We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, relax, RELAX!! A true vacation spot!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Topsail Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jolly Roger Inn & Pier
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Topsail Beach
Marion, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relax, relax, RELAX!! A true vacation spot!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

No phone in room, no internet, NO WORRIES!!!! A very welcoming, low stress check-in by Briggs & Josh followed by a walk on one of the most beautiful beaches was a great start to a true vacation. The king suite with our own ocean-side balcony/front porch was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The clothesline with lots of clothespins on the balcony was much appreciated. Topsail, NC is such a friendly "small town" whose residents make visitors feel welcome. Even though we did not fish off the pier, those who were fishing shared their fishing stories freely. Internet access was available by visiting a wonderful coffee shop, the Quarter Moon. A TRUE vacation -- amazing sunrise, ocean waves, shells, sand, friendly staff, great food choices at local eateries, comfortable beds, chairs on a balcony looking out over the ocean, etc. The kitchen was stocked with older dishes and utensils but everything was clean and in good working order.
My husband had to trick me to get in the car when it was time to leave!!!!! This area is definitely a great location for family who want to be just a short walk from the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    31
    27
    11
    20
See reviews for
51
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence Forge, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

1. View from balcony was spectacular
2. Easy access to beach
3. thick mold & dark hair in bath tub & on back of door
4. shower would not drain out
5. blinds did not work
6. 25 cents to fill ice bucket from nasty ice machine
7. No amenities in room = shampoo, coffee pot
8. room smelled like a litter box
9. non-caring (unfriendly) attitude of staff
10. no chain on doors creating excitement when stranger unlocks your door & walks into your room at 10:30 pm. announcing he had just rented your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHM1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Topsail Beach hotels

Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed one night in the older, blue building closer to the office and the pier. We paid $135 total for two people. Our room (209) was an efficiency with sink, stove, refrigerator and some dishes on the street side, not the ocean side. The room was dirty and the whole building smelled like somebody had recently fried eggs. The window had only cheap blinds so the streetlight filled our room the entire night. The bathroom door did not close. We saw one live bug when we pulled back the blanket. We brought our own sheets and pillowcases - without them we wouldn't have stayed the night. We slept on and off until about 7:00am and then checked out. This was truly the worst hotel room we've ever stayed in. I do expect a clean, bug free room for this price - even right on the ocean.

The location was good - right on the beach and right at the pier. The workers were friendly and helpful. There was a newer, brown section that was full. It looked better from the outside but we didn't see inside any of the rooms. We tried the Sea Vista first but it was full. The Breezeway wasn't on the ocean. Not many hotel/motel choices at Topsail Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_travelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This place is QUITE outdated, and could use a complete remodel. Although I didn't "expect the Ritz" as another poster explained, it certainly wasn't worth the $175/night they charged us. The ONLY good thing about this place was that it was oceanfront, just steps away from the beautiful beauty of the Atlantic Ocean. Not much to do on this end of Topsail, besides a few shots and 1 restaurant (that we found), which was sub-par, at best. I LOVE Topsail and the Surf City area, but won't likely visit this end of it, in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtwfrog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. Very laid back and casual. The grill is very good for a short order grill. Tried alot of different items and liked them all. The rooms are adequate for their purpose, very clean. Need to bring shampoo but other than that, we had everything we needed. People were very nice and treated us like locals. Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We just want a decent and clean place to sleep and shower and this fits our criteria. A/C and refrigerator were cold. Window and balcony view are spectacular, beach access is awesome, great pier and lots within walking distance. We will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimbreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Jolly Roger! The value is amazing, especially if you choose to stay on the west facing side of the motel. The room was clean and just what we needed for a two night stay at the beach. The location is killer, right in town across from the putt putt and close to the store and few restaurants. Plus, its right on the beach! The pier is awesome and free to walk on for motel guests. You can even buy single cans of beer in the pier shop and walk out on the pier with them! We got to watch the super moon rise over the ocean! Also the food at the pier shop is very inexpensive and decent if you are on a budget! The staff at the motel and pier shop are always friendly too! Highly recommend this motel if you don't have a lot of amenities. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if you dont need the view and save a few bucks. Plus its easier to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsail Beach
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
123 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
129 reviews
14.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
15.5 mi away
Topsail Shores Inn
Topsail Shores Inn
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
352 reviews
16.3 mi away
Seaview Pier Motel
Seaview Pier Motel
#1 of 2 in Sneads Ferry
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Roger Inn & Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Roger Inn & Pier

Property: Jolly Roger Inn & Pier
Address: 803 Ocean Blvd, P.O. Box 3008, Topsail Beach, Topsail Island, NC 28445-6953
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Topsail Island > Topsail Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Topsail Beach
Number of rooms: 65

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing