We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern comfort, charm, and beauty..... and some good home-cooked food.”
Review of The Mast Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mast Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Valle Crucis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Having grown up in the mountains of Western North Carolina, I travel frequently throughout the region. While I find my own home town of Hendersonville to be one of the most friendly and beautiful that I have seen, the tiny town just a little west of Blowing Rock and Boone, known as Valle Crucis, is one of the most pristine. This is North Carolina’s mini-Tuscany, with gently rolling hills and a lush green backdrop. And, nestled right in the heart of all this beauty lies the Mast Farm Inn where I stayed for two nights in July with my teenage son and daughter during a music festival in nearby Sugar Grove (highly recommended- the Kruger Brothers and Doc Watson absolutely rock the house and the Carolina Chocolate Drops are a real treat!). What a fantastic rustic little inn. Guests can stay either in the main farmhouse or in one of the small cottages on the property. We stayed in the Blacksmith Shop, perfect for the three of us with a queen bed downstairs and a twin in the small loft upstairs. Out back is a small pond with a couple of chairs where you can sit and read and just enjoy nature. The entire inn sits on such a beautiful piece of land; its hard to imagine a more serene place to just get away from it all.
A stay at the Mast Farm includes a fabulous and plentiful breakfast in the morning. The dishes are so varied and delicious; I will include a photo. And for a small price, don’t miss having a home-cooked dinner here. The meal includes four courses- salad, soup, entree, and dessert- with ingredients from their gardens. Simply simple and outstandingly good. This is an abundant meal, so come hungry!
One final plus to mention about this inn: its proximity to lots of other beautiful places. Blowing Rock, Linville Falls, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and Grandfather Mountain are very close by and well worth a side trip. I will definitely be back to the Mast Farm, hopefully in the October to see Carolina in the Fall.

Thanks so much to the Deschamps for your kindness and commitment to such a beautiful establishment.

Sincerely,

Ann M.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarheelann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2009

Mike and I have stayed at the Mast Farm on 4 different occasions and have loved each one. Sandra and her family make us feel like we are part of their family. We have always stayed in the cottages and loved each one. We stayed in the Black Smith Cottage on our first visit and it will probably always be our favorite, but the Loom House is the oldest and makes you feel as if you have stepped back in time, with a luxurious modern day comfort. We stayed in the Gazebo Cottage on our last visit and loved it as well, with it's seclusion and wonderful porch. All of the cottages are beautiful and comfortable in their own unique way. From the braying "rooster donkey" that wakes you in the morning to the wonderful breakfasts Sandra's mom and sister prepare we love every visit and look forward to our next one. We joke w/ Sandra that we always bring the rain, but that's okay our visits are meant for relaxing which we rarely do any other time. We love the Mast Farm and everyone there. We would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away, relax and leave the rat race somewhere else. You cannot beat the beauty of Valle Crusis and Grandfather Mountain or the comfortable, relaxing and pampered atmosphere of the Mast Farm. We look forward to our next visit, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadisonAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

All that we had hoped for and more!!
What delightful location, scenery, hospitality, food, bed...the whole package for a heavenly get-away.
Can't say enough about the Inn-keepers and chef. The attention to details in the buildings, restoration services and food were beyond all expectations.
Thank you Sandra, Danielle, Gaetano and Sarah!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmtchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Our three days at the Mast Farm Inn were some of the most relaxing days in recent memory. The Inn Keepers were most gracious and provided such attentive service, while giving us the space to enjoy the breathtaking grounds and scenic vistas. The breakfast was amazing and such generous portions! We were able wrap and take what we couldn't finish and snack on it all day long as we hiked the nearby mountains and trails. nummmmy! We stayed in the meticulously kept Woodworking house and cozied up with some classic movies before turning in- it felt like we'd gone back in time. Simple, easy and natural. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderfuladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We enjoyed the Mast Farm Inn. My husband, daughter and I stayed in the Woodshop. It was nicely decorated and cozy. Our daughter slept up in the loft. Our bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Sandra was very welcoming and helpful. She highlighted activities in brochures for us based on our interests. Behind our cabin, there is a peaceful small lake where it's wonderful to sit.
The food was delicious. We enjoyed the gourmet two course breakfast. We also had dinner there (which is served only Thurs-Sat. nights). Our names were on the menus.
We enjoyed seeing the bunnies, and across the street there is a horse and donkey to say "Hi" to. As well as several Porsches to enjoy looking at (or renting).
I read the review below about the exteme heat, and am a little confused. When we were there it wasn't hot (in fact it was cool) and we were there during the first week of August. It's cool in the mountains. We didn't need air conditioning.
I would highly recommend the Mast Farm Inn.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank traveler123455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Before coming to Mast Inn we reviewed comments from past guests. We read the description of Rasberry Hill. We thought we were going to a place we would enjoy and feel refreshed and comfortable. Upon arrival we entered Rasberry Hill Cabin and found it very hot as soon as we entered the door. We seen the small window unit air condition in the den. We turned it on to the coolest setting. We went upstairs to bedroom and there was no window air condition. They do say in their description on The Mast Inn web site that there is air condition in the upstairs master bedroom. There is no air condition in the downstairs bedroom as well. There is outlets in the floor for air/heat but the central air doesn't work. We got back in our vehicle and drove back to the main house. We told the hostess the situation about the air condition. We were very concerned for my husband because he can't endure extreme heat. He has had mini strokes and a heart condition. She said she would send someone to fix the air. Two hours past and we stopped by to see what had been done. She indicated there is nothing else that could be done. The one window unit is all there is for Rasberry Hill Cabin. As we all know heat rises and it was very hot in the upstairs. Downstairs was still just about uncomfortable too. We asked for another room and were told there wasn't any available. We asked for a refund and told no. We paid $450.00 for a one night stay in Rasberry Hill Cabin on August 15, 2009. We had to go to a store and purchase fans to place in the bedrooms so we could try and sleep. As for breakfast we got four strips of bacon and a too sweet pastry item. I really was hoping for our farm fresh eggs and was told our farm fresh eggs were the ingredients in the too sweet pastry. There was four of us so we got each a strip of bacon for breakfast and that was all since we couldn't eat the pastry. We had to venture to the Mountain House Restaurant to eat since the strip of bacon just wasn't enough for us. Let me add if you want good service and good food at a fair price eat at Mountain House Restaurant. We are just thankful we only had to bear the heat of the cabin for just one night. We had come to the mountains to see The Horn In The West. The drama is excellent. The only disappointment was the air condition and the breakfast. We feel at $450.00 a night we should have gotten much better treatment. Rasberry Hill Cabin would be good for the fall and winter months and early spring. This cabin gets too hot for the summer months unless the owners decide to install proper air condition system. We stay at many cabins in the mountains and we have never encountered such poor air condition. Mast Inn web site is misleading when they describe the air condition in Rasberry Hill Cabin. If you like to sweat then by all means stay at Rasberry Hill in the summer. Personally my family and I like to feel cool and comfortable. Beware when they say air condition at Mast Inn because it just isn't up to standards. Harris

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pumpkincenter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Found Mast Farm Inn on Trip Advisor. Stayed for 2 nights for our 35th Anniversary. It was the best. We arrived for dinner and it was superb. The room and bedding was just as we had expected. We got a package to rent a Porsche for a day. We had it for 24 hours with a picnic lunch. Got it about 11 AM the first day and used it until 9 PM and they got up in the morning and drove it for 2 hours the next. What a treat. Definitely worth the expense. The breakfast was very tasty. Would recommend the Mast Farm Inn for anyone wanting something different for a weekend away. We loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VBRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valle Crucis
7.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
627 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
467 reviews
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
119 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
7.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mast Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mast Farm Inn

Address: 2543 Broadstone Road, PO Box 704, Valle Crucis, NC 28691
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Valle Crucis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Valle Crucis
Price Range: £117 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mast Farm Inn is an award-winning historic country inn & restaurant in the Valle Crucis Historical District of North Carolina, which has been welcoming guests since the 1800s; A Historic Hotels of America hotel, a Select Registry Inn, and on The National Register of Historic Places. So Much More… The world renowned Mast Farm Inn of Valle Crucis is nothing short of a handcrafted masterpiece of North Carolina Folk Art ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Mast Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mast Farm Hotel Valle Crucis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing