We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ECU Graduation Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pamlico House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pamlico House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Washington B&B and Inns
N Cackalacky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ECU Graduation Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

My husband and I were looking for something other than a chain hotel, and wow did we find a charming little B&B to stay for ECU Graduation weekend. We happened to be there during the Art walk and enjoyed free wine and appetizers, some live bluegrass music on the sidewalk, and lots of nice folks. We instantly made friends with another couple staying at the B&B, and what we thought would be 30 minutes turned into a delightful 3 hour chat on a beautiful wrap around porch. Highly recommend this location for any couple looking for a little gem near Greenville or any other surrounding small town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newly converted NOLA room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMNCackalacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    32
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
93
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pamlico House. Virginia is so gracious and the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Although there are not TVs in suite, we enjoyed watching a movie downstairs in the sitting room. I would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janrichwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

While I call the Northeast my home I recently had the pleasure to spend four wonderful nights at this beautiful historic bed and breakfast. The interior furnishings are absolutely stunning from the gorgeous antique dining room set to the mantles and mirrors throughout. Truly a charming home where every possible need had been considered and met. Our room was lovely, large and quiet. The bed was so comfortable I had no problem dropping off to sleep. Virginia, the owner, was so gracious a hostess making us feel truly welcome. She is very knowledgeable on the area and gladly suggested possible sites we may be interested in checking out. The breakfasts were bountiful and Virginia truly offered inspired variety over the four day stay. Our good bye bag of homemade cookies topped off a delightful stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are nice if stairs are an issue. Enjoyed our room on the second floor a bit away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy2653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The owner is worderful person and cook. The breakfasts are tasty and filing. But, if you're thinkinking you're staying at a hotel you are not.Tthere are no TVs in the rooms TVs in family room. Breakfast is served at a certain time. The breakfast is delicious but no changs to the menu. If you like Bed and Breakfast, great but you like hotels this may not be your cut of tea

Room Tip: rooms are great but only one room on bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylandtraveler1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

As with recent New Years, we seek out interesting (warmer) locations to stay out of town. This year we decided we would explore Washington and New Bern, NC. We picked the Pamlico House based on the online reviews, and were VERY glad that we did! Virginia Finnerty is a wonderful and gracious host, very outgoing and interesting to talk with. She told us right up front when we were making reservations that she was hosting a New Years party for her Washington neighbors in case we wanted to change plans, but that we were welcome to join the party! We had a fantastic time meeting her many interesting friends, many of whom had relocated to Washington from other places. Lots of good food and drinks! The Pamlico B&B rooms are quite spacious, elegant and well-maintained. As other reviewers have indicated, the breakfasts are wonderful and served in a lovely old dining room. The B&B location is within walking distance of the town waterfront and downtown, and parking downtown is also quite convenient. Would highly recommend the Pamlico B&B and Washington, NC as a destination.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 615JohnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfinnerty, Owner at Pamlico House B&B, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
No, we are not a hotel, which is exactly the point. We take that remark as compliment, thank you!
Just to clarify . . .
• Breakfast is served at the time requested by guests between 8-10 AM. Special arrangements are made for guests needing an earlier breakfast.
• Although there is no menu, all guests are asked their preferences and/or special dietary needs and every effort is made to accommodate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a very cozy B&B set in the lovely historic section of Washington NC. The Proprietor is very wecloming and accomodating. Breakfast was delivious, and most improtnatly the coffee was great. They have a wide range of good beer and wine for slae as well. I would defintely recommend this B&B. We were in and out without a hitch, but a longer stay feels like a good idea now that I know about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WOF1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

we had a great night at Pamlico House B & B. We visit many B & B's throughout the middle Atlantic states. Perhaps the hostess might greet guests with a drink as they check in. Savannah is great about this.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms remove you from street noise & kitchen noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington
Hampton Inn Washington
#1 of 6 in Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Washington
Magnuson Hotel Washington
#2 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites-Greenville
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#5 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
#1 of 21 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamlico House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamlico House B&B

Property: Pamlico House B&B
Address: 400 E Main St, Washington, NC 27889-5039
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessential bed & breakfast, the Pamlico House offers a choice of five luxury guest rooms with private baths, and all the added amenities that you associate with the world’s finest boutique hotels.There are spacious common areas for conversation, reading or quiet relaxation — including a parlor, family/media room, formal dining room, large wrap-around porch and garden.The Pamlico House is conveniently located in the heart of Washington's Historic District, just a short stroll from the picturesque waterfront and docks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing