots of help and advice and a great day as well, even the day after they made sure we had everything we need.

As for the golf course it is one of the best in the area, it is playable all year round and the staff bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your game that and with the American golf shop on site to cater for all your needs makes for a great days golfing

Thank kft53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Manager at Ufford Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our golf course - we were delighted to read that you found our golf course superb and our staff helpful and accommodating. We always welcome new golfers onto our course and with American Golf and the Doctorgolf Academy on site too we have something for every ability of player.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to play again soon and please pass our best wishes onto your son and his lovely new wife too.

Kind regards
Michael Halliday
Golf Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Ufford Park is a fantastic golf course that is playable all year round, with some really tough holes that test your game to it's limit. There is a floodlit, dual-level driving range and American Golf store as well as bar, restaurant, spa and meeting rooms - and the hotel - all on one site.

The best part of Ufford though, is the people - it's a family owned business, and you can tell through the warmth of welcome and standards of service.

Well worth a visit, and a place to return to!

Thank Uffordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingD, Manager at Ufford Park Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you so much for your superb 5 out of 5 review regarding your recent visit to our golf course - we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed all our facilities and especially the quality of our course and staff.
We are very fortunate to be on free draining soil, so the recent rain has not stopped play at Ufford Park thankfully, hence we have attracted lots of new golfers recently who can not play on their own home courses.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon - please also be aware that you can book your tee times on line anytime now !!

Best wishes
Michael Halliday
Golf Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ufford Park Golf Course also viewed

Been to Ufford Park Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing