We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”
Review of Watermen's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watermen's Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We traveled over Thanksgiving, after Sandy destoried the roads. Accomodations were fantastic and Donna went out of her way to make us feel welcome.


Kiteboarding lessons were top notch as well. Would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaterinaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

I am glad you were able to make this trip and that you and your family enjoyed Watermen’s Retreat and the kiteboarding lessons at REAL Watersports.
Watermen’s is committed to making every client’s experience the best possible. Hurricane Sandy did cause some damage to the highway but we are looking for the road to be restored in the next couple of weeks and then the ferry will not be necessary. Currently they are allowing 4x4 vehicles to drive over the rough spots and they do have folks that will carry your car over the ½ mile and you can avoid the ferry ride all together.
We have some great travel packages available for the spring and we look forward to you visiting us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

I can only repeat what everyone else has said, it is a great location and the staff were excellant. It does fell like THE premier kiting location in the US if not the world. The rooms were very clean and modern. It does not have the usual hotel imenitites such as pool or hot tub which was not what we were looking for and were not needed as we enjoyed the ocean beach. It is very centered on kiting and the school seems professional although we did not take lessons. Donna who runs the lodging operations is the best! We have viewed all the REAL kiting videos and it was fun to meet Matt Nuzzo in person, sort of the local celebrity. Kiting suggestions are take booties, just an occational shell or two and a big kite, we had low wind in October. Of course it is kiting and wind dependent. Even though the wind was a little off, we had lots to do and watch at the site and Haterass is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbrossel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Watermen's retreat was the perfect spot for our family of 5. The apartment was very comfortable for our family. The kitchen is well equipped. We all enjoyed real water sports activities from kite boarding, surfing, stand up paddle and wake boarding.It was nice to wake up and just go to lesson down the stairs. Everyone was very friendly and helpful before and during our trip. The sunset from the apartment is wonderful! We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElodieMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

If you are a kiteboarder, and you don't mind paying a premium price, you are going to get a premium experience. Absolutely perfect. The people are friendly, the rooms are immaculate, absolutely top notch, highest quality. Even the hinges on the drawers are made by Mercedes Benz. Granite countertops, just absolutely awesome. And that's not even the best part. It's right next to Real, you walk out your door and launch your kite! I mean, come on! This place is paradise for kiteboarders.

Room Tip: Water side rooms are definitely worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwwood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I've been windsurfing on the Outer Banks since the mid 80's (Avon) but recently started kiting with my son. We did a Zero2Hero camp at REAL last year and were back for more this August. Since Waterman's is connected to REAL it was a no-brainer to stay and we booked Rodanthe Pier, a two bedroom 2 bath unit on the northeast side of the resort.
The modern decor and great layout were perfect after a full day session and having Mojo's next door meant we were never far away from great food and drink, although the condo is extremely well stocked with everything one would need if you decide to cook for yourself.
You can't beat rolling out of bed, getting your gear from the lockers provided for each guest and rigging on the huge grassy area 20 steps from the condo. Excellent value with great service included (Donna was very helpful and actually got us in 6 hours early - much appreciated after driving the 16 hours to get to Hatteras Island!).
We will be back in the spring and look forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: For sunset views choose a room on the west side of the resort - ours was NE but even then, with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoreEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Watermen's was a great place to stay while I was doing a kite camp at real water sports. My apartment was in perfect condition, really comfortable, quiet, and well resourced. It had a full kitchen, and laundry. Plus you are right next door so you can just roll out of bed and get to your lessons without any effort.

Room Tip: if you want to see the sunset pay for the western view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I had the privilage to enjoy a couple of days at Real. Whow, what an incredible place. The accommodation is fantastic BUT the staff untimitely made my trip very enjoyable. Everybody is helpfull, willing to help and ultimitely increased my level of riding. This is a great place for anybody to learn or increae your level of kiteboarding. Stoked !!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have incredible views, I will rather have an entry room and invest in great equipme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Watermen's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermen's Retreat

Address: 25682 Highway 12, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waves
Price Range: £143 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watermen's Retreat is designed with three living floors, all with breathtaking views of the Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean. The first floor consists of six 1,000 sq ft, 2 bedroom/1.5 Bathroom units. The 2nd and 3rd floors have larger spaces with four 1,500 sq ft 3 bedroom/2.5 Bathroom units on each floor. Whether you choose "Waterfront" or "Waterview," you will be treated to plenty of Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean views and the best sunrises and sunsets on the planet! All Watermen's Retreat Condominiums feature: Teak Floors, Tile Bathrooms, Carpet Bedroom (all new), 2 or 3 Bedrooms, all with king and queen sized beds. Full Kitchen with Granite Cocktail Bar, Great Room with Leather Furniture and Waterviews, Flat Screen TVs, DVD, CD and MP3 Stereo, Wireless Internet, Waterfront and/or Waterview Decks, Gear Storage, Covered Parking and Elevator. Watermen's Hideout has been added in 2015. This two bedroom cottage is waterfront and pet friendly. We are within a very short walk to REAL Watersports and Watermen's Bar & Grill. We do partial weekly rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing