We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valle Crucis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Bear Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The owners just happened to be out of town for the four days we spent at Lazy Bear. However, one their best friends, Chip, managed the place in their absence. Chip along with the other staff members made us feel right at home. We had the best breakfasts, the best directions of where to visit and eat in the area and the best time ever spent in a B&B! The lodge is clean, in a wonderful setting and very comfortable. We felt more like we were at home rather than at a vacation spot. I've never seen staff so eager to make us comfortable and who were also very friendly.
We feel like we've made friends for life and are looking forward to our next visit. Oh, and don't forget the dogs Bo and Bella... They were wonderful and very friendly, too.
What a great experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
74
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, TX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hidden gem of a lodge is a dream come true for people who are looking for comfort and hospitality in a peaceful mountain setting. We stayed only one night and wished that we had made plans to stay longer. Ann immediately made us feel like family. She recommended good places to eat and activities not to be missed. Watching the deer, listening to the sounds of the birds and the rustle of the leaves quickly establishes that this is truly a restful setting. Darkness brought its own entertainment as we sat on the main deck and watched the flying squirrels! The lodge is beautiful and truly feels like the home that it is. Each bedroom and bathroom is decorated with attention to detail. The breakfast was excellent and served in the outdoor dining area where we had beautiful mountain views.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JourneyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

The attention to detail is so apparent at The Lazy Bear Lodge. The Inn Keepers, Ann and Mark do an amazing job maintaining and upkeeping every part of the lodge. You are immediately calmed by the beautiful wild flowers, vines, waterfall and coi filled pond on your walk up to the porch. Bo & Bella are the two resident dogs who love everyone and are calm and well mannered, and so luvable! The rooms are better than any Ritz Carlton room that we have visited. The plush bedding and soft linens add to the antique, handcrafted furniture. Each room has its own bathroom and tub/shower. The water pressure and abundance of hot water is always great! Hand made soaps, plush towels and bathrobes complete this. Wonderful views from every room. Oh! and the farm fresh breakfast cannot be beat! Nothing like farm fresh eggs or french toast with banana's foster! It is a wonderful retreat that we try to make a couple times a year!

Room Tip: We love the rooms that face the mountains... but all of the rooms have great views and seem equal in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

What a beautiful property overlooking the mountains! We stayed 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Anne, the innkeeper, was so accommodating and hospitable. She welcomed us, helped us with choosing the right place for dinner and made the reservations. I felt like I was visiting an old friend. Our room was spacious and cozy, with a private deck to watch the birds flying to the feeders. The breakfast was perfect in a dining room with separate tables, yet cozy enough to converse with other guests. On the second morning the weather was warm enough that we sat outside out on the deck. A very relaxing and pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms don't have the occasional sound of people going up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mawinkelman, Owner at Lazy Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. When coming back to the area we welcome you back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This trip was my first experience staying at a true bed and breakfast and it was lovely. With a spa room, a gift shop featuring art and jewelry from local craftsmen/women and the calibur of the food, I felt like I was at a special resort. The trip was a gift from my mother and we will absolutely be back. If you can, and the weather cooperates, you should be sure to plan a day just to spend in your room and around the property. I could have sat on our private deck all afternoon and been completely content. We were able to enjoy an exceptional off-season deal and stayed three nights for the price of two.

Room Tip: The Hummingbird Room has two beds and its own private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sc34247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My boyfriend and I (we're in our twenties) recently spent a night at the Lazy Bear Lodge. It was a wonderful experience! We stayed in the hummingbird room---great views, amenities, and the overall feel was very inviting. The owners were very hospitable; they made us feel welcomed yet respected our privacy at the same time. The breakfast was fantastic! Lots of delicious, freshly made choices. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for some cozy, quiet time in the mountains!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs seem to be more private & have the jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

When I return in April, it will be my third visit to this exceptionally wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Anne goes out of her way to make your stay one of a kind and you feel so comfortable just as though you were in your own home. Lovely rooms, delicious food and even a massage which is a real treat. Of all the many places I've been, this is one of the best and I know you'd love it too.

Room Tip: I've tried a couple of the rooms but loved the mountain view one the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margiet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
4.8 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mast Farm Inn
The Mast Farm Inn
#1 of 6 in Valle Crucis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#2 of 6 in Valle Crucis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Bear Lodge

Property: Lazy Bear Lodge
Address: 315 Lazy Bear Trl, Valle Crucis, NC 28692-8457
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is a 2-story log cabin with 5 luxurious bedrooms, large comfortable porches, long range sweeping views, and plenty of privacy. The relaxing front porch overlooks a garden and sream, and is just steps away from convenient parking. Sweeping long-range views are found from the two story living room and back porches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing