We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle Crucis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Little Pond Farm
Ranked #4 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have stayed with Gaye and Frank multiple times through the last few years and the experience is always the same. Perfect. This is considered a bed and breakfast I guess but it really isn't. The Inn is like staying for the weeknd with your wealthy relatives at their mountain house. The rooms and bathrooms are perfect and they gourmet food prepared in front of you is fine dining at its best. Throw in the warmth and wittiness of the hostess and host and the combination is amazing. This is not a musty old Inn rather a first class resort not yet found by the world!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My book club just returned from celebrating our 20th anniversary at the simple and sophisticated Inn at Little Pond Farm. We celebrated our 10th and 15th anniversaries at Blackberry Farm, so we don't mind dropping some jack for a special occasions. Little Pond was every bit as wonderful as the world-renowned BBF. All 10 of us have plans to return.

The white/gray/beige color scheme throughout the property is soothing and restful. The interior designer member of our group was gobsmacked by the carpentry and finish work. Actually, we all were -- but the designer has exceptionally high standards for this sort of thing. We were even more impressed to discover that Frank, the husband of the husband/wife team that runs the place, did all the finish work and built all the furniture in the inn. It's got a rustic, Swedish vibe to it.

Someone from our group noticed that not one leaf littered the green lawn in front of the inn -- remarkable given that it's autumn in the N.C. mountains, and you'd expect to see fallen leaves everywhere. Such is the attention to detail Gaye and Frank lavish on their home and the guest experience.

After a welcome wine and cheese reception, Gaye and Frank invited us into their big, eat-in demonstration kitchen where the adorable young chef, Hunter Hallmark, schooled us on the art of making homemade pizza. The whole atmosphere was convivial, informal and fun.

And the food! It was simple, fresh and perfect. Goat cheese or blue cheese starred in nearly everything we had -- from an egg dish at breakfast to a grilled chicken salad (with fresh figs) at lunch and the artisan pizza we had at dinner. Oh, the grilled filet mignon we had at our Saturday night cooking class also had a delicate blue cheese sauce with it.

The inn has a full schedule of cooking classes, which you don't have to be an inn guest to take. (But why miss the whole experience?) You can also stay at the inn without signing up for a cooking class, but again I wonder why anyone would.

Beverage stations are close to each of the guest rooms and are filled with water, sodas, gourmet coffees and teas. The only suggestion I'd make to the innkeepers is to have some snacks -- granola bars and nuts, maybe -- at these stations. But that's a small quibble with something that is otherwise perfect.

Room Tip: All six inn rooms have queen beds, except for one with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Have_fun_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have been to The Inn At Little Pond twice this summer. Gaye and Frank are the best hosts we have ever had- they treat you like family. The rooms are all different but exquisite. The most beautiful furnishings and linens ensure complete comfort. We have done their cooking demonstrations twice, each time fabulous food and wine and Gaye's wonderful appetizers. Frank attends to evert detail making sure your glass is always full.

We have stayed at some of the finest hotels/Inns all over the world and can safely say The Inn At Little Pond is at the top of our list.

We are lucky to have our second home in Banner Elk, NC so we can stay as often as we like. We already have our dates set for Oct. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: all rooms are gorgeous you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just stayed for 2 nights with my wife at the Inn at Little Pond for my birthday. It was a wonderful experience as the inn is very welcoming and the interior is minimalist but homey. Gaye and Frank are great hosts and accommodated our every need. Be sure to go when they have a cooking demonstration in their kitchen. A group of 8 were the and we were worried we would be kind of left out. Not the case. We had a wonderful dinner with great people that made us feel part of the group. The guest chef prepared some fantastic, but easy to prepare dishes and Gaye made sure we had all the recipes before we left.

Our favorite time was sitting on the front porch having a glass of wine in the afternoon or coffee in the morning. I sat there for hours reading a book. Not to miss is the original Mast General Store about 1/2 mile away. Mast has stores in most of the larger cities in the area but the original is a throw back to an earlier time. If you can't find something there, you probably don't really need it.

There are plenty of touristy things to do in the Boone area with good restaurants.

We have stayed in a few B&B's and this is our favorite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Floyd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Inn is just a dream. Gaye and Frank are welcoming hosts, and every detail of this place has their touch. From the charming porch to the exquisite cuisine, this is a luxurious way to get away from it all and focus on what's really important.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Little Pond Farm to celebrate her birthday and our anniversary. The reason we chose it is because they were hosting a cooking class, but we were surprised to find perhaps the most luxurious bed and breakfast we'd ever seen. The decor is minimalist, but beautiful; the furniture, flatware and room amenities are all imported from Europe, the result of our hosts' extensive travels. The food - both at the cooking class and at breakfast - was world-class, and we learned that our hosts had had culinary training. The best part of all was the friendliness of our hosts. The inn is their home and they're sharing it with you, and it truly feels that way. They want you to have a beautiful time while you're there, including what you eat, what you do, and how you rest and relax. We will definitely be coming back here for many years to come!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warriormonk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We could not find enough superlatives to describe The Inn. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed like old friends. For those who appreciate the best you need look no further. We have travelled the World and stayed in some of the top hotels in Europe, South Africa, the South Pacific and The Orient as well as some beautiful B & B's but this was my favorite. Frank and Gaye have superb taste in everything from the crockery (imported from France) to the beautiful Italian cashmere blanket casually draped over a chair in our room. Frank is a master cabinetmaker and the whole Inn showcases his exquisite work. Gaye runs cooking classes out of the professional kitchen and is also a jewelry designer (some of her pieces are on display) and they too like the Inn are beautiful in their simplicity. The beds are some of the best we've experienced and the fresh air and tranquility of that whole area makes for a wonderfully relaxing visit. Breakfasts were excellent but we looked forward to arriving back to the Inn at the end of the day (after touring the beautiful Blue Mountain Parkway) to Gaye's wonderful canapés and wine and a visit with our charming Hosts. What a divine place for a family reunion, wedding or just a great escape weekend. We just wish we were closer!

Room Tip: We viewed all of them and they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
8.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
627 reviews
6.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
7.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Super 8 Boone NC
Super 8 Boone NC
#12 of 18 in Boone
959 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 18 in Boone
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Little Pond Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Little Pond Farm

Address: 208 Valle Cay Dr, Valle Crucis, NC 28692-8985
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range: £188 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing