We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous view, quality craftsmanship, excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Vilas, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Levon K
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous view, quality craftsmanship, excellent location”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the cabin which is super accessible to Boone & the surrounding area, after driving up a steep mountain drive. Be mindful of adverse weather, 4WD could be necessary (wasn't for us, I was in a sedan).

The cabin was so beautiful. Excellent craftsmanship, plenty of space, high quality appliances & amenities, and the porchES. Two porches! One downstairs by the living room, large with seating, a grill, and the hot tub; and upstairs, off the loft bedroom offering layered views of the mountains beyond.

I absolutely hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Craftsmanship
Liked least: Fairly close neighboring cabin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn Blo...
1 review
“Hawkfeather is a wonderful cabin.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Hawkfeather is a charming cabin with breathtaking views. The cabin is cozy and comfortable with everything you need except food. Our visit was truly special and I highly recommend this cabin. As a side note, we saw lots of wildlife including many wild turkeys.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James J
1 review
“Awesome porch”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family had a really wonderful stay in this cabin. Very peaceful and quiet, not far from Boone & Blowing Rock which we visited daily, has a nice hot tub, and is only a very few years old. We enjoyed the porch most, and left after a week here feeling very relaxed and refreshed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahvanW...
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Luxurious getaway with beautiful views”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family of 4 (2 small kids) and two dogs enjoyed a magnificent stay at this amazing cabin over Christmas week. The cabin is equipped with everything you can possibly hope for and more. Beds were incredibly comfortable and amazing views greet you from just about every window. One night we saw deer on our way up to the cabin. Everyone LOVED the hot tub. Close proximity to Boone, Blowing Rock and other tourist outings with fun activities such as sledding, tubing and more. Cabin is very private and offers a good walk area for dogs. The owners are wonderful and very helpful! Thanks for a magnificent stay in beautiful nature!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eazy_E_Hi...
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended; Like-New Condition; Hard to Leave!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was, by far, the nicest vacation home any of us have stayed in yet (and we've stayed in a few). The house is in such good condition that it appears to be just recently built, all of the appliances are top-of-the-line and very quiet, the yard is well-kept, the beds and furniture are comfortable, it has a cook's kitchen (fully furnished and every utensil/appliance you could need), and the location is private (but not scary). Be sure you don't have a ton of things to do when you visit, as you'll want to spend most of your time at the cabin. We'd wake up in the morning and spend a few easy hours on the huge back deck admiring the gorgeous view, then we'd end the day in the same way. It's so nice that if there's a rainy day, you're actually relieved you get to stay home. There is a short ten-minute drive into downtown Boone, and the Tennessee border is ten minutes in the other direction (in case you like playing with fireworks). Like exercise? Try walking down the driveway to the street and back (~1 mile? Feels like ten)-- you'll find muscles you never knew you had. And there's a nice hot tub, well cared for and clean. Kids? Two words: nature and cable TV. Our seven-year-old daughter spent hours chasing butterflies and picking wild blackberries. I did not speak to the owners personally, though I overheard a phone conversation with them and they seem friendly and accomodating.

We'd all go back in a heartbeat.

And since I can't write such an amazing review without appearing suspicious... be prepared for the driveway: we made it up in our stellar front-wheel-drive VW's, but if you're coming in the winter I'd recommend all-wheel-drive or a snowmobile. And, it's not a bad thing, though you need to be prepared to take your own garbage out: the town recycling center is a 5-minute drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our expectations vs. the actual condition: so nice!
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing