We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views, Great Wine, Friendly Staff”

Overmountain Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Tryon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overmountain Vineyards is a boutique winery that sits on a 70 acre family owned farm in Tryon, North Carolina. OMV grows 16 acres of french vinifera focusing primarily on Petit Manseng, an elegant aromatic white originally from southwest France as well as red varietals Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot and Petit Verdot. Please come visit, taste the difference and enjoy a truly distinctive wine experience at Overmountain Vineyards. From our family to yours!
Landrum, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Beautiful Views, Great Wine, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My fiance and I came here one Saturday, they weren't doing any tours or anything guided that day but we were allowed to wander around wherever we wanted and walked all through the fields. Then we sampled some wines, actually enjoyed them which is rare for me with local wines which tend to be very sweet and musky. They had a wonderful Chardonnay made in a stainless steel cask that was crisp and clean so we bought a bottle and then we parked ourselves on those nice adirondack chairs they have and proceeded to drink the whole thing over the course of the next several hours. Lovely day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    15
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wine and Fun”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This vineyard is in a nice area and has a very relaxing atmosphere. Their wines are really good. My favorite was the muscadine wine. Nice place for a large group of friends to go have a good time and enjoy good wine. Enjoy the view in their nice chairs next to the fire pit. The people were great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mireyaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stop by and learn a little about their grapes”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We are only just learning about wines but enoyed overmountain. The vineyard views were really awesome and we understand they have some older, established grapes.

When we were there, they had tapped one of 3 casks of Cabernet and had run out of labels. We like having the 2 bottles we purchased having just a hand written label ... it adds for some reason. Traditional vineyard feel and a nice sitting area outside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank captjacksprrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Delicious wine, beautiful scenery, knowledgable people to answer all your questions. Definitely a must go for wine enthusiasts. Worth the trip from Lake Lure!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolieinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Overmountain Vineyards is set in the foothills of South Carolina with a beautiful mountain view. It is an idyllic setting for sitting under the trees, enjoying wine with friends. The owner is very knowledgeable and offers a wide variety of wines for tasting. The standout for us was the muscadine. It had a fragrance and taste that were exactly like the fruit but without the overbearing sweetness we have come to expect. It is a delicate masterpiece! The other wines are sophisticated and the flavors are delectable. The tasting was very good but devoid of extras. This is a place to pick your favorite wine, sit down in the shade and have a beautiful afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Overmountain Vineyards also viewed

Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 
Columbus, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Overmountain Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing