We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1906 Pine Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tryon B&B and Inns
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I have the opportunity to stay at the Pine Crest Inn several times over the past year. Being at the inn always brings a sense of peace to my spirit. It's beautiful, charming and relaxing. I love sipping on their delicious coffee in the main lobby by the fire or in a rocking chair on the veranda. It's always ready for me at 7 AM. Breakfast is always scrumptious! My favorites include blueberry scones, homemade granola and banana walnut pancakes. Guest services always impressed me. They are very professional, caring and sincere. I love to stay in different rooms. Experiencing a a new room is highlight of each visit! My favorites include Swayback (private little getaway cabin), Woodcutter (unique little cottage), Windsor (spacious and warm) and Chestnut (modern decor with neat sitting nook). I would recommend the Pine Crest Inn to anyone that needs a little peace of heaven for the weekend or a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlufftonMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    33
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
26
91
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Rustic, comfortable and clean with a staff that bends over backwards for you. Food was outstanding too. Was hoping for a little more of a scenic view, but had a great lawn to lay out and watch stars at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeye918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

When my husband and I decided to change our romantic getaway vacation to a more warmer locale, we were thrilled to find the Pine Crest Inn's spectacular Groupon deal. We opted for four nights in a King Deluxe room and were pretty geeked about saving $65 dollars a night via this deal. Unfortunately, we soon came to realize that you get what you pay for. If it were not for the hospitality of the inkeeper, Linda, and the great breakfasts from the chef, Michelle, this review would have a far lower ranking.

We chose the Pine Crest Inn because it was off the beaten path and previous reviews noted that it was a quiet getaway. While we are younger than much of the bed & breakfast set, we much prefer this sort of setting, as we plan active long days during our vacations, and we like nothing more than a quiet and comfortable place for a good night's sleep. Upon checking in to our room, we were quick to find that a quiet room was not in the cards for us this stay.

We stayed in Hilltop Room in the Hunt Lodge. We immediately noticed that there was a connecting door between our room and the neighboring room, and that there was a 1-inch gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. This gap not only allowed for our neighbor's room's light, but also every noise, to enter our room. We knew exactly what television program they were watching and what conversations they were having. This continued until our neighbors decided to turn off their T.V. at 1:00 AM. Needless to say, we were not happy.

The next morning I approached Linda about the situation. To her credit, she immediately offered a room change, however, she noted that we would not have any neighbors for the next two nights of our stay and would only have a neighbor on our last night. Given this situation, we decided to stick it out in our room and make the best of the situation. Our second night was blissfully quiet and we had a great night. However, on night #3 we had a new neighbor a day early....fortunately for us, he/she was not a late night T.V. viewer. On our fourth night we returned to our rooms to discover that our neighboring room was occupied by a small dog that was barking incessantly! I guess the Hilltop room is located next to the pet-friendly room in the Hunt Cottage, and while we love dogs, constant yapping next door is not really our preference when traveling. Even with towels and pillows jammed up against the gap in the door, the sounds still permeated into our room.

Besides the noise, we were a bit disappointed in an uncomfortably hard mattress and a lack of some of the amenities that we were expecting in a King Deluxe room. The website states that, "some of our King Deluxe Rooms have fireplaces, jetted tubs, double vanities, small refrigerators and coffee makers."....unfortunately, ours only had the fireplace, which had been shut off (no gas) the week prior. We clearly missed the key "some" in that statement on their website and had assumed that our upgrade to the King Deluxe Room would include these features, but I guess that's our own fault and oversight.

I would be totally disingenuous if I did not praise the hospitality of the staff here. The breakfasts here were lovely, and though we didn't have the experience we were hoping for, Linda was nothing but sweet. The two resident cats are fabulous, and the scenery around the inn was stunning. We so hoped to love this place, but due to the issues listed above, our experience simply fell short of our expectations.

If you participated in the Groupon deal, here are a few recommendations:
- If you upgraded to a King Deluxe room, call ahead and make sure they have a room with the amenities that you're looking for
- Try to avoid the Hilltop Room if you can. We weren't impressed :(
- If you find your room to be noisy your first night, take Linda up on a room switch. We wish we had.
- Expect to tip the kitchen/wait staff each morning. We weren't expecting extra tips beyond tipping our housekeeper, and the inn explicitly suggests on the menu that guests tip their waiter/waitress. However, the kitchen staff definitely deserve it. The food is stellar.

Room Tip: The Hilltop Room in the Hunt Cottage has a connecting door with a large gap between it and the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterWeaselette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent 2 nights, enjoyed terric breakfasts, outstanding service, and comfy spacious room/suite. Much nicer than many B&Bs we've visited, a bit off the beaten oath, but the serenity is the payoff for the more remote location. Lovely ambiance, enjoyed sitting in common area reading and sipping good wine and port. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shwermert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I settled into the Windsor Suite. Lit the fireplace and enjoyed a relaxing evening. At 10:00 PM the wind picked up and we were in for an exciting evening. The wind blew down Two trees and dropped at power pole. At 2:00 AM we wee out of electricity. This is where the "Experienced Traveler " gets out there travel flashlights. We got up at 06:00 AM and took a hot shower by flashlight. I went too the Inn and lo and behold the Kitchen Staff and Inn Keeper Linda had made Hot coffee. Thanks to the kitchen staff and Innkeeper , Linda we were served a Hot Breakfast Buffet on paper plates. The Staff deserves KUDOS for accepting and stepping up to the challenge of no electricity .Special mention goes to Lindsey, Linda, Jennifer, Jennifer, Celia and Amy.

The Suites were very comfortable and quiet. The Breakfasts were very well planned and tasty.
It was a very good B&B Experience.

The Staff makes
you feel welcome. That must include Shadow the cat that will attempt to follow you into your
suite She is an outside cat..

Room Tip: All rooms are exquisite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sandollar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

March 22-24, I spent a busy, yet relaxing weekend in Tryon and Saluda. Unfortunately I didn't get to enjoy all that PCI had to offer as I was zip lining at The Gorge, touring the Biltmore, and hiking at Pearson's Falls. PCI was extremely comfortable and relaxing at the end of each busy night and peaceful to wake up to each morning. The rooms were clean and the service was amazing. I paid a little extra for breakfast in my room both mornings. My favorite part was the sincerity and very friendly/professional staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlpaulette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our fifth time visiting PCI. If you need a stress reliever and a place to relax, visit the PCI. Every staff member will go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. The food is excellent and the fireplace is a wonderful place to enjoy morning coffee or evening drinks.

Room Tip: Choose a suite with a fire place if visiting in cooler weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maceye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryon
12.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
207 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
13.4 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
86 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Pine Crest Inn

Property: 1906 Pine Crest Inn
Address: 85 Pinecrest Ln, Tryon, NC 28782-3486
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Tryon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tryon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Pine Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing, intimate retreat tucked just a mile from downtown Tryon. Once a favorite of F. Scott Fitzgerald & Ernest Hemingway, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places & has received numerous national awards & recognition. The restaurant is renowned for its excellent foothills cuisine featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients & has received the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence. The inn has luxurious suites & private cottages, all with private baths; most have fireplaces & jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1906 Pine Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Pine Crest Hotel Tryon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing