We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Over Yonder

Over Yonder
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Over Yonder is a destination restaurant in Valle Crucis, North Carolina; Near Blowing Rock, Boone, Banner Elk, and Linville in The Western North Carolina High Country mountains. Designed, owned and managed by the award-winning Mast Farm Inn, Over Yonder restaurant tells the story of historic Appalachian cuisine in a picturesque setting atop the rolling hills and peaks of Valle Crucis, North Carolina. Located across from the Original Mast General Store, a few hundred yards from The Mast Farm Inn.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Amazing food in a historical setting. There isn't a lot of seating, so if you arrive during a busy time, expect to wait. We had the home made chips, chicken-fried chicken with whipped potatoes and green beans. My mouth is watering at just the memory! Oh, and the price was really affordable - win win.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TJthehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    72
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great dinner with the family ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We tried it from a recommendation from a family friend. Wasn't quite sure we would fit in with our kids, but tried it anyway. The house is really nice with literally a homey feel. The server was really great with us and our little ones. The food was really fresh and tasted great. Will definitely come back next time we are in town

Helpful?
1 Thank noahwilliams75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and pet friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had lunch with a friend. He had two large dogs and we had a medium sized. Hostess set us up outside in a fenced gazebo (wow) so the dogs had some freedom. Food and service were just great and the afternoon was wonderful. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
372 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Dined with a bus trip of 34 people. What a neat place and creative menu and place. Beautiful art is displayed for sale on the walls. Fresh flowers grown on property are on the tables. Our group could choose from 3 entrees.....tomato cobbler with salad, Valle Cheeseburger, Shrimp and grits! Desserts to choose from : Chocate Chess Pie a la mode, Peach Cobbler a la mode, Hot Fudge Sundae. Drinks to select: Sweet Ginger and Mint Tea, Coffee or Water. Te wait staff tended yo our every need and the experience was wonderful. EVERYTHING was delicious and I will return with my friends. 5 stars!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were a large party. Food was excellent. Service great. Atmosphere awesome - historic house. We just loved it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfourFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Over Yonder also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Valle Crucis, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Over Yonder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing