We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mast Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mast Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had an amazing time! Everything was perfect. The attention to detail was first class. The location is beautiful. The staff was extremely warm and friendly. The breakfast was delicious! You can't improve upon perfection!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBJArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    45
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
77
290
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and i were on our road trip from the south to the north and veered east over the mountains to visit the area around Boone and Blowing Rock and were lucky enough to stay at this Inn. They are attentive to all of the details in your stay, including making notations in your profile once you have made a reservation as to your likes and dislikes and continue to update that file during your stay. It is the kind of place as I mentioned in the beginning that you might want to have an excuse not to go out! Every room is filled with books and the hallways are filled with more books and games to play. It has a small restaurant on the premises and tap room area to sit and have a drink or coffee. Danielle is very knowledge and enthusiastic (well traveled too) about the area. She had a suggested itinerary all set for us when we asked. The rooms are lovely and have the softest sheets to sleep on. I would say though if you wanted some privacy you might want to stay in one of the outer buildings and not in the Inn itself. In fact Danielle suggested that the next time we stay there. And indeed I do hope to make the stop there a tradition when we leave Florida to head back to our other home in the North. For sure this inn is a great "getaway" for those who live a bit closer say Charlotte or Raleigh/Durham.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms in one of the outer buidlings for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Mast Farm Inn is a wonderful place to stay in Valle Crucis NC. Danielle and her team always make you feel welcome and the food is excellent. It's a great place to treat yourself to a nice weekend getaway where you will experience a unique and very enjoyable and memorable stay nestled in a historic inn in a mountain valley.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RNarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Every aspect of our experience at the Mast Farm Inn was great. The room itself (Elizabeth Gray Vining) was so charming and we even had a cold enough night to use the fireplace in the room on evening. I wandered around and looked at the other rooms that were open, and I don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms. I will say that our room was right over the bar, so if anyone was in there, you could hear the muffled conversation. It was a quiet couple of days, so it was fine for us, but if there's a full house, it might be a little loud for some people. We had breakfast there and my BF (who doesn't really like sweet breakfasts) still thinks that the baked french toast was one of the best things he's ever eaten. We also had dinner there one night and everything was great. I know farm to table is the thing these days, but when the Inn actually grows some of the veggies and they have access to fresh local meats and fish, it really means something. Don't miss the great drinks that Danielle whips up. We loved the moonshine drinks and I had one with the blueberry moonshine that I wish I could go back and have again! Thanks to everyone there for the real smiles, advice on where to go, and kindness.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshineDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a very unique and intimate setting provided by the Mast Farm Inn for our destination elopement ceremony, and Innkeeper Danielle Deschamps made sure all the details were handled successfully and succinctly for our special day. The chef's meal designed for our evening was simply elegant and delicious, and our Hummingbird cake was perfectly moist and super yummy! We shared a bottle of champagne on the front porch rockers, and had a special room that was very well-kept and clean for changing clothes in. I was impressed with the details every where you look, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a great time, and loved our moments in Valle Crucis thanks to Danielle and the team at The Mast Farm Inn.

Room Tip: The top, front, corner room (on the east side?) of the Inn has a great view of the entire property a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our first trip to an American B&B was totally brilliant. Even before we arrived, we felt that the communication received from the Innkeepers showed a genuine interest in what we would benefit from during our stay. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a cottage which offered even more room that we expected and access to lovely grounds with a pond.

The lovely fresh smell and warmth of the cottage, with fire lit and soft music playing made it totally welcoming. Every detail seems to have been thought of, including a "welcome" bag with magazines etc and a personalised welcome card . The staff were super friendly and helpful at all times.

The main house is beautiful, including the wrap around porch with rocking chairs. It deserves it's recognition with the "Historic houses of America Award".

Breakfast was healthy, delicious and imaginatively put together. Our menu at breakfast was personalised to include our names and made a very nice reminder of our trip.

The area of Valle Crucis is really lovely within easy reach of Boone & Blowing Rock, both worth a visit.

We booked for only 2 nights but would have stayed longer if we could. This is a must for anyone seeking a really special stay in the mountains.

This is an outstanding property with staff that clearly take the job seriously. Best B&B that we visited this year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheron562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Mast Farm Inn is certainly a bed and breakfast, but it's also a full-service restaurant and a community of cottages that provide quiet, comfortable lodging away from the main house. This unique configuration works well for individuals, couples or entire families. My wife and I stayed in one of the rustic cottages and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations. Breakfast the next morning exceeded expectations in all respects. We plan to return for a longer stay, and would recommend this property without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
365 reviews
7.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
583 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
335 reviews
5.8 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
0.9 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#2 of 6 in Valle Crucis
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mast Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mast Farm Inn

Property: The Mast Farm Inn
Address: 2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mast Farm Inn is an award-winning historic country inn & restaurant in the Valle Crucis Historical District of North Carolina, which has been welcoming guests since the 1800s; A Historic Hotels of America hotel, a Select Registry Inn, and on The National Register of Historic Places. So Much More… The world renowned Mast Farm Inn of Valle Crucis is nothing short of a handcrafted masterpiece of North Carolina Folk Art ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mast Farm Hotel Valle Crucis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing