We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable weekend in August”
Review of Pamlico House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pamlico House B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Washington B&B and Inns
1 review
“Enjoyable weekend in August”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Was looking for a place to stay on short notice. Found the Pamlico House on the Internet and booked the NOLA room. Recieved the confirmation in minutes. When we arrived we were thrilled with the room. It took us back in time and made us feel we were in Nrw Orleans. The break fasts were outstanding. The next time we can get away for a quiet weekend we will be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Floyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    32
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
93
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ROCKY MOUNT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a wonderful weekend at the Pamlico House B&B. Our room was large, comfortable and very clean. The breakfasts were delicious and the large, wrap around porch -- inviting. Virginia is a wonderful hostess! The town of Little Washington had some very good restaurants. The Bank was wonderful and so was On The Waterfront. We went to Goose Creek State Park and spent a few hours exploring Bath. We will definitely return for another weekend getaway. And to think, it is only an hour from home!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garwoodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful home and excellent innkeeper, Virginia. Exquisite breakfast and beautiful rooms. We will definitely stay again Your choice of many different wines. A little too far to walk to historic Washington but parking is easy so this was not a negative. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Beaufort room - absolutely beautiful, exquisite sheets, towels. Very clean. I will choose this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NECornhusker_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful, but very rude and difficult if you have special needs, i.e. Service dogs. Not worth the trouble. Wedding plans will be moved elsewhere. So weary of this kind of treatment. Will not refund $.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Magnolianatural2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfinnerty, Owner at Pamlico House B&B, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
At the Pamlico House happy and satisfied customers are always our goal; all our guests are special and their needs important. In order to meets our guests’ special needs and requests we kindly ask to be notified in advance and sometimes we may need to ask questions that may seem nosy or rude. We’re very sorry our concern and frustration because we were not prepared for Magnolianatural2014 and her service dogs were perceived as being rude and difficult.
We wish Magnolianatural2014 had told us how she felt while she was here, so that we could have had the opportunity to address her concerns at that time. We go out of our way to be gracious and welcoming hosts, and it is always our intention to make our guests feel comfortable and at home.

For the record: Magnolianatural2014 appeared to enjoy her stay. Wedding plans or a refund were never mentioned or discussed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way to a weekend on the Outer Banks. We live in Raleigh and have wanted to see Historic Bath (the oldest town in NC) and "little Washington" for some time, so we decided to work it into this trip. The Inn is very pretty, the exterior especially so. Our room, the Bonner room, was very spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was basic but met all of our needs. Breakfast was very good. We enjoyed sitting out on the large front porch in the evening and looking at the historic homes in the neighborhood. A very cute downtown with several restaurants is within walking distance. We walked to dinner at a restaurant called "The Bank" (which was very good), then took a walk along the water afterwards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I wanted to get out of raleigh for a night midweek and we were not sorry. The town is quaint, the people are great, and Virginia is an incredible host. She was very knowledgable about things to do in the area and her breakfast was very good

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terigray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This B&B is in a beautiful old home that was built in 1906 as a rectory. It has a beautful wrap around porch, large rooms, and is full of wonderful and interesting antiques and knick nacks. My wife and I were there for three nights and greatly enjoyed our stay. Virginia, the owner, is a lovely woman who was very accomodating to our needs. We stayed in the Beaufort Room which was on the second floor at the front of the house. Pictures of this room are on the website. The room was large and comfortable with a private bath. The bed was very comfortable so we slept well in this lovely room. There are a lot of amenities in this B&B to include microwave ovens and refridgerators in the common areas on each floor. The breakfasts were very good and beautifully presented. Virgina also has a wine shop in the inn and we asked her if we could have a chilled bottle of Pinot Grigio for our late arrival. She had a bottle waiting for us and wine glasses. The location was very quiet and, though on one of the nights there she had a full house, we never heard any of the other guests. I would highly recommend staying at this gem...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southern MD Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington
Hampton Inn Washington
#1 of 7 in Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Washington
Magnuson Hotel Washington
#2 of 7 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#6 of 7 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
#1 of 21 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pamlico House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pamlico House B&B

Property: Pamlico House B&B
Address: 400 E Main St, Washington, NC 27889-5039
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quintessential bed & breakfast, the Pamlico House offers a choice of five luxury guest rooms with private baths, and all the added amenities that you associate with the world’s finest boutique hotels.There are spacious common areas for conversation, reading or quiet relaxation — including a parlor, family/media room, formal dining room, large wrap-around porch and garden.The Pamlico House is conveniently located in the heart of Washington's Historic District, just a short stroll from the picturesque waterfront and docks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing