We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1906 Pine Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tryon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This is a must see! We rented the woodcutters cottage with our three year old grandson and from the moment we arrived were impressed. The bed was fabulous and the small living area with the small fridge made traveling with a child a breeze. Breakfast on the porch in the mountain air was just what we needed. Thanks to Linda and Lindsay and the rest of the staff for such a great trip:)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

My daughter and I just returned from this lovely inn and had a wonderful time. From the moment we walked through the door, the inn keepers could not have been more gracious and helpful. We felt so at home, yet so well attended to - from the boxed breakfast to the assistance in making dinner reservations. The rooms were quite nice and the grounds a treat to explore. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask questions. The inn keepers have all sorts of local tips and recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulianaK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were attending a local equestrian event and arrived hoping to be spoiled after having spent many long hours in the summertime sun. We were not disappointed. The staff warmly greeted us, offered us something to quench our thirsts and then showed us to our room which was elegantly appointed and instantly made us feel pampered. The breakfast was, indeed, gourmet and the wait staff professional, attentive and most accommodating. The baby grand piano in the lobby was a beautiful touch and on Sunday morning when an accomplished guest sat down to play, we knew we had chosen the right Inn. We look forward to returning soon. The dining is, we're told, exemplary as well. Our only suggestion would be to make sure you book ahead to get a spot for one of their amazing meals.

Room Tip: There was a porch outside our room, that was common to the cottage that housed several rooms, includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLatzMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This Inn has held up quite nicely over the years. In 1996, this was a Mobil three or four diamond facility that had excellent dining and rooms started at $180 and you were happy to pay that rate. It's very romantic in fall and has excellent facilities for business meetings which I often took advantage of. My wife has fond memories of brunches here as a child but that was long ago. It's very nice compared to a chain hotel experience but the current owner(s) have targeted business meetings as their revenue stream so if you live locally, don't expect Easter brunch or meeting friends for cocktails and appetizers unless you are a guest. It's no longer a full service bed and breakfast but with some moderate investment, it could be a lot more for the casual traveler as well as the local community as it was under the previous owners. Sadly, the Mobil plaque is in the basement waiting for this jewel to be restored to its former glory.

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages in the fall with a wood fireplace but if you are tall, watch your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My best friend and I stayed at this inn for a girls weekend getaway. We loved the proximity to Asheville, while getting to stay in a historical, cottage location. If you get a chance, take a minute to read the history of the inn (they have copies of the story in the lobby). It's just interesting to read about the way the inn and the tiny town of Tryon have grown and changed.

The room was quaint, but comfortable. It wouldn't hurt to update the carpet and the bathroom a bit, but it was an overall charming place to stay. It was very clean and well maintained. Quite impressive for a 100+ year old inn!

The staff is amazing and so friendly. Each person we spoke to was pleasant and always up for a good southern chat. :) Oh, and the outdoor cats will be sure to greet you too!

Okay, the food. If nothing else, stay at the inn to eat the amazing breakfast and drink the coffee. We were thrilled and super, super impressed with the quality of food. My friend, who is a coffee connoisseur was in love with the coffee. Honestly, after coming home, I just wanted to go back for a cup of coffee! My morning cup has been nothing short of a disappointment since trying the PineCrest Inn coffee!

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very nice bed and breakfast with a marvelous breakfast. The inn is large enough that selction of your next morning's breakfast time is done at check-in. The staff is very friendly and welcoming and the property is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnneM1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We took advantage of the Groupon deal and chose the Pine Crest Inn for our honeymoon. What a beautiful place! The flowers were in bloom and the grounds were beautiful to look at. We enjoyed relaxing on the spacious porch in the morning with our coffee or in the evening after dinner. We stayed during the week so we unfortunately were not able to try the dinners served here. The breakfasts were delicious! The staff here are welcoming and very friendly! Jeff gave us some advice as to where to eat during the week and Linda recommended some nearby activities. Hats off to Michelle and the others who fed us so well! Her cookies are amazing! We are talking about staying here again for an anniversary but next time we will try to get a room with a fireplace or jacuzzi. We stayed in the Rose room which was beautiful and spacious. The only downfall of the room is that you are awakened each morning by the music playing downstairs which starts about 7 a.m.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tryon
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
238 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Flat Rock
334 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
15.3 mi away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Pine Crest Inn

Address: 85 Pinecrest Ln, Tryon, NC 28782-3486
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Tryon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tryon
Price Range: £108 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Pine Crest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a relaxing, intimate retreat tucked just a mile from downtown Tryon. Once a favorite of F. Scott Fitzgerald & Ernest Hemingway, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places & has received numerous national awards & recognition. The restaurant is renowned for its excellent foothills cuisine featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients & has received the Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence. The inn has luxurious suites & private cottages, all with private baths; most have fireplaces & jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 1906 Pine Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Pine Crest Hotel Tryon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing