We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reinvented and needs to step up their game” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby Slipper - CLOSED

Ruby Slipper
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Reinvented and needs to step up their game”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

There were many things wrong in the first few months of this restaurant, and all could be fixed for a little attention to detail and not much money. They closed for four months and are now opening again. If they fix the basics, they might make it this time. They need to serve full meals, not appetizers, train their wait staff properly, label the beers by type, not just cute names and serve some meat dishes. People go out for dinner, not tapas and gelato. After a snack and dessert where were they supposed to go next in Tryon? This time operate it like a real restaurant, not a hobby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank savageone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming but needs to work on the food/service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Lovely charming interior and owner who is trying so hard to please her diners. The menu is varied from pasta, soup,salad,seafood. Had the seafood grilled mixture: it didn't seem "grilled" and the sauce seemed to be the same alfredo sauce that was served on other diner's pasta. Heard other diners complaining that their food was cold or tepid when served. If the plates are cold before use they might be warmed before putting food on them, especially in the chilly weather. The home-made gelato is fantastic. This restaurant has struggled since opening due to town's major construction on the plaza where the café is located. Gaping holes and barriers scared off potential patrons. That shouldn't have happened. to new business that has just opened and is trying hard. People want to see them succeed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoyalE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have been twice to enjoy the a wonderful new choice to our small town. The atmosphere is fun and chic. Our server both times was savvy and attentive. The menu is creative but seems to be a work in progress. They are trying to find a niche in a very difficult town to make it. Pizza and subs are the only success story in town. We left feeling we had a great meal without having to drive to AVL or GSP. Try it and make up your own mind.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank affairtoremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, NC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This new restaurant in Tryon is very nicely done, lots of atmosphere, in a newly renovated building. Could be a wonderful place to eat or go for a drink. Had dinner with a friend, and to say the least, everything was terrible. Our server was not well informed about the wine choices, but we still made a good choice on our own. When he brought the wine, he opened the bottle but did not pour the wine - he just walked away. We ordered the ravioli which was bland and had a weird pumpkin sauce. The zuchini and squash veggie side was overcooked and mushy. We had the stuffed flounder which was also bland. The whole experience was very disappointing. Will not go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DinaColumbus_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I had a most enjoyable light lunch in this relatively new restaurant
in Tryon. The interior was charming- a creatively renovated space with high
ceilings, exposed brick and lots of glass. Bright and cheerful. The service was
attentive and friendly and our meal was very good. I had a bowl of delicious seafood soup
with a hint of curry... lots of seafood bits, and excellent flavor. My husband had the french
onion soup and he liked it, too. We both had the house salad- which was mixed greens
with a few cranberries tossed in and a tasty dressing. We plan to go back again soon-
probably for dinner next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acekingqueenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Slipper also viewed

Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing