We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time Visitors!”
Review of The Mast Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mast Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third Time Visitors!”
Reviewed 4 November 2008

My husband and I have made several trips to The Mast Farm Inn - three to be exact. For our latest trip in Sept 2008, we opted for a spontaneous get-away after the Deschamp family planted the seed with an e-mail invitation; it was the second time we had stayed there since they had taken over ownership. We brought our children with us this time as well! What a treat!

We have stayed in the Loom House, the Woodwork Shop and now the Granary. The Granary was more than accomodating for us all. In the two short days we were there, we experienced refreshment and renewal. We unplugged.

For us, The Mast Farm Inn is an experience. Two words come to mind: simplicity and solitude (yes, even with young children!).

Highlights include: the at-home family feel, the personal attention, and culinary delights with a focus on fresh, organic, minimally processed, eco-friendly dining experiences. We felt pampered and well-loved.

The Deschamp family epitomizes family entreprenuership and community-centered work. We love to be engulfed by the spirit of their efforts and wholeheartedly support their vision as we have experienced it.

  • Liked — simplicity and culinary delights
  • Disliked — too short
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    45
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
79
297
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Our visit to The Mast Farm Inn was one of the most delightful experiences we have had when staying out of town. The staff and Inn Keepers make sure that they have handled every detail no matter how small. The food is wonderful. Hot coffee or the beverage of your choice is left at your door by 8am each morning. If you want a very unique experience and like being treated like royalty, you will want to stay at The Mast Farm Inn.

  • Liked — The uniqueness
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrabham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We recently stayed at the Mast Farm Inn for part of our motorcycle tour of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Originally, we only planned to stay for 2 nights. We crashed on the motorycle on our 2nd day. My husband had to be hospitalized for 2 days and then was not released to travel back home for 2 more days. The family and employees of Mast Farm Inn were so helpful to me during this time. If it wasn't for their support and help, I don't know what I would have done. They picked me up from the hospital after my husband was admitted, made breakfast 'to go' for me to take him in the hospital, constantly checked on his condition, helped load the crashed bike into our trailer, unhitched the trailer from our truck so that I could drive back to the hospital for visits and to pick him up. When he was discharged, they moved us to the 'Blacksmith Shop' because he could not climb stairs and the room served our needs the best for his recovery prior to traveling home. This family of innkeepers truly cares about making the experience of their guests the best it can be -- even in such extraordinary circumstances as we had. They went above and beyond our expectations of any B&B. We will definitely return again -- only without a motorcycle next time!

  • Liked — The uniqueness of each room or cabin, the outstanding breakfasts and gourmet dinner.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daybreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Excellent service, ambience, amazing food and overall value. We were thrilled with the overall experience. The ownership/management’s friendliness was exceptional. They were focused on our experience, enjoyment to assure we had a phenomenal stay.

  • Liked — Exceptional Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOPTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Some friends recommended The Mast Farm Inn and we are so glad they did! Our entire experience was exceptional--from beginning to end--and the accommodations were perfect. Our hosts were the most charming people and exceedingly helpful when it came time to plan local outings to the winery, arts festival, etc. Finally, be sure to book at least one evening meal at the restaurant....great food, excellent service and a wonderful wine list. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnscriptedThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2008

The best B and B experience my wife and I have had! The hospitality exhibited by the staff was superb and the room (Blacksmiths Cottage) was outstanding. The food, especially breakfasts, was another highlight of the stay. We loved this place so much that we are making a gift of a weekend stay to others in our family so that they may celebrate their anniversary/birthdays.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, wi
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2008

As travelers, very seldom do we come across an Inn that is perfect in every way. The Mast Farm Inn is just that. The Inn is simply charming and beautiful; ir's like stepping back to an earlier century. The family that runs the Inn went above and beyond to accomodate us in every way. They are the sweetest family and their personal service made everything special!! The food was OUT OF THIS WORLD DELICIOUS attracting travelers and locals alike! True southern gourmet! Not only did we stay in the beautiful and charming Inn, we also stayed in the historic Granary Cabin, it was all so perfect! We never wanted to leave, we could have stayed there forever!! We truly and wholeheartedly recommend the Mast Farm Inn to everyone. I know without a doubt, you will fall in love with the family and the Inn just as we have. We look forward to going back as soon as we can and as often as we can.

Sincerely,
Mike and Marsha
Milwaukee, WI

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovenorthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
5.8 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mast Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mast Farm Inn

Property: The Mast Farm Inn
Address: 2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mast Farm Inn is an award-winning historic country inn & restaurant in the Valle Crucis Historical District of North Carolina, which has been welcoming guests since the 1800s; A Historic Hotels of America hotel, a Select Registry Inn, and on The National Register of Historic Places. So Much More… The world renowned Mast Farm Inn of Valle Crucis is nothing short of a handcrafted masterpiece of North Carolina Folk Art ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mast Farm Hotel Valle Crucis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing