We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first time experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appalachian Rivers Raft Company

Appalachian Rivers Raft Company
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Topton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great first time experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

What a fun time! Our family had never experienced rafting before and this proved to be a perfect place to start. Everyone there was very kind, knowledgable, and it was very reasonably priced. Our guide Jay was fabulous. I was a little apprehensive having never done this before, but he made the trip very comfortable with excitement and laughs along the way. You could tell how much he loved his job. He took safety seriously but helped us relax and enjoy the ride. Our kids, ages 12 -17 had a blast. What a hidden treasure on the river! I would highly recommend them to anyone with or without experience !!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank HFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best rafting company on the Nanatahala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was one of the best things about our trip to NC. Everyone from the woman I spoke to on the phone to the owner who gave me personalized directions through the NC mountain roads to our guide, Jay, were courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. Very reasonably priced for the trip time. Took us about 2 hours to get down. Our kids had a great time. I think I laughed the whole way down the river. Great memories!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, safe, and professional rafting company.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

As one of the smaller rafting companies in the area, ARRC ensures a personalized rafting experience. We have been rafting before so we kinda of knew what to expect. Our guide made sure we had the most fun while being safe. Our guide was professional and friendly. We cannot emphasize how safe we felt and how much fun we had. Would recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Trip easy to guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

this was one of the many highlights of our trip. the seen is beautiful and with or without a guide it isn't that rough but just enough rapids for a good time! this is our second time going here and by far the best prices with easy access and no troubles. Uncle dave will take care of your any needs..

we did stop at the "Jumping Rock" this is a large stone that sticks out of the mountains and deep enough to jump in the water. although the float to where you have to park your boat is well lets just say the water is cold and if you don't like the cold you might want to hold off. When you get back to the area where your raft is and get out of the water it doesn't take long to "thaw out"

Great experience for all ages we had a party of 13 and 4 kids from the age of 10 to 18 (LOVED IT)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dbody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon, GA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rafting the Rapids!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We took a bus from the Raft Company and were dropped off at our rafts up the river. The driver was safe! We were given safety instructions and then loaded into the river. We had a great ride!! We were picked up at the end of our trip by the bus. We really enjoyed our trip & our experience with the Appalachian Rivers Raft Company!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Appalachian Rivers Raft Company also viewed

Topton, North Carolina Mountains
Topton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Topton, North Carolina Mountains
Topton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Appalachian Rivers Raft Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing